Fat Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fat Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 22
August 20, 2016
The Fat Girl is a character straight out of a Belle and Sebastian song. A troubled teen with a fit sister who flaunts it in front of her little sister. This is the main part of the film which, nobody can argue, does contain some scenes which probably should not have passed the censors. The rather odd ending is the best part of the film; have fun trying to work out how it relates to the rest of the movie.
February 28, 2016
A quietly searing portrayal of being an overweight adolescent in both the shadow and sunshine of another and their emerging sexuality. Unwavering from beginning to end. Fans of Todd Solondz's will find themselves right at home.
½ July 30, 2015
A sad and graphic story about the physical, sexual, and familial frustrations of a young French girl.
½ June 7, 2015
I didn't get it. I don't even understand why I watched the whole thing, but that ending....wtf?
May 31, 2015
One of Breillat's better films; explicit and unsettling.
½ May 15, 2015
Controversial, provocative and potent examination of female adolescence. Both unforgettable and unforgiveable -- Breillat seems to be turning the film against you at every turn. A brilliant bit of cinematic art. Not for all tastes.
March 30, 2015
Breillat provokes as only the French really can. This is a startlingly frank depiction of adolescent sexuality that really doesn't spare anybody. The older man who seduces the older sister is depicted as a liar and a phony who breaks out risible Latin lover talk to convince her to give up her virginity, but she is not depicted as an innocent either. She lures him to her room in the first place in a clear attempt to manipulate him. The graphic sex scenes are almost off-putting in their clinical detachment. The younger, titular sister is depicted as more practical and clear-headed when it comes to sex, only to have her sensible wishes fulfilled in an absurdly violent climax to the film. A powerful, if not exactly enjoyable film.
December 7, 2014
"À ma soeur!" serve essencialmente para perceber que Catherine Breillat não resiste à tendência de criar dramas sexuais que, a bem ou a mal, provoquem reacções e uma posterior necessidade de reflectir É pena que a realizadora francesa assuma essa missão com inúmeras pretensões arty e uma neura gratuita que marca uma parte significante do cinema europeu. Assim acontecia no violentíssimo "Anatomie de l'enfer" (que merece crédito nem que seja pela singularidade e por ter sido filmado na Ericeira) e assim é também neste "À ma soeur!", que consolidou o nome de Breillat na categoria arthouse e foi prestigiado pela edição na Criterion Collection. Não o merece, apesar das muitos convincentes interpretações das suas duas principais actrizes menores de idade. Não o merece sobretudo por causa de um final que é um verdadeiro disparate e que destrói quase por completo a seriedade do filme.
½ April 12, 2014
The melancholic anxieties of a French young girl taken to the extreme. Insightful and sibling-innovative.
March 28, 2014
Sick twisted ending, unexpected yet so real. French films are so true to life, Fat Girl was a perfect introduction as why I got into French films.
½ November 10, 2013
Dude, fuck this movie. Ok, that's overstating my case - this is actually a very smart and interesting movie in a lot of ways, but the movie as a whole ends up playing like a sick, mean-spirited joke. I'm torn between respecting and hating this movie. It's much more interesting than most run-of-the-mill movies, but fuck this movie all the same. It's quite cruel, and at times comes uncomfortably close to skirting the line between art movie and teen porn.

The film focuses on the relationship between two French sisters, one 15 years old and precociously attractive (Roxane Mesquida) and the other 12 and overweight and awkward (Anais Reboux). They're on a vacation with their parents. They meet a 20-something Italian college student (Libero de Rienzo) who takes an immediate and unseemly interest in the 15-year-old, one which her parents seem strangely not to mind.

There's a lot of nudity in the movie - it honestly feels like it should be illegal in some ways. The actress playing the 15-year-old, Roxane Mesquida, was apparently actually around 20 when the movie was made, so I guess no laws were broken, but she's emphatically playing a 15-year-old, and looks around that age. In this movie, the line between provocation and exploitation is hazy at best. It certainly made me uncomfortable, which it was clearly trying to do, so I guess it should be counted a success on that front.

Catherine Breillat, the film's writer and director, does have an interesting vision. The film's style is largely straightforward and realistic. She has quite a few very, very long unbroken takes, which make the actors' performances all the more impressive. On a purely formal level, it's the sort of movie Andre Bazin would have wholeheartedly approved of. On the level of content, it's a troubling movie that makes you feel guilty or at least uncomfortable simply for watching it. It does have a more pronounced feminist message than most movies, and I'm not saying the message is off-target - I'm just saying that Breillat chose a deliberately unwholesome way to convey it. That's not so much a reflection of the movie's actual quality as it is of how it made me feel. I can't say it's a bad movie, but I can definitely say no one is going to be happy with it or the world after watching it.
October 8, 2013
Compelling, dark and one of the most unexpected endings ever!
August 13, 2013
WTF with that ending??
½ July 23, 2013
this is awful to watch, but i found myself relating a lot is Anais. It's hard to be the black sheep of the family.
½ June 17, 2013
Repugnant only saving grace is the performance of 12 yr old Anais Reboux as the younger overweight sister of sexy, flirty older 15 yr old sister. Ending is horrific and almost startingly awful. Unless you like watching movies with 15 yrs olds having graphic sex avoid.
June 3, 2013
An intelligent portrayal of adolescent female sexuality and self esteem, sibling rivalry, family politics, and sexual manipulation. The ending comes straight out of left field.
May 18, 2013
brilliant, harsh, and powerful. ending makes it more of an interesting experience of a film.
April 12, 2013
the ending was rather ambigious
January 30, 2013
I can't give this a star rating, at least not yet. It might be brilliant, I haven't decided. For what it's worth though, you'll feel something or other, mostly other.
Page 1 of 22