Sssssss - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sssssss Reviews

Page 1 of 4
February 8, 2017
In the past ten to fifteen years we've seen the horror genre take some very bizarre leaps, moving away from the stereotypical slasher film and monster movies to torture porn ( SAW and Hostel) and scientists with God complexes turning humans into freakish creatures with half-assed backroom fever dream procedures( Human Centipede franchise and Tusk).

As strange as these films are they've been very successful for straight to stream affairs, and the SAW franchise did enough box office money to make seven movies. What I'm saying is we have a morbid curiosity for strange horror, partially for the film itself but also to try and figure out what inspired these filmmakers. 1973's "SSSSS" offers a look at what may have inspired some of the most ludacris horror flicks of the past decade.

"SSSSS" follows Dr.Stoner (yeah), a scientist obsessed with snakes. We see him sell a failed snakeman early in the film to a carnival leaving the Dr. to find a new subject. A college professor colleague lends a student named David to assist Dr.Stoner. David is too dumb for his own good; as Stoner immediately injects him with an "innoculation" ( without asking specifically what it is) that we later find out is king cobra venom. ( Why this turns David into a snake instead of killing him is anyone's guess.Stoner doesn't say he augmented the venom).

David begins flirting and making advances toward Stoners equally dim and unassuming daughter Christina,but David soon begins changing. He sheds his skin, hes constantly cold(cold-blooded), and begins growing scales. After Stoners final injection, David.....Well I'll let you guys find out for yourselves.

There's plenty of bad dialogue, and cheese-tastic moments( like the Python they keep giving whiskey) I won't ruin those for you. This movie is two hours long and while there are ALOT of mono/dialogues about how snakes are misunderstood; the actually science shown early on in the movie is interesting(like watching animal planet), and the plot is silly enough to keep you entertained. There are some "WTF" moments in this film that are funny and disturbing at the same time. So get your friends together to have a blast, and remember.

Don't say it. Hiss it. Ssssssssssss

3/5
½ June 15, 2015
This movie has no pretensions. It is a guilty pleasure to stumble across this film on late night television every few years. The third act is weak but Shakespearean.
June 4, 2015
The story of a sinister scientist who turns unsuspecting citizens into poisonous and venomous snakes!!!! Don't say it... Hiss it!
Classic 70s cheesy horror!
½ November 13, 2014
Snake doctor administers his unknowing assistant with experimental injections that slowly transform him into a king cobra. Predictably disastrous results ensue for the assistant, aside from possibly earning an extra credit for class. The makeup is exsssssellent.
February 27, 2014
Classic horror story with the scientist trying to turn a man into s snake. You got to give this movie props though, the cast and crew worked with real deadly snakes in this production.
August 30, 2013
Average horror thriller with a great performance by Strother Martin. Some scares, with an anti-climactic ending.
February 17, 2013
Another movie that FREAKED ME OUT!! as a kid. Not a great movie, the acting was good but the story line was weak.
December 21, 2012
A well-directed 70's killer snake flick featuring real venomous reptiles--Ssssssscary as Hell!!
½ December 16, 2012
Just saw this movie on TV and its lame enough to begin with. There's not much horror or suspense. Unnecessary scenes and plot lines thrown in. and the ending makes you go, "so.. that's it?"
½ December 16, 2012
Saw this on Svengoolie's show and was SO FRIGGIN MAD at the ending. Such a letdown. No B movie fun whatsoever. Just kind of -ssst!- fizzles out.
½ November 3, 2012
Det fina med den här filmen är att den är så satans knäpp, börjar som mysig rysare och slutar som välkommen to weirdo-ville.
½ October 27, 2012
A ophiologist slowly transforms his new assistant into a king cobra with his immunization serum. An unfortunate case of a student taking the wrong job. The box says open auditions were held for all pet snakes who wanted to become movie stars.
October 26, 2012
It has some interesting points, but it's a bit slow and the effects aren't that great. The film mention how all the snakes are real, but a few of them looked fake in some scenes, even for only a moment. The editing is pretty mediocre, and it's hilarious how hard they try to cover nudity up with unnatural leaves and lamps. The only redeeming value is the actual snake footage, leaving this a pretty dangerous film to make. So bad it's actually kind of good.
½ September 25, 2012
creepy! special fx were atrocious though even for the 70s
September 2, 2012
Sssilly, ssstupid and ssslow ssso do yourself a favor and ssskip it.
June 9, 2012
I remember this was a movie I loved as a kid (despite the scenes where the snakes die). Rated 3 stars for good memories alone.
May 22, 2012
Basically a Syfy Original Movie before they had Syfy Original Movies... Could they have come up with a better name than Sssss? Or was it Sssssss?
April 19, 2012
I dont care to watch.
½ December 25, 2011
Superlatively seventies film, PG-rating with nudity, terrible script, acting, etc. Pretty fun.
Page 1 of 4