Layer Cake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Layer Cake Reviews

Page 1 of 410
April 3, 2018
Probably the best movie that most people have never seen. Horrible title... but a great film
½ March 31, 2018
even drug dealers don't work weekends..

Layer Cake

Its fast paced gripping screenplay that enfolds in each phase as it ages on screen with witty humor and complex yet amusing characters blends in perfectly creating a brilliant gangsta rap environment that is although palpable but still fails to connect with the audience. J.J. Connelly's keen adaptation (and it's short runtime) helps survive this feature where even Mathew Vaughn; the director, is supporting thoroughly and is convincing too. Daniel Craig holds tightly on to its part but seems a bit distracted to carry the whole feature on its shoulder. Layer Cake fails on creating the impact of character's emotion and the drama that come along with on screen which ultimately fails to communicate with the viewers and justify them with enough reason to convince them.
January 2, 2018
Daniel Craig's bond audition tape, Dumbledore is a mafia, Bane is in drug business & Q kills Bond in the end
½ December 23, 2017
It was an interesting yet complicated movie, there are parts that aren't clear for me but I liked what I understood. Good cast but I don't get why they put her on the poster, we see her merely for a minute or two.
November 25, 2017
Great Movie!!! Classic!!! Must watch????
November 19, 2017
Well, as is typical in all of life, there will always be those who like something and those who don't. My OPINION on Layer Cake is that it remains one of my favorite movies. Eminently watchable. I don't quite understand why some people require more 'background' on characters... WHY? This isn't a love story where it may be interesting to see the whys and whens that love came about - it's a story about druggies and their dealers. That's it! That's the STORY. And to me, it's A+++ in casting, storyline, characters... ALL are perfect for their roles.
September 9, 2017
well dated (13 years) at the time I'm writing this having just rewatched layer cake for the first time since theaters. it held up. interesting and fun characters, tons of style and a good story.
August 14, 2017
Stylish, well acted and well directed but a bit scattershot when it comes to the characters and narrative.
July 17, 2017
I fell sleep three times during the movie. Movie is difficult to follow. Little to no action.
½ July 7, 2017
WHAT I LIKED: There's no doubt 'Layer Cake' is a clever film in many ways - primarily because the story it's based on has a whole set of interesting messages and well-constructed plots, but also because it's brought to life in an artistic and exciting manor. In that regard it would be criminal to not mention the whity humour and snappy pacing, as these elements probably do the most to make the film something unique as they showcase Vaughn's emerging talents the most.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unfortunately, whilst ambitious, it lacks overall narrative flow and in-the-moment focus. This may be forgiveable if the film spent longer looking at the lead characters, but sadly these great performances aren't given enough room to make you truly care. Left in that void is a lot to admire for sure, but little to actually engage.
VERDICT: Layer Cake left me wallowing in the web of plots and themes, albeit whilst looking in vague admiration at the whit and style with which it's all delivered.
June 15, 2017
Action packed, suspenseful, very well directed movie!
May 13, 2017
The best posh-mob film ever!
April 29, 2017
Good film, well written storyline that keeps you hooked to the end.
February 21, 2017
Grade - B
'Layer Cake' is a good crime comedy, featuring electric direction from Matthew Vaughn, a funny script, and the best performance from Daniel Craig that I've ever seen. It even comes with an amazing ending, which would be really ballsy if I didn't know there were plans for a sequel.
January 7, 2017
Some good acting, but not my favorite type of story - I don't care for all the language, etc.
½ December 15, 2016
An unnamed man only known as XXXX (Daniel Craig) is a London underworld figure who has established himself in the cocaine business as one of the city's biggest suppliers, whilst presenting himself as a figure with legal business operations. Considering himself a businessman and a patient person, he leaves the darker aspects of the business to his henchman Morty (George Harris), who had previously spent 10 years in prison for murder. Once he has earned enough to ensure his long-term financial security, XXXX plans to retire. Approaching this point, his retirement plans go wrong when his powerful supplier Jimmy Price (Kenneth Cranham) instructs XXXX to track down Charlie, the teenaged daughter of Price's associate, Eddie Temple (Michael Gambon), who has fled a rehabilitation centre along with her drug-addicted boyfriend. To track her down, XXXX enlists the help of two con men known as Cody and Tiptoes. To the frustration of XXXX, the boyfriend is found dead and Charlie has apparently been kidnapped, although no ransom has been demanded. At the same time, Price instructs XXXX to organise the purchase and distribution of one million ecstasy tablets from a low-level gangster styling himself as "The Duke" (Jamie Foreman). XXXX does not know the pills had been stolen from a gang of Serbian war criminals based in the Netherlands, and who have been in hiding since the Yugoslav Wars and are now large-scale drug producers. Meanwhile, XXXX encounters the Duke's nephew Sidney (Ben Whishaw) at a bar and becomes attracted to his disillusioned girlfriend Tammy (Sienna Miller). XXXX tries to broker the sale of the ecstasy pills to Liverpool gangsters Trevor and Shanks, but they refuse, informing him of the drugs' purloined nature and of the fact that the Serbs have sent an assassin, known as Dragan, to find the pills and kill those responsible for their theft. Because the Duke had mentioned XXXX's name to the Serbs beforehand, he, too, is now in danger. Members of the Duke's gang soon start turning up dead and the Duke himself goes missing. XXXX arranges a tryst with Tammy, but before it can be consummated, he is kidnapped by henchmen of Eddie Temple (the father of Charlie). Temple informs him that Jimmy had lost Ģ13 million in a failed investment in Africa and is now hoping to sell the pills to recoup his losses. He demands instead that XXXX sell the pills to him, and plays him a recording indicating that Jimmy has been a long-term informant for Scotland Yard and intends to betray XXXX to the police as soon as the deal is done, planning to gain clemency from the deal and also take away XXXX's wealth. XXXX needs to figure out how to keep his wealth and health...

The critical consensus of "Layer Cake" states that it is "A stylized, electric British crime thriller". Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun Times remarked, "The movie was directed by Matthew Vaughn, who produced Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels and Snatch, and this one works better than those films because it doesn't try so hard to be clever and tries harder to be menacing". Of Craig's performance, he said, "Craig is fascinating here as a criminal who is very smart, and finds that is not an advantage because while you might be able to figure out what another smart person is about to do, dumbos like the men he works for are likely to do anything". Craig's starring role in the film has been cited as the performance that led to his high-profile casting as James Bond.

Matthew Vaughnīs "Layer Cake" carries the craziness, fast paced action, one liners, colourful character gallery and humour we saw in "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" and "Snatch", however thatīs no wonder as Vaughn was involved in those films, but in "Layer Cake" I reckon Vaughn has found a better set up thatīs always balancing on the right side and never really goes over to the "too much of everything" side. Itīs got great visual style, excellent performances and a story that fits the genre so to speak. Daniel Craig is great as XXXX and with actors such as Michael Gambon, Tom Hardy (yes, small role) etc you canīt really go wrong, And Sienna Miller is just to die for in this film. I love that Vaughn has created a great soundtrack for the film as well, and I guess that he has learned that from Guy Ritchie. "Layer Cake" is as solid cool gangster thriller with a twist and I do love the ending. The original ending, the ending Sony Pictures wanted Vaughn to use, shows XXXX driving off into the sunset with Tammy. Vaughn secretly recorded the alternate ending, showing XXXX being shot by Sidney to the screening audience and ended up using it based on popular vote, stating "It was not like other American movie endings". Thumbs up for that Mr. Vaughn!
½ November 22, 2016
Though the Story is very convoluted, Layer Cake manages to give a look of the drug business in the U.K. While giving Daniel Craig his breakthrough role
½ November 3, 2016
Daniel Craig is good as the unnamed drug dealer who gets in way over his head but learns to deal. The supporting cast is impressive as well. My knock on this one is the story itself. Hardly believable in any aspects. Lots of the louts would have been offed early on,but then there wouldn't have been a movie. The acting makes it worthwhile.
October 14, 2016
Generic and mediocre in execution.
½ September 21, 2016
Incredible noir film, that proves Matthew Vaughn knows what he is doing behind the camera and Daniel Craig knows what he is doing in front of the camera.
Page 1 of 410