Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels Reviews

Page 1 of 734
October 21, 2016
It may be hard to tell anyone apart at the beginning of the movie, but as the ball gets rolling this film is utterly brilliant. I really feel like Ritchie out-Tarantinoed Tarantino in this film and Snatch, which are both more consistently funny and witty in their screenplays than anything big old T has done. Anyway, this movie is just bloody hilarious and a slice of truly genius cinema, which is astonishing given that this is a debut. It's delightfully madcap and convoluted. Not a film that will change your life, but it will make you glad you're living one so you can see it.
August 18, 2016
One of the best movies of all time.
July 28, 2016
one of my fav films of the '90s maybe even ever great characters great plot great humor great songs great acting
July 20, 2016
In 1992, an independent filmmaker changed cinema for the rest of the decade as he took audiences by surprise: Quentin Tarantino. His style was imitated to death for the rest of the 90s with many failures, but a notable success of said imitation is what can be the equivalent to the British "Reservoir Dogs": Guy Ritchie´s debut "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels".
Eddy, Tom, Soap (not kidding) and Bacon (seriously) are four small time criminals that get themselves into trouble as they end up indebted to a notoriously violent mobster who gives them a week to pay. As the amount of money is almost impossible to earn in seven days, the foursome decide to make a heist but they aren't aware of the consequences their actions will bring upon them.
With such an atrocious name and a counting with unexperienced producers and director, it would be safe to assume that this film would be a failure, but surprisingly Guy Ritchie´s directorial debut is the exact opposite. "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" counts with solid performances, the comedy is downright hilarious, a shockingly functional use of numerous rock songs, a script that's a combination of Tarantino´s style with "Magnolia" type of intertwine writing, dialog that's basically a Tarantino wannabe but focus on sarcastic characters, and it's extremely fun to watch. But this fun and memorable debut film has two major issues: The pacing is so fast that for the first 30 minutes you will most likely struggle to process every character or even the dialog itself, but once you get used to it you will enjoy the ride; and overall Ritchie himself. Guy Ritchie has made name for himself due to his energetic and over produced style that at times works (especially when he focuses on comedy) but at others it just comes off as he is trying too hard to appear as smart as Tarantino by mimicking moments of Quentin´s debut, but let's give credit where credit is due: His almost music video style works perfectly in this crime comedy as it is overall what makes this film fun and hilarious.
"Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" is hilarious, entertaining and overall well-crafted film, despite the fact its pacing is extremely fast and Ritchie´s over produced directing style is at time disorienting. Highly recommendable if you want a good laugh or just want to watch a memorable film that has attitude. Undeniably Ritchie's best film to date and possibly the best Tarantino film not made by Quentin himself.
½ July 18, 2016
Very entertaining... but somehow I never quite followed what was going on. Also, a few years after the fact, if you asked me to recall a single scene from this caper I'm not sure I could. Not good.
June 25, 2016
Sharp, funny, classic.
June 23, 2016
Partenza col botto di Guy Ritchie! Prende molto da tarantino (forse anche troppo), ma riesce ad incastrare una storia interessante e abbastanza complicata. Rispetto a tarantino Ritchie ci mette molto più humor e non sembra prendersi troppo sul serio, anche se a volte esagera con questo tono poco "serio". Comunque un film interessante.
June 3, 2016
This had it all ...Action , Comedy ! The Money travels fast from one gang to another ...Cool ! SOMDVD
May 19, 2016
This is my favorite movie, from witty lines to a magnificent soundtrack. The only glaring flaw it's repeated almost completely in Snatch another great Guy Riche film. I would suggest grabbing a coke and rum for this ride.
May 8, 2016
delightfully messy and a plot tied up nicely together.
½ March 31, 2016
Good, funny, violent british pulp movie.
March 25, 2016
Slickly shot with a unique color palette but otherwise a case of style over substance
March 10, 2016
Oh, what an ear Guy Ritchie has. Though not a fan of the walls that confine a comprehensible plot, Ritchie may as well be the Brit Tarantino when it comes to dialogue. Gifted in his ability to craft conversations characterized by a daunting mixture of street guy toughness, blackened humor, and ironic prudence, listening to his characters speak is something like hearing a virtuoso violinist perfervidly perform Johan Sebastian Bach's Chaconne from Partita in D Minor, hardly breaking a sweat. What a joy it is to watch a film where colloquy is everything, where characters are vehicles for bravura dialogue to travel in.
The film, 1999's "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels," was the first for the now cultishly beloved Ritchie, who kept his cheeky stride with 2001's similar "Snatch" but lost it all after marrying Madonna and throwing his career away in 2003 with "Swept Away," a misguided attempt to combine work and play. After "Snatch's" release, he's come close to matching the initial triumphs of his first two releases ("Sherlock Holmes" brought him much needed commercial success, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E." showcasing him as an immensely capable talent-for-hire), but nothing takes the place of "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels," whose vitality and crotchety humor makes it as punchy of a crackpot crime comedy as it was back in '99.
Its hard-to-follow plot, a familiar case of too many characters and too many stories, is its weak link, preventing us from feeling that internal cackle that follows suit after undergoing something like "Jackie Brown," which was similarly complicated but nevertheless straightforward and rewarding to keep up with. There comes a point during "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels" in which the hurricane of thick British accents and bafflements of the intersecting stories becomes too much, us having to throw our hands up in surrender to its byzantine ways. But its delightful performances and saucy dialogue never lose their introductory charisma - getting lost in its setup is very much a possibility, but tiring of its personality is certainly not.
The film concerns the misadventures of a pocket of East End thugs, who match in their tendencies to blunder but who vary in their callousness. Most conspicuously featured are Eddy (Nick Moran), Bacon (Jason Statham), Tom (Jason Flemyng), and Soap (Dexter Fletcher), low-lifes who unwisely devise a plan to earn enough money to land Eddy a spot on the poker table of porn producer Hatchet Harry (P.H. Moriarty). So intrigued by the prospect of winning big that they forget that Eddy could, you know, lose, we get the feeling that the twenty somethings are way in over their heads.
And we'd be right - Eddy doesn't end a victor and instead becomes a victim of the payback. By the end of the week, he is expected to give Harry an obnoxious amount of cash; Harry, aware that the young man foolish enough to go against him likely won't be able to put his money where his mouth is, eyes his father's bar for purchase. But Eddy and his pals are virilely forlorn, eventually landing on the idea of stealing from a local gangster's (Steven Mackintosh) marijuana business. Connoisseurs of the heist they aren't, though, and the hot water around them gets even hotter the more they try to get Eddy out of his debt.
A bevy of characters are further introduced, but to list them all off, describing their individual roles in driving the labyrinthine plot, would be tiresome and maybe even worthless; most likely, you won't be able to keep up with "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels" any better than me. You will, however, remain enthralled by its exchanges and its characters - I love the way Ritchie is able to make even the most wearisome of a conversational detail pop with knowing panache, and I love the chutzpah of the performers, especially Statham, then a newcomer, Vinnie Jones, a brawny toughie, and Vas Blackwood, who, with delicious camp, plays a crime boss of unusual merit. So while "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels" is not the direct escapism most hunt for to spend a couple of hours with, its exhibition is unmissable; had Ritchie continued on the path set by it, then he might have been a living legend. But there are worse ways to be remembered.
March 6, 2016
Best English Gangstar Movie,dont think 'sting' can act though
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2016
Not as good as I thought, I was expecting another film like snatch, But was a little disappointed, But a good ending makes up for most of the films downtime.
November 23, 2015
Fun, stylish crime comedy. True, I will admit it is a bit crowded and the plot is a lot to take in on the first viewing but with repeat viewings it becomes a great watch. Great dialogue, funny twists and turns, and overall a blast of a British crime comedy. Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is "Great!"
October 18, 2015
One of the best British film of the 90's! Very quotable dialogue, great humour and one of my favourite endings to a film.
October 8, 2015
Cool, intertwining storyline
September 2, 2015
I am truly surprised at the act of reviewing this movie, because while I was watching it I thought for the entire time that it was very similar to Tarantino's Reservoir Dogs. And what I read when I open the profil page of Guu Ritchie? That many critics said the same thing. Wow! It reminded me that particular Tarantino's movie for the style in filmaking and the tragicomic plot development. Anyway, I find that the end is poorer than a good movie like this would deserve, but this does not compromise the overall quality of the movie too much.
½ August 28, 2015
Once you get used to the language, it's really an awesome movie.
Page 1 of 734