Reviews

Sep 24, 2020
A story whose predictability doesn't make the experience less exciting. [Full review in Spanish]
Jul 12, 2020
Prepare to be enthralled by the beauty and frustrated by the characters in equal measure. The experience is the same as going to an art gallery, something I love to do. Malick's work is art and art is supposed to be challenging.
Jul 1, 2020
[The film] gets away from [Malick]. It's still full of gorgeous shots and all that, but each individual element is just a bit subpar, resulting in an unsatisfying film overall
Jun 27, 2020
The film is an experimental romance that has seduced us. [Full review in Spanish]
May 5, 2020
Malick is almost challenging us to enjoy ourselves on any level. It's as if he's attempting to inject a soul into characters and events that are inherently soulless.
Mar 30, 2020
[Song to Song] is short on plot, but Malick masterfully captures fleeting moments of beauty.
Feb 13, 2020
Although beautiful and maintaining a weird momentum throughout, Malick's ethereal and dreamlike approach to storytelling may finally be wearing a little thin.
Nov 12, 2019
Overall, Song to Song comes across as all style and no substance, which disappointingly leads to nowhere.
Oct 5, 2019
Malick continues to force us to examine the contemporary human condition wherein success, achievement, and tangible possessions only enhance our disenchantment with the life we know reconciled with the feelings we expect.
Sep 6, 2019
Even though there seemed to be a more discernible storyline here than in previous works like Tree of Life, this film just plods along at a languid pace.
Mar 1, 2019
Song to Song is slightly disappointing. Rooney Mara's voiceover only offers empty platitudes and Ryan Gosling's romantic hero is sweet and endearing but ultimately quite boring.
Dec 12, 2018
Though there are times when you're dying for any excuse to look away from the monotony of the montage, it's yet another vanity project that's as isolating as it is immersive.
Dec 6, 2018
...embodies the notion of a cyclical story, one which turns and returns like a revolving record, or a girl twirling in circles in a field or against the Austin skyline.
Nov 10, 2018
A better-than-expected Malick may not be as good as transcendent Malick. I will take it at any rate.
Nov 3, 2018
Malick seeks only to gorge on the emotional malcontent of his disaffected players. They don't seek transcendence from their lot, just pity in finding the right partner.
Oct 16, 2018
Outside of the more standard Malick-isms, Song to Song also has a troubling relationship with women, making their role secondary to a man's and establishing a mood of objectification.
Aug 30, 2018
I'm pretty sure Terrence Malick pulled an Adam Sandler on me because this is nothing but him, Fassbender, Mara, and Gosling going on vacation to Texas and South America.
Aug 23, 2018
"Song to Song" seems, and I believe I said this when I reviewed Malick's last movie "Knight of Cups," embarrassingly similar to a perfume commercial.
Aug 23, 2018
t does indeed have beautiful people in the shape of Ryan Gosling and Rooney Mara... and Michael Fassbender as the Faustian agent who promises them the world, but it also has something resembling a story and celebrity cameos besides.
Aug 21, 2018
Monumentally moving... These characters are ultimately slaves to their own bad decisions, and Malick provides a backstage pass to their tortured yearning.