Stigmata - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stigmata Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 13, 2005
The story is a bit far-fetched and many of the situations feel forced, but, overall, its moral questions bear examination.
Read More | Original Score: 68/100
June 28, 2004
Not only does Stigmata revel in anti-Vatican jabs that will offend religious-minded people, it goes over the top with its bloody Exorcist-style story.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 20, 2003
Unless you have an unquenchable desire to see blood streaming down Patricia Arquette's face over and over, there's no reason to see Stigmata.
April 21, 2002
...a cathedral of cliches. Can a church sue a movie?
Read More | Original Score: 5/10
March 4, 2002
A supernatural thriller about a Vatican conspiracy to suppress an Aramaic text that could shake the foundations of the church.
February 14, 2001
You really wouldn't rush out to see this, wait for the video.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
At first seems to be about the Second Coming but turns out to be a half-baked anticlerical screed.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
Stigmata is an unusually intelligent and original thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
A leaden exercise in what can go wrong when movies attempt to explore mysterious forces with dated special effects and easy symbolism.
January 1, 2000
Stigmata is possibly the funniest movie ever made about Catholicism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Ludicrous plot and even worse dialogue!
January 1, 2000
How several good actors got talked into this movie is a mystery.
January 1, 2000
Style-over-substance!
January 1, 2000
Ouch!
January 1, 2000
A derivative, pretentious rock video with a half-cocked, quote-unquote religious melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 1, 2000
the picture had it's moments, I had my share of chills and as I said ... good point.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I don't see the story as an anti-religious film, as much as I saw it as a challenge to having one way of looking at religion.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2000
A muddled spiritual thriller!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
January 1, 2000
Got a sweet humanistic spiritual message wrapped into its broader themes of bloodletting.
January 1, 2000
A bloody mess!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 1 of 5