I Am Legend - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Legend Reviews

Page 1 of 11
July 14, 2011
It's a better-than-average blockbuster, which sweeps around some large ideas and interesting themes, but never delves for long enough to make this film a true classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 27, 2009
Inevitably, ideas give way to special-effects
July 30, 2009
I Am Legend is three film genres for the price of one: Science Fiction, Action, and Horror, and while it's no classic in any one arena it remains edgy fun.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 23, 2009
This is no graphic shoot-'em-up but an intelligent, if sometimes sentimental, exploration of human decency and responsibility that ponders the limits of rationality and faith.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 27, 2009
There are some good points, but there are too many ineffectual aspects that keep I Am Legend from being the sophisticated film it was clearly meant to be.
October 18, 2008
Smith turns in a terrific performance, nailing Neville's angst while allowing room for humor.
October 18, 2008
Smith still manages to find something touching and occasionally even tragic in the character.
October 18, 2008
For everything that is good about it, though, I Am Legend struggles against two primary problems.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 18, 2008
It left me highly entertained, since out of the original story the filmmakers have created a different, but exciting and tense story filled with action, suspense and a lead character you can truly care about.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 18, 2008
The movie is simply okay. Not awful, not great. Definitely beneath Smith's abilities, though.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2008
When they do, banging their heads against plate glass as movie zombies always do, I started needing something else to think about.
October 18, 2008
I Am Legend is far from a feel-good film; it's a familiar (for fans of Stephen King's The Stand or Heston's Omega Man) post-apocalyptic adventure rife with chills and hopelessness.
| Original Score: 3/4
August 27, 2008
Will Smith shows some promise trying to find a cure for a horrific virus, but somehow the plot becomes Shrek, Bob Marley and God trying to save the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 20, 2008
With "I Am Legend," Will Smith has accomplished what Tom Hanks did back in 2000: Effectively star in a movie that involves very little interaction with other human counterparts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 10, 2008
The monsters are routine CGI creations, crudely animated and unconvincing. In a film of such visual majesty and surprisingly weighty drama, they present an unfortunate and needless distraction.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2008
I wouldn't dream of giving away the ending, but it's not likely to satisfy either the action crowd or Matheson fans.
March 9, 2008
...a triumph of set design and CGI over story line or credibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 29, 2008
If a horror movie is of true holy-bejesus caliber, you should be exhaling with relief at the end instead of thinking, 'Gee, that went fast!'
February 28, 2008
Eerie and breathtakingly evocative, the solid I Am Legend nevertheless tries to be too many things to too many people, weighed down with cheap horror-film shock effects and barely passable CGI, instead of trusting in its legitimately captivating
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 16, 2008
The exacting demands of filmgoing audiences have finally drawn out the heart of this book. (Disclosure: I have not read it, but now am willing to. For the antidote to this impulse, see The Omega Man.) Adding a dog probably didn't hurt either.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 11