The Santa Clause - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Santa Clause Reviews

Page 1 of 414
December 10, 2017
really cure, watched it with the family again
½ December 2, 2017
This is the ultimate Christmas movie, it has every essence of a traditional Christmas and everything that represents Christmas. The unselfish act of giving at Christmas, Santa, snow, presents, how it affects children and adults. I can happily watch this movie throughout the year, it never fails to put me in the Christmas spirit. It is the only Christmas movie I actually love, it's by far the best Christmas movie there is
November 4, 2017
Tim Allen is pretty funny he did a good job in this movie I would watch this movie a good family movie
October 29, 2017
A sweet story with a blend outcome.
½ October 16, 2017
A good Christmas film, it gets a bit silly but it is an enjoyable Christmas film
July 14, 2017
common sense wise? No.
½ June 8, 2017
The all-time BEST christmas movie of all time. (along with elf) :)
½ June 1, 2017
A charming, fun tale that brings Cris Cringle to life and is most definitely a holiday classic.
½ May 20, 2017
It has a lot of holiday spirit, even if it is confusing sometimes.
½ May 3, 2017
Tim Alan is pretty good in this movie
½ April 9, 2017
This is a pretty good movie
February 25, 2017
I like the movie, :)
January 4, 2017
Oh no! What happens if Santa has an accident? Little Charlie Calvin's dad turns into Santa Claus and needs Charlie's help to deliver presents on Christmas Eve. For kids who believe in Santa, this movie apparently explains a LOT. My younger kid was enthusiastically telling me how it all works after watching this one. And asking a lot of "Does Santa..." questions.
January 1, 2017
Weird & lacking in sense, but nice.
December 26, 2016
Funny and decent Christmas movie.
December 26, 2016
Lovely little film...
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2016
At the time of this film's release, Tim Allen was on fire and could do no wrong. He had the #1 movie, with this one of course, topped the New York Times best-selling list and had the #1 show on television. And this happened within the time span of one week. Like imagine how improbable that is for one person in their entire lifetime. Now imagine that it happened to one person in the span of a week. Whatever you may think of Allen, and I'll certainly get into that, it's certainly a very impressive feat no matter how you slice it. As far as Tim Allen is concerned, I'll be honest, I never liked the guy that much to begin with. I mean, yes, I certainly enjoyed Home Improvement in parts, but Tim's character and performances were all very similar from one another. And the nature of sitcoms, at least in the past, were to blame. No actual effort was put into legitimate character development, they'd just rely on the same old and tired jokes about Al's (his co-worker) mom's weight. Or time grunting like an ape. Or Tim hitting his head on a pipe every time he went to the basement. And, continuing with the honesty, Tim Allen never did much for me as a comedic actor. I'm not saying he was bad or anything, like there were certain lines and how he delivered them with fairly quick timing that made me laugh, but I find Tim to be a little bland honestly. And he seems like one of those guys that's putting on an act, like Kevin James, where he might seem likable in his movies, but he's really a major asshole to his fans if they ever got to meet him. With that said, the movie was perfectly. My thing with Christmas movies is that, realistically, a great percentage of them, like say 80%, are absolutely no fucking good. And this one isn't any different but, at the very least, by the very low-standard of Christmas movies, this one an outright masterpiece. Even if it's an average movie by everyone else's standards. The concept, actually, is a fairly good one when you take into consideration that this boils down to a corny Christmas movie. I'm sure you've all heard of this film by now, so let's not bore you with the details. Tim Allen kills Santa Claus and he has take over the job. Simple and to the point. I will say, though, that my favorite parts of the movie were when Tim first takes the job and how angry he is at the whole thing. The whole concept of a cynical Santa Claus, done later to much better effect in Bad Santa, was a good one, but they obviously couldn't run with it seeing that this was a Disney movie after all. And they wanted a family-friendly affair. The more the film settles into a standard family movie, the more spark that it loses. There's a subplot here where Tim's son's mother, and stepfather, feel that Scott, Tim's character, feels that he is a negative influence on his own son. All because of the fact that he pretends that he is Santa Claus. They want Charles, the son, to grow up with a grounded look at reality, where his imagination isn't allowed to run wild. Essentially, they don't want the kid to believe it Santa Claus. It's about as absurd as it can get, but it's how they chose to tell their story. I mean, would any parent out there really hold that against someone? To the point that they actually want VISITATION rights taken away because of it. It's ridiculous. But, again, that's what they wanted their story to be like. The film looks at how Scott's slow transformation to Santa Claus affects him and those around him. It's simple, but it's sporadically entertaining. There comes a point where, after Scott has his visitation rights revoked, that he kidnaps, perhaps not violently, but he does kidnap his own son. And the fact that, at the end, that fact was so grievously ignored was something to see. It doesn't matter if the guy is Santa or not. Kidnapping is still kidnapping, even if the son wants to go with him. Again, Disney movie so they couldn't explore the actual consequences of Scott's actions. They just wave their magic wand and do away with whatever Scott may have done. The acting is solid. Like I said, Allen gives off the appearance of being likable and that does a lot to help the movie. The little kid who plays his son isn't really that good, but you can't really expect much. The rest of the cast is fine, particularly David Krumholtz, who was already really good at this stage and he was only like 16 when the movie came out. But the majority of the movie is about Tim and his son, so none of the supporting characters really get that much of a chance to shine. The movie has the typically corny Christmas ending, where everyone ends up happily ever after. So if that's your cup of tea, then this movie will be right up your alley. As far as I'm concerned, this movie is nothing but average at best. It's better than I would have expected, but not by much. I'm sure this will be a bigger hit with a large family than it would with just me, so take that into consideration. Wouldn't recommend it, but there's worse ways to spend a night.
December 22, 2016
this movie is a classic!!!
½ December 21, 2016
The film has its moments of fun. It starts off slowly, kinda stumbles around trying to find the plot device. By the time you get to the better parts 25% into the movie, you are probably bored. Not the greatest christmas movie, and only marginally more entertaining or worse than Elf.
Page 1 of 414