On The Rocks Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 25, 2020
Coppola never pushes past the individual to the group, the city, society. Although we know there is life out there in the world, we never see it.
November 25, 2020
With the father playing the child and the daughter playing the adult, the film fell short of my expectations in the end.
November 19, 2020
Sofia Coppola's "On The Rocks" is a cathartic diary about the impacts of fathers on daughters. It's beautiful, affecting, magical and makes me well up many weeks after watching.
November 13, 2020
Laura delights in his antics in spite of herself, and though Murray is likely to be the recipient of the bulk of critical praise, it's Jones who anchors On the Rocks.
November 13, 2020
Despite the fairly conventional dramaturgy that underlies On the Rocks, the film never feels predictable. [Full review in Spanish]
November 12, 2020
Memorable characters with spot-on performances by Rashida Jones and Bill Murray. Lovely film.
November 11, 2020
The film is so visually satisfying that it gives the first impression that the story will surprise you, it doesn't. A feel-good predictable movie with a beautiful aesthetic.
November 9, 2020
On the Rocks is a rich viewing experience. The film's aesthetic, narrative, and warm performances wrap around the viewer like a luxurious throw. It's an exercise in decadent subtleties, with Bill Murray's performance being the créme de la créme.
November 7, 2020
Even Murray's performance starts to wear with a plot this thin.
November 6, 2020
I thought the ending lacked a little of Coppola's trademark flair for ambiguity, but without question, On the Rocks is a showcase of her prodigious talent. Her admirers, as well as fans of Murray and Jones, will be well rewarded for their time.
November 6, 2020
A small work, but pristine.
November 5, 2020
On the Rocks is a welcoming film that captivates you by its mood and the only thing it asks of you as a spectator is sensitivity.
November 4, 2020
I find it contagious because of its urban New York atmospheres and the strong chemistry I observe between Murray and Jones, with whom Coppola makes a light commentary on paternal ties. [Full review in Spanish]
November 2, 2020
I absoloutely loved Bill Murray in this movie. So great. So charming
November 1, 2020
Murray energizes this light but pleasant affair. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 31, 2020
Coppola turns in her best movie since "Lost in Translation."
October 31, 2020
[Bill] Murray and [Rashida] Jones paired together offers enough entertaining content to enjoy before you have to close out your tab.
October 30, 2020
A harmless daddy issues/hubby issues comedy, played mostly for comedy.
October 30, 2020
In a weird way, this modern vision of New York City is almost as exotic as the vision of Tokyo Coppola presented in 2003 to Western audiences.
October 30, 2020
In her best film in close to a decade, Sofia Coppola tries at long last to imagine some version of adulthood, in the most equivocal possible way.
Page 1 of 12