Instant Family Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 6, 2020
While it's not going to change the way you look at comedies about important topics, Instant Family is a nice movie for the whole family.
November 5, 2020
I appreciate when Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne appear in comedies as it reminds us of how funny both of them can be...
October 28, 2020
Weighed down by its good intentions and zero chemistry between Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne... As we look for good qualities, we're left with that pair of civil servants (Octavia Spencer and Tig Notaro) who deserve a spin-off. [Full review in Spanish]
September 12, 2020
A warm, funny, inspired, and insightful gem.
August 28, 2020
A heat-warming and benevolent delight.
August 15, 2020
It would take a hard heart for someone not to have a tear in their eye at the conclusion of this one, however hard it leans on cliché.
July 25, 2020
Instant Family never works as well as it could have, but it's an okay enough diversion -- if and only if you want it to be.
July 24, 2020
The comic humor and calculated sentimentality never make it across the screen. [Full review in Spanish]
July 1, 2020
Instant Family may feel like a film you want to resist, but it's heart and authenticity will likely win you over.
February 22, 2020
It's embarrassing to watch Tig Notaro, Octavia Spencer, Julie Hagerty, and Joan Cusack struggle to find footing in this abyss.
January 10, 2020
This is an enjoyable family movie that feels honest and authentic even with some slapstick thrown in for good measure.
October 10, 2019
First impressions here point to an amiable, if ineffectual middle-of-the-road comedy. Nothing wrong with that.
September 26, 2019
It's a movie that seems to care more than I thought it would. It's a good try. And it's a yes from me. Instant Family is a pleasant and unexpectedly fulfilling time at the movies indeed.
August 27, 2019
This is a cute family film for the holidays.
August 23, 2019
I enjoyed the heck out of Instant Family.
July 12, 2019
Instant Family is a feel-good film during the holiday season and one that should be seen by everyone as it might just start a much-needed dialogue.
July 7, 2019
Despite warnings from their counsellors, wannabe parents Pete and Ellie Wagner are fathoms out of their depth with the defence mechanisms of foster-system children.
June 19, 2019
mawkish and misjudged
May 15, 2019
Instant Family brings the frank discussion about the trials of parenting and foster to the forefront of this genuinely funny and sincere production.
May 6, 2019
Thanks to strong performances, an incisive script and smart direction, Instant Family is a sweet, touching and endearing movie.
Page 1 of 8