Johnson Family Vacation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Johnson Family Vacation Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 1, 2011
This charmless movie not for children.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 4, 2009
Mechanical performances by Vanessa Williams and Bow Wow, as Nate's musically inclined son, impair Cedric's earnest comedic efforts in this spasmodic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 7, 2008
Several laugh-out-loud moments are scattered throughout this otherwise dumb-and-gets-even-dumber African-American road trip.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 6, 2007
This is a real mess, with out-of-focus shots and continuity lapses that suggest a production in chaos.
March 6, 2007
Packing all the tired trappings of the raunchy road-trip genre, this loutish comedy plays out as a loosely threaded collection of shrill jokes and cliched sight gags.
February 5, 2005
I really wanted to like this movie, especially since I'm a fan of Cedric the Entertainer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
August 17, 2004
...Cedric the Entertainer simply cannot act.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 8, 2004
Too many jokes fall flat and a number of promising set-ups ... wind up going nowhere.
August 3, 2004
We can only generously call it a pale imitation of National Lampoon's Vacation
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
May 5, 2004
Find one stereotype and stick to it. Don't confuse the audience by trying to be Wayne Brady and Bernie Mac in the same movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 18, 2004
It really wasn't as funny as it could of been or should have been.
April 17, 2004
The direction on Johnson Family Vacation is numbingly slack; the synapses between the scenes don't spark effortlessly, as they should, and the whole enterprise feels dragged-down and belabored.
April 16, 2004
Eighties nostalgia has seeped so far into our pop-cultural landscape, it's starting to feel like VH1 took over the movie studios.
Full ReviewRead More
April 15, 2004
Family of Five in Search of a Script might be a better title, but this road picture gets better as it goes along, and the upbeat ending redeems it considerably.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 14, 2004
A shambles like this just oozes contempt for both its performers and its audience -- something that's even more unfunny than the movie itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 13, 2004
Plays out like the pilot episode for a sitcom that no network picked up.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
April 12, 2004
Before the opening credits had ended, I was counting down the minutes until I could get back to scraping old tile adhesive off my kitchen floor.
| Original Score: 0/4
April 12, 2004
Big disappointment.
April 12, 2004
The humor runs out of gas after about 30 minutes.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
April 12, 2004
As bad and unfunny as the material is, it's matched neck-and-neck by bad and unfunny performances from Vanessa Williams, Bow Wow, Solange Knowles, Shannon Elizabeth, and the generally reliable Steve Harvey.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 5