Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children Reviews

Page 1 of 13
January 10, 2020
Overall this movie is a little above average fair that moves around fast enough to not have you really think about the plot holes and why characters actually do what they are doing.
October 31, 2019
[A] a gloriously goth, visually imaginative, and engaging film yet with a caring, sweet edge.
October 21, 2019
Burton has found a great home for his peculiar talents, and his fans should welcome it, and Miss Peregrine, with open arms.
October 2, 2019
Although this is ultimately better than several of Burton's later fantasy extravaganzas, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children simply isn't peculiar enough.
July 31, 2019
Visually sumptuous but dull, this is not the joyously peculiar Burton of Edward Scissorhands or Beetlejuice, but a dialed-down version...
July 9, 2019
They say hating someone requires a form of passion, meaning the truest rebuke is not caring one way or the other for someone's existence. Here's your C-, Mr. Burton.
May 10, 2019
With only a slight misstep along the way, the whimsy and occasional grimness use to send a message about celebrating our differences makes Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is one of Tim Burton's best films in recent memory.
May 1, 2019
[It] is the director's most original film in years, one that shows a more mature tone while still providing plenty of his signature fantasy tale.
April 4, 2019
Everyone feels miscast and bored in the film.
March 13, 2019
Thank goodness for the adults. Samuel L Jackson and Eva Green are a living, breathing dream that elevate this film to a level it almost doesn't deserve.
February 14, 2019
While there's no disputing the eye-catching splendor of the world that's been created here, it is in service to a story that is ultimately a bit lacking.
February 10, 2019
It was a story that fit in perfectly with visionary director Tim Burton, who has gathered together a cast of veterans and young actors to bring Riggs' book to life on the big screen.
February 5, 2019
Despite all its flaws, I still kind of liked the film.
January 11, 2019
Perhaps [author Ransom Riggs'] imagination has helped awaken Burton's lethargic creative magic. [Full review in Spanish]
December 8, 2018
I don't think it will be a film I come back to over time, which is a shame considering how many times I've watched other Burton films out of enjoyment.
November 9, 2018
Surely, Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children won't entirely disappoint avid Burton fans as he delivers what amounts to be a safe serving of sideshow cinema ready to please the entertaining palates of gentle grotesque-loving moviegoers everywhere.
November 5, 2018
Burton's keen eye for imaginative landscapes lends Peregrine some much-needed visual pop ...but some of the big set pieces remain inexplicably humdrum.
November 4, 2018
Eva Green doing the stern-yet-nurturing British headmistress routine? To borrow a quote from Patton Oswalt: Which gods did I please!?
November 1, 2018
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is Tim Burton's best film in years, though I know that's faint praise.
October 30, 2018
Like the peculiar home itself, cinema has evolved but Burton seems content to keep replaying the same day over and over again.
Page 1 of 13