Solaris Reviews

Page 1 of 4
April 1, 2021
Ultimately I was really disappointed in Solaris but I am not sorry that I watched it.
August 10, 2020
It's as if the film is a living, thinking thing: A reflection of what you want when you need it.
May 15, 2020
Perfectly immaculate, using the chilliness of the way the location is framed to offset the profoundly human story being told there.
October 29, 2019
A profoundly beautiful and disturbing Russian film that reaches far beyond the realms of the future depicted in Kubrick's 2001.
August 1, 2019
This movie -- at times pretentious -- is inauthentic cinema. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 7, 2019
The duality is present in each idea and in each emotion, without ever being able to separate the positive from the negative, forming a tragic whole. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 3, 2018
Tarkovsky's meditation posits that we would wilfully enter the abyss to sanctify that which is most precious to us: our memories, our compassion, and our capacity for love.
October 31, 2018
A cerebral and unsettling milestone that you should no doubt mark off your cinematic bucket list sometime.
July 3, 2017
... as a haunted ode to lost love, 'Solaris' has few equals in all of cinema.
May 18, 2017
The film has a hypnotic pull, drawing the viewer deeper and deeper into its enigmatic adventure by crafting a world all its own.
May 12, 2017
Easily one of the most important science fiction films of all time.
May 6, 2017
Andrei Tarkovsky's pacing is less moved by narrative detail than thematic and metaphorical suggestion.
April 3, 2017
Where 2001: A Space Odyssey's final act explored the limitless possibilities of human potential, the heart of Solaris' thesis is the crushing limitation of human psychological experience.
August 9, 2016
Tarkovsky's reach for the stars was wholly in keeping with his striving curiosity and allowed him space to explore the nature of identity and love.
July 15, 2015
Viewers with patience will find 'Solaris' mesmerizing, visual and emotional food for thought even if such thought is open to a rainbow of interpretations, or to none.
June 16, 2015
[VIDEO ESSAY] Andrei Tarkovsky's prodigious ability to conceptualize grand-scale narrative structure with a fluid sense of cinematic time continues to influence filmmakers even if few rise to such dizzying heights.
April 2, 2015
One of the great movie mind benders.
June 16, 2014
Tarkovsky's speculative visions enfold the mysteries of death and rebirth, the lost paradise of childhood, the power of art to define identity, the menace of science as destructive vanity ...
June 8, 2011
In Andrei Tarkovsky's Solaris, we have made contact with the aliens, and they want you to call your mom.
May 24, 2011
Proves the yin to Kubrick's yang, not out of contrarian longing, but because that was the form best suited for the content Tarkovsky wanted to explore.
Page 1 of 4