Pain & Gain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pain & Gain Reviews

Page 1 of 203
½ September 27, 2016
I still don't know if I was supposed to be rooting for these criminals throughout this overlong film
½ September 17, 2016
It is a shame that this films fails with such a solid cast and chemistry. I personally think the true story just wasn't that good to begin with.
½ September 6, 2016
What an annoying movie!
September 5, 2016
Possibly Michael Bay's worst film to date, and that's saying something
August 27, 2016
It was a very solid film for what it was: 3 muscleheads who were amateurs pulling off crimes and murder. The Rock was without a doubt the best part of the film.
August 16, 2016
It offers some powerful lecture on kidnapping and sympathy from the kidnapper and interestingly makes the kidnappers seem like regular guys using the movie's title as a "moral principle" or excuse for strongly illegal and immoral actions who just want muscles and money. But other than that the film seems more like a blend of extreme pornography as well as forcing any female character to be subject to objectification and sexual pleasure (even Pitch Perfect's Fat Amy), violence, cash grabbing, beefy muscles and breaking the law and all aspects don't exactly connect to each other directly, or even indirectly, seeming the film just wants to be an extended music video for the song "Gangsta's Paradise"
August 13, 2016
I liked this. Especially interesting after seeing the Dateline story.
½ July 30, 2016
A very different film to what I expected because the trailer made it seem like it was going to be a comedy/crime/action but what it was, Was crime/comedy that misses the mark/action (What action), Not to say it wasn't a bad film because it wasn't the story although over long was great and told well, Dwayne and Mark were great fun and played their parts well with some quite gruesome gory bits, It's an interesting very different film, It tries to be funny but 9 times out of 10 fails, I dont know how much of this true story was accurate but even if its half true its still pretty shocking, Could of been so much better if given to the right director, Stick to blockbusters please Michael Bay.
July 26, 2016
I found myself enjoying Pain and Gain quite a lot. It may be a little too long and just too straight sometimes, but it is fun. It is one of Michael Bays most thought out movies, never gets silly, and features great performances by a great cast. Also, some might say it gets to gory at times, but I say the R rating really serves this movie well, and I think it serves Bay well too.
½ July 25, 2016
That Asshole Michael Bay Directed this movie, But I did care for this movie!
Pain and Gain wasn't bad, It's great for such a low score. C'mon 49%, That's Mean even though the trailer says Based on a True story, I hate michael bay and don't think he can direct but this was not bad. Especially the Rock (Dwayne Johnson) and mark Wahlberg starring in it. I don't care what the Reviews say or the critics disliking the movie but i give it an average 7/10 rating.

Score: 7/10
½ July 19, 2016
This movie will not be mistaken for an Oscar winning picture, however it is a fun romp at times and Tony Shaloub chews up any scene that he is a part of. Visually a solid picture.
½ June 27, 2016
This underrated Michael Bay movie is smart, entertaining, bleak and funny at the same time proving that he might not be a deadbeat after all.
½ June 12, 2016
The commercials made it seem great, but the movie was so horribly boring. If I start a movie, I have to finish it so I did. Definitely a waste of 4 hours (what it felt like anyway)
June 9, 2016
Instant classic. Thank you Michael Bay!
June 8, 2016
american dream movie
June 7, 2016
I thought this movie was funny , maybe I'm the only one.
½ June 2, 2016
Awful The Michael Winner award for terrible films goes to Michael Bay for this 1000 carat dump of a film
May 2, 2016
Beautiful people, beautiful places, great film. This one deserves a higher score on here. Mark Wahlberg is fast becoming one of my favorite actors. Great little true story based around Bodybuilding. Well worth seeing.
April 28, 2016
Pain & gain looks dumb, it does. But it is a trio of actors being very good at their job of being out of the league, even in a third degree making fun while acting of their real life deviances. All wrapped up in an inventive scenario and with a surprisingly good Dwayne Johnson.
Page 1 of 203