Schindler's List - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Schindler's List Reviews

Page 1 of 1200
January 2, 2017
Uma grande obra prima, uns dos melhores filmes que assisti na minha vida. O filme é extremamente verdadeiro sobre o que acontecia acontecia naquela época. Liam Neeson sensacional!!!!
January 2, 2017
Director, Steven Spielberg (Jaws, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and E.T. The Extra Terrestrial) directs,
Schindler's List, with the intentions of recreating the Holocaust as realistic as possible, and succeeds masterfully. Every scene involving the Nazis were so brilliantly directed and very intense, and scenes of them in the labor camps are truly terrifying. Schindler's List, is the most realistic depiction of the Holocaust to ever hit the screen.
January 2, 2017
A very powerful movie. An amazing performance by Neeson. Three scenes made my eyes water. A movie that makes you think about human nature and war. A coin has two sides to it. A must watch.
½ December 30, 2016
Rating 4.5, Hope that's not anti-semitic
December 29, 2016
O melhor filme de herói de todos os tempos.
December 25, 2016
Bedste Spielberg film.
December 21, 2016
Steven Spielberg delivers a masterpiece giving full light in yet it's darkness restoring the World War II genre.
December 20, 2016
That last scene before Oskar leaves, quite possibly one the greatest in cinematic history.
December 17, 2016
1354/5000
The guy who revolutionized the movie scene, Steven Spielberg proves that he does not just blockbuster, told in an extremely melodic way, it is impossible not to empathize with the characters, the film is extremely sensitive and insensitive as well, showing all the cruelty that human nature Can provide by elevating life to the condition of nothing, talks about the power that corrupts and elevates the human being to a higher degree, this is all a great analogy of Nazism, which in the end, is nothing more than an advertisement, and our protagonist Oskar Schindler (Liam Neeson) has realized this and decides to act. It is impossible to talk about Schindler's List without mentioning his photograph that puts us straight into the 1940s, and this was a very good choice for Spielberg, we have some colorful scenes that are absurdly significant, like the scene of the girl in red who Symbolizes hope, and then ... With a soundtrack and convincing performances and an impeccable script, its 3 hours are not even tiresome, on the contrary, you want to see more, live longer, get more excited. And as if that were not enough, Spielberg mixes elements of cinema with real life, leaving the film extremely more tactile. Schindler's list has a spectacular construction and a magnificent finish, and it is not the act that cleared the Oscar.
December 11, 2016
Tätä ei kovin usein jaksa yli kolmen tunnin pituutensa ansiosta katsoa - viimeksi ehkä julkaisuvuonna 1993 leffateatterissa. Silloin saatoin olla liian nuori, nyt tarina kosketti aivan eri tavalla. Järkyttävä, kamala, hirveä. Ja kuitenkin toiveikas, positiviinen. Hieno. Masterpiece. Upea elokuva kertakaikkiaan. Yhtään ei silmä lupsunut vaikka pituutta elokuvalla tosiaan riittää ja värit puuttuu.
December 8, 2016
Steven Spielberg's amazing masterpiece, this black-and-white film manages to pack a lot of story within its 3-hour long runtime. The film has amazing performances from Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley and Ralph Fiennes, has some well-conducted music most notably in the full-colour ending and manages to successfully combine drama with horror and unexpected humour. This film is not only one of Spielberg's best movies to date but may also be remembered as one of the most critically acclaimed movies of all time and for adults and older teens will be an unforgettable motion picture experience.
December 6, 2016
Schindler's List is directed by Steven Spielberg, and it stars Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley, and Ralph Fiennes in a historical film about a German businessman who's in the Nazi Party, but creates a factory and put hundreds of Jews in there to secretly keep them safe, while also keep them working so that no one knows about something fishy going on. This is actually one of my favorite films that I've seen, and I seen this more than once despite the long runtime that's 3 hours long. When I see it for the fourth time in Holocaust class, and to this day, it remains to be one of the best movies that I have even seen. Liam Neeson is my favorite actor, and this is one of the reasons why he is because he gives a fantastically-layered performance that knocks his performance out of the park that makes me convinced that he knows how to do business, and understand his way that makes him want to save as many Jewish refugees as possible. He also does a good job of giving an emotional moment which at the end, makes it a very heartbreaking one but also giving an ambiguous question of if it would've been better if he went through time and do what he said. Ben Kingsley is great as he tells Oskar about what he can do that's the right thing, metaphorically as his conscience. Ralph Fiennes did a fantastic job of being such an evil character that he's just having fun with it, as he usually does like this and Harry Potter. This is probably the closest movie that understands what the Holocaust is like as people giving crap to Jewish people, what the Jews have to deal with in terms of living and working conditions, and even getting kids on the trucks which gets a lot of mothers trying to get them out of it, which is the most horrifying part of the film for me, even if I seen this before, it still get chills out of it. The black-and-white shot is a wise choice and it makes it feel more effective and more of its time period, and the score by John Williams is relaxing, but very sad to listen to. It has the one aspect that many Holocaust films not use, and that is the humanism from Steven Spielberg that gives his vision that gives some humanity from the Jews that helps them get through with the Holocaust. Even when it's more than 3 hours long, I was never bored, it never felt stretched out, and it has great writing from Steven Zaillian that gives tons of informations of the Holocaust. The movie is very powerful, haunting, and just a masterpiece that World War 2 films are never up to this film, and so are tons of films in general.
December 3, 2016
It's been a while since I watched Schindler's List, so it's not fresh in my mind, but I've seen it more than once. Every time I see it, I am once again profoundly emotionally affected and reminded of the power of this story.

This story needed to be told, and it was told very well. It pulls you in, deeply. If you are capable of crying while watching a movie, you will cry at some points. You may start to ponder humanity, human nature, and the reasons for things.

I was caught up in the stories of multiple individuals being told here. Some things play out the way you hope they will; some don't. As we know, millions of people were killed by Nazi genocide during WWII, but here is one story about how the actions of one at first reluctant hero can make a tremendous difference to the lives of many. It's a complex and touching story, an important one.

People have asked, how could this happen? Many Germans said they didn't know what was happening or how bad things really were.

What was one of the first things to go in Hitler's Germany? And in every dictatorship? Freedom of the press, freedom of expression, and freedom to openly express dissent without fear of punishment. When the only news is what the people in power want you to know, that's how people remain ignorant when something like this happens.

Concentration camps like the ones depicted in Schindler's List were approved and authorized by Adolph Hitler, leader of Nazi Germany, decades ago. His top circle ensured that his vision of ethnic cleansing was carried out. Millions of people were brought to the camps, mostly ethnic Jews, kept in horrible conditions, and killed. Why? Ethnic hatred, intolerance for people of a different race, and a stirring up against those who are different. They were rounded up and shipped out, methodically, and brought to these camps. Those who tried to take a stand against Hitler's policies, in any way, were rounded up and harrassed. Many of them were also put into the camps to share in the Jews' fate.

Any time large numbers of people are to be rounded up, should we look away? Should we say "They asked for it" or "They deserve it"? Is that what we should do? Should we not pay attention to where they go or what their fate is or how they are treated?

If you like this, I recommend watching Machine Gun Preacher as well as Hotel Rwanda, both stories of actual modern day heroes saving people from genocide. The world needs more heroes like this. Ask a Syrian Christian (if you can find one that is still alive).
December 3, 2016
Emotionally moving and visually captivating. This movie is essential for all enjoyers of film, history or the humanities in any sense of the word.
November 17, 2016
What a legend - Oskar Schlinder!!
½ November 13, 2016
Oskar Schindler, a Czech manufacturer and factory owner, is on his way to dine with Amon Goeth, Nazi commandant of the Paszów labor camp outside Kraców, Poland, in 1943. Schindler's car travels on the broken Jewish gravestones that pave the road to Goeth's villa. Inside the villa, as Jewish musicians play unobtrusively, Goeth is surrounded by local police and prostitutes. Schindler encounters Goeth's maid, Helen Hirsch, who has been severely beaten by Goeth; terrified, she confides to Schindler about Goeth's frequent brutality and begs Schindler to find and save her younger sister.
In early 1940, Kraców's Jews are forced into an overcrowded ghetto, while their Christian neighbors harass and spit at them. Despite vicious slogans and posters promising violent punishment for those who help Jews, Schindler assures his workers that they are safe with him.
Shortly thereafter, Schindler is arrested by the Nazis on a trumped up charge of some irregularity in his bookkeeping, but because of the intervention of bribed Nazi officials, Schindler is released. Later, however, when his workers throw him a birthday party, Schindler is denounced for kissing a young female Jewish worker. He is rearrested but soon released because of intervention from ranking Nazi officials.
The Schindler men are successfully transported to Brünnlitz; the women are mistakenly routed to Auschwitz. Weeks later, Schindler pays officials to release the women to his charge, marking the only time that a train with living passengers leaves a death camp during the Holocaust.
During the remaining months of the war, Schindler bribes and manipulates officials so that the Jews in his charge can survive; his factory produces no useable shells. At war's end, he exhorts his factory's German guards to return to their families peacefully and gives the remaining food and supplies to his Jewish workers.
After the war, Schindler is unsuccessful in business and is often bankrupt, but he is well cared for by his former employees. Honored as "Righteous Among the Nations" by Yad Vashem, the Israeli Holocaust Museum, Schindler spends his remaining years traveling between Germany and Israel. He dies in 1974 at the age of sixty-six and is buried in Jerusalem.
Schindler's list relates to World Religions part of Judaism. Judaism is mainly known for having survived the Holocaust which is unlike any other religion. Judaism involves the belief of one God and His chosen people are the Jews. It is a religion developed from ancient Hebrews that is still growing as of today.
November 13, 2016
This was the most heart wrenching three hours of my life. This film of the Holocaust was done in a mind boggling sense of brilliance. The major thing I took from it was the Jews will and drive to survive. The one lady speaking to her husband of the fact things could get worse in regards to their stay. It showed the beautiful spirit of the Jewish people.
November 13, 2016
Miguel DeJesus, Schindler's List is a very good movie and should be watched by everyone, the director does a good job at depicting what life was like for the Jews during concentration camp time and World War 2. The story takes place during the year 1939, a man named Oskar Schindler come to Krakow during World War 2 on business looking to make money. During that time Schindler became friends with the Nazi party, Schindler hired Jews as his employees in his factory. Schindler witnessed the many killings of the Jews and the concentration camps where they were forced to move to. A part in the movie that stood out the most was when Schindler spotted the little girl in the red coat as she was hiding from the Nazi but later it shows the body of the little girl on one of the wagons carrying the dead bodies. In the end Schindler and the Nazi must run from the Red Army to avoid being capture. This movie relates to world religion because of the religion of the Jews and the Nazi. This movies relates mostly to Judaism, the earliest reference to Jews is the Hebrews, Israelites and the people of Judah. (Brodd, 2013, 343) In many centuries that followed, the number of Jews living outside of their historic homeland ultimately far exceeded those living within its borders. (Brodd, 2013, 344) For more than two millennia, therefore, dispersion, acculturation, and resistance to total assimilation have formed the larger pattern of Jewish life and must serve as the backdrop to any discussion of Judaism as a historical religion. (Brodd, 2013, 345) Schindler's List was a very moving movie and showed the many things the Jews had to endure during that and all those innocent men, women, and children that lost their lives. Also the part that did stand out was the little girl in the red coat, she is so faultless and afraid and no child should have to feel that way.
Brodd, Jeffrey. Invitation to World Religions. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2013. Print.
½ November 13, 2016
I enjoyed this black and white film about Schindler's many acts of courage and bravery. The movie is a historical "Docudrama" of true events during WWII when Jewish people were persecuted for their religious and cultural beliefs. Schindler spends the war keeping "his" Jews employed and working so that they might live to see the end of the Nazi regime. There are many important themes, symbolisms and motifs within this movie that add to the beautifully sad account of WWII. This movie was very moving and extremely hard to watch at times. The sad and horrible accounts of WWII have been accurately and historically depicted in this Film about Schindler and his many attempts to save the Jewish community during WWII.
Page 1 of 1200