Revolutionary Road - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Revolutionary Road Reviews

Page 1 of 11
September 12, 2017
It just touched on so many different issues like love, the sanctity of marriage, forgiveness, rage, entrapment, loneliness and helplessness.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
October 7, 2015
Mr. Mendes at least has an idea what he should be going for even though he ultimately fails.
October 21, 2014
There is not a shred of hope, light or even life in Mendes' fourth film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 7, 2013
Revolutionary Road's portrait of a disintegrating marriage is so unflinching, so unsentimental, and so bleak, that you really need to be in a buoyant emotional state to get through the movie.
June 22, 2013
Most of the way, the film feels more like a documentary about the couple than a corrosive study of either of them.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 16, 2011
These people are not tragic, they're not even pathetic - they're fountains of soap-opera profundities.
April 4, 2011
From the director of American Beauty comes another empty, fake-meaningful tale of how rotten it is in the suburbs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 26, 2011
... far beyond deconstructing the man in the gray flannel suit. ... [writer Richard Yates] explored ways we acquire and define our identities from people we love, and how we set our lives on self-deceptive and self-destructive courses.
October 20, 2010
Revolutionary Road offers nothing you can't see on TV, with more compelling narratives and better performances (save for Michael Shannon).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 23, 2010
Mendes has made a troubling film that wrestles with big themes and touchy subjects, even if it is set in an overly familiar milieu.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 10, 2010
The characters in this film are weak-willed, pathetic losers. I just couldn't muster much sympathy for the characters that couldn't burst out of the cages of their own design.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 30, 2009
Revolutionary Road is content to stick with hoary cliches about the emptiness of middle-class bourgeois life.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 26, 2009
Middlebrow self-consciousness
August 1, 2009
It's hard to shake the feeling that this is merely a lesser rehash of Mendes' more accomplished film American Beauty.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 15, 2009
jo%u0161 jedan primjer u dana%u0161njem Hollywoodu sve iritantnijeg %u017Eanra "dajte mi Oscar" filmov
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
June 3, 2009
It plays like Douglas Sirk without the irony.
May 27, 2009
...more of a sedate lecture on values than a revealing or entertaining look at life and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 21, 2009
Can't tell whether Mendes speaks through his characters or speaks about them
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2009
Similar yet better domestic dramas that come to mind for comparison purposes include "In the Bedroom," "Little Children" and "American Beauty."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 2, 2009
Chilly and academic, thoroughly admirable but one step removed from the very real angst of a movie like The Man in the Grey Flannel Suit (1956).
Page 1 of 11