Layer Cake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Layer Cake Reviews

Page 1 of 409
October 14, 2016
Generic and mediocre in execution.
½ September 21, 2016
Incredible noir film, that proves Matthew Vaughn knows what he is doing behind the camera and Daniel Craig knows what he is doing in front of the camera.
September 20, 2016
I went into this one with high hopes, a film with Daniel Craig, directed by Mathew Vaughn, it was a formula for great stuff. Later Cake was alright, but I was expecting a little more than what I got. The plot is at times hard to follow, but still entertaining. The performances were all pretty good except for The Duke character, and not enough to Tom Hardy was in this. Everything was solid here, it just failed to deliver that special something that should've made this excellent, and I don't know what it is, maybe it was because I didn't care for the characters as much as I wanted to. Nevertheless, Layer Cake is still a pretty good movie and the clever twist where you never here Craig's characters name is pretty cool.
½ September 5, 2016
Layer Cake is an eccentric and truly British action/thriller hybrid. Daniel Craig performs extremely well as he breathes a detailed life to an unnamed character. The plot is solid with a few very shocking scenes. Matthew Vaughn is stamping mark as one of the greatest British directors.
½ August 22, 2016
*** 1/2
'Layer Cake' is a good crime comedy, featuring electric direction from Matthew Vaughn, a funny script, and the best performance from Daniel Craig that I've ever seen. It even comes with an amazing ending, which would be really ballsy if I didn't know there were plans for a sequel.
½ July 20, 2016
Good film even though I was expecting a full on action film, Great plot and brilliantly acted by Daniel Craig.
½ July 12, 2016
"Layer Cake" is a lean, exciting British crime thriller with an effective lead and stylized violence.
June 29, 2016
Juicy and blunt, and gets an A+ for style.
½ June 28, 2016
classy, witty badass gangsters
defining role for daniel craig
June 21, 2016
Mob story that holds water and sounds real. Well done. Even the bits that seemed not to make sense, did make sense in the end.
June 19, 2016
In the end, Layer Cake dissolves to a somewhat generic crime/thriller type of movie that bites of more than it can chew. There's very impressive direction and cinematography that hoist this film to a different type of level though; performances are fine, and the twists work.
½ June 2, 2016
Yet another cockney gangster movie with more twists than a dancing competition at a chubby checker appreciation convention. Daniel Craig is miscast amongst the usual faces, but perhaps not more so than the evil gang boss played by Dumbledore himself.
April 18, 2016
I hunted this down due primarily to it being a Tom Hardy movie I hadn't seen before. Fanboy shit, I know, but his movies are usually cool, alright? So Shutty. Anyway, he was barely in this one, as it turns out, and even if he had been, it still wouldn't have been anything too spectacular. Not bad, just meh-ish.
April 9, 2016
Interesting, but don't expect Oscar level. I love the gritty feel, and Craig is great. After this, it was easy for me to see him as bond. Especially with how well he does in this type of role.
½ March 20, 2016
It's almost hard to believe that a movie this refined is a first time directorial debut. However, once you associate Matthew Vaughn's name, the great aspects of Layer Cake start to make sense. The film is packed with the same biting dialogue and cheeky humor, as well as hints of hyper-fast editing and directing, that the rest of Vaughn's filmography is known for. The story isn't particularly groundbreaking for the genre, and it even becomes a little convoluted at times, but it manages to hold your attention through many twists and turns. The biggest reason this film keeps you engaged is Daniel Craig: he has the smooth demeanor he'd eventually use for the James Bond franchise, as well as strong moments of confidence and emotion. The supporting cast is full of familiar faces (Sienna Miller, Tom Hardy, Ben Whishaw, and Michael Gambon all make appearances), and they all do a fine job supporting Craig's nameless character. As a first feature, Vaughn manages to hit almost all of the right notes, and the film as a while serves as a solid foundation for the career of one of the brightest and most fun directors in the business today. Layer Cake is simply a fun time; any Matthew Vaughn would be wise to check this one out.
February 29, 2016
Really cool gangster flick. A little hard to follow at first, but it's got a great story and messege. Matthew Vaughn isn't really the type to not make a great movie.
½ February 27, 2016
Absolute rubbish. Totally incoherent.
½ February 23, 2016
It has a nice cast.... Its not really a thriller or crime movie. Its a British 'action' movie with all the typical jargon and lingo. A bunch of fast talking British mobsters get into fights, they shoot at each other, there is a chase scene, more British lingo, another fight and some sort of 'sylish' ending that tries to be clever. The End.
January 2, 2016
Movies like "Layer Cake" seem to work a lot better for others than they do for me. I'm speaking of films such as "Snatch," "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels," and "Go," where dialogue is wicked and musicality is well-tuned, but where there are too many characters and where there is a plot too complicated to aptly follow. I think most viewers become so stricken by well-written conversation that they forget to question what's really going on - but as a veteran movie-watcher with an appreciation for a shiny screenplay, being fooled by elastic exchanges are not in my ballpark. I like to know what the stakes, motivations, and plot twists are, not be confused by them.s
Perhaps this was on purpose. "Layer Cake" follows an unnamed drug dealer as he plans to go into retirement, the title of the film acting as a metaphor for the leveled and messy process of attempting to commit such an action. But the several intersecting storylines are never thoroughly explained enough for us to understand which ones are more vital than others. And because its central character is the star of almost all of them, it is as though we're witnessing a tabloid star trying to run away from the paparazzi. At all times, too much is going on.
But "Layer Cake" grooms a charismatic energy similar to the way "Snatch" does - though we may not fully understand the plot as it wears us down, the dialogue is compulsively listenable and the cast is credible as a mob of criminals ranging from elegant to grizzled. At the front of the relishable ship of sin is Daniel Craig, whose suavity is so vast that it doesn't come as a surprise that he became James Bond just a year after the film's release. In "Layer Cake," he stars as an unnamed, big-time drug dealer who the credits bill as XXXX. Young and sleek, he flourishes on the entrepreneurial side of the business, dependent on henchmen to do necessary dirty work. Not one to kill, we'd almost call him a good man if he weren't so greedy and remorseless.
However much baggage he carries, however, XXXX is an anti-hero of the Clint Eastwood brand, just a little less calm and collected. As the film opens, he is at the top of his game, his dealings without interruption and his monetary success higher than ever. But a philosophy walks by his side at all times, that philosophy being that you should always go out with a bang and that, once your fortune is made, there's no point in risking the possibility of losing it all. XXXX plans to retire from the drug game as soon as possible.
Expectations, though, are not always something to be quickly met in this cruel world. To his dismay, his superior, Jimmy Price (Kenneth Cranham) tasks him with finding the missing daughter of a colleague (Michael Gambon), as well as sorting out a botched ecstasy deal. Neither assignment is alluring, but XXXX is determined to get out of the business. We can only hope that he doesn't lose his life, or worse, his financial superiority, while doing so.
Attitude goes a long way in "Layer Cake," and thankfully, it has enough spunk and threatening faces to both mock its seriousness and maintain a dangerous tone that convinces us that cheeky quips don't ensure that the crime world isn't safe enough to allow us to stop worrying about a random bullet to the head. Matthew Vaughn, in his directorial debut, gives the film a glossy visual style able to make even bloodshed seem posh; J.J. Connolly's (also the author of the novel) script is remarkably lightning paced. Comprehensibility isn't a feature of "Layer Cake," and it's a problem. But its swagger is irresistible.
November 30, 2015
In my top 10 I think. Excellent entertaining movie.
Page 1 of 409