Funny People Reviews

Page 1 of 12
July 31, 2019
Despite the lengthy run time, Funny People gives us one of Adam Sandler's best performances so I can't complain.
June 6, 2019
A wise and moving look beneath the mystique of celebrity.
May 16, 2019
Here's a film full of rich characters who are interesting, funny and believable. It's handled with great care by Apatow and the result is his best film to date.
December 11, 2018
I wouldn't even describe this movie as a comedy. I would describe it as pointless. I know where they were trying to go, they just didn't get there.
March 19, 2018
Perhaps the film's failure lies in the level of expectations that one has of Apatow... [Full review in Spanish]
September 18, 2017
Funny People is deeply personal and intriguingly abstract, a bittersweet vision of a comedian's mournful existence.
September 12, 2017
This is a smart movie, one that's very unexpected.
August 16, 2015
At over two hours, it moves at the dignified pace of a Bergman film rather than, well, a Happy Gilmore or a Waterboy, but the director can rest easy, it's another hit.
June 22, 2013
The unique hatred of yourself, and your audience, required of being a comedian is something that Apatow (and Sandler) understand profoundly: That's what this movie is about.
September 29, 2012
Why does Funny People often feel like a joke without a punchline?
November 17, 2011
May 6, 2011
Funny People is funny, moving, dramatic, and alternately hilarious. It's a bit like a stand-up dramedy.
March 22, 2011
For all its qualities Funny People never quite comes together. It can't quite decide who it wants to be about, whether it wants to be a comedy or a drama and in trying to be all things at once it never quite hits its full potential.
February 1, 2011
Apatow draws on his own experience to explore behavioral nuances of people that make us laugh, and it's no secret that being funny is not the same as being happy.
October 27, 2010
Funny People may be deeply flawed, but at least it has an accurate title.
February 10, 2010
Es al mismo tiempo la película más interesante de Apatow y también la más irregular. Ambiciosa, agridulce, por momentos brillante, demasiado larga.
December 6, 2009
... a character drama in the guise of a show-biz comedy.
November 30, 2009
If this movie were to be believed, I would conclude that the last people I'd ever want to hang out with are comedians.
October 13, 2009
click for full review
September 11, 2009
It's interesting stuff, I feel myself wanting to like it more than I did. Judd Apatow has a lot to say, he just hasn't mastered the tools to say it well.
Page 1 of 12