How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days Reviews

Page 1 of 1428
May 19, 2018
(7/?/17) I re-watched with Hannah. Such a great chick flick. Love this one so much. Would it work?? I dunno. But I think it does show that you can make any relationship work with hard work and support. (5/18/18)
May 16, 2018
How to lose a career in 10 movies: How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days, Alex & Emma, Raising Helen, You, Me & Dupree, Fool's Gold, My Best Friend's Girl, Bride Wars, A Little Bit of Heaven, Something Borrowed, Mother's Day... Sorry Kate, you're adorable, but that isn't enough.
April 25, 2018
Every person who enjoys watching movies should take the time to watch How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. This romantic comedy could fall under several different sub-genres including rom-coms revolved around writing, work-place rom-coms, meeting the family rom-coms, and even the pretending to be in love then falling in love rom-com. Romantic comedies that are similar to How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days because of the writing aspect include films such as The Waitress and 500 Days of Summer. Films that relate to the work-place rom-com sub-genre include Beauty and the Briefcase and The Devil Wears Prada. Meeting the family rom-coms that hold similarities to How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days include Meet the Fockers and The Big Sick. Lastly, romantic comedies that have people pretending to be in love, then falling in love include Just Go with It and The Proposal. If you have enjoyed any of these films, then you definitely should watch How to lose a Guy in Ten Days.
This film follows the two main characters from both of their stances; Andie Anderson must publish an article for her magazine explaining how to make a man leave you in ten days while Ben Berry tries to prove that he can make any woman fall in love with him in ten days. A lot of the fun from watching events play out in this movie comes from the fact that we as viewers are able to understand what each person is trying to do while the characters do not fully know what is going on in the other person's mind. This craftiness gives way to a lot of the comedy within this film. Another interesting quality of this film is the way that it works with what is real and genuine for the characters, and what is not. For example, Andie becomes acquainted with Ben's family and begins to develop very real feelings and relationships for these parental-figures. As a result, there is an interesting cross that happens between her fake composure of pretending to be in love with him while trying to drive him away, and her true connection with his family. If these characteristics are not enough to pull you in to watch this amazing film, then you should at least watch it to get a taste of what life is like in bustling New York. This film captures a lot of the scenic pictures of office spaces, skyscrapers, bodies of water, and bridges from the general NYC area resulting in a dense reflection of urban American life and culture.
As a piece of artwork, every person should watch How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days at least once in his or her lifetime because of the hilarious comedy involved, the fresh, ironic plot, and the true values of love, work, and happiness embedded within the scenes. I hope this review will encourage you to take a look at this movie!
April 12, 2017
Two revolting cretins are set up together to have an idiotic relationship based on torture and stereotypes.
½ January 24, 2017
Yllättävän hyvä ja hauska hömppäleffa. :D (Suom. Kuinka hukata kundi 10 päivässä)
½ January 15, 2017
Cheesy, predictable, embarrassing.
½ January 12, 2017
One of the most enjoyably stupid movies ever made (let alone in the rom-com genre), there are at least 5 times I laughed out loud at how unlike real life some of the scenarios here play out. Example: Andie is supposed to turn in her titular article, which by definition will take at MINIMUM 10 days to create....by the time the magazine goes to press. Which is in 11 days. ?_?
That said, it's entertaining in an MST3K way, while also not being quickly paced and brightly colored enough to never become completely boring.
January 11, 2017
nice movie to do nothing and think about shit!! lol.... nice movie 20/10/2016
December 9, 2016
Loved this movie, not only was it hilarious but Matthew was so sweet and charming I was rooting for them so much!
½ October 13, 2016
Just what I needed, a funny yet heartwarming movie.
August 3, 2016
Very cute and funny movie, but it does have a very predictable plot.
July 7, 2016
This is one of my fav movies
½ July 6, 2016
Innovative protagonist metamorphosis. A modern cult classic.
April 2, 2016
Kate Hudson is brilliant in this film and its extremely funny what she does to Matthew McConaughey!
½ March 16, 2016
A romantic comedy that is actually clever, and two leads with bountiful charisma and chemistry.
March 15, 2016
3 stars mostly because of Mathew m and Kate Hudson .. Liked Robert Klein also ... Some laughs ... Original story.. Kinda a fun movie with for the wife
February 16, 2016
As with most rom-coms from the late 90's, early 2000s, it shows signs that this was once originally supposed to have some sort of empowering female message buts its buried beneath cliches and one dimensional characters. This one in particular has such an off putting premise that more often induces cringe and irritation rather than laughs.
February 14, 2016
Confusing dialogue. Not much of a story. Great acting.
Page 1 of 1428