The Assassin Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 14, 2021
Watching the Assassin is like watching the river flowing down in autumn sunset. And you realize that one hour and forty minutes have gone by.
December 4, 2020
Everything about the film is approached with great caution, as if unable to commit to any particular course of action; it doesn't appear concerned with getting to the point.
July 2, 2020
It is a challenging film, but I believe it is important for a film viewer to be challenged from time to time. This is hands-down one of the best opportunities for that in recent years.
November 18, 2019
At the end of the day, The Assassin represents a work of art rather than a martial arts film, which predominately relies on its beauty to dazzle its audience.
August 31, 2019
In 'The Assassin' the shape is everything, it even elevates the more than simple plot to a place that few can truly reach. [Full Review in Spanish]
July 5, 2019
Shot in both vivid color and striking black and white, the film unfolds like a poem, a whispered plea for peace and a stoic reflection on human folly.
April 9, 2019
The Assassin is undeniably one of the most beautiful-looking films to come out all year - however fans of interesting characters, cinematic thrills and coherent narratives should look elsewhere.
March 7, 2019
The Assassin packs nearly every kind of arty, intersectional-feminist fan's fantasy into one movie.
February 2, 2019
Sweeping, gorgeous, and head-scratchingly inaccessible, The Assassin is a challenging watch that asks much of its audience.
November 3, 2018
The Assassin" is a gorgeous film, artfully structured, that bares however, little semblance to the wuxia genre, apart from the era it takes place.
October 30, 2018
You're not likely to see a better film this year.
October 30, 2018
Much like Wong with The Grandmaster, Hou has made a martial arts film that is more of a personal statement than a genre piece, but his style suits the genre surprisingly well and certainly makes its mark in martial arts cinema.
November 10, 2017
The pictorial beauty of this scene is self-evident; it's in Hou's painstaking orchestration of each component part and the thematic weight imparted by their careful configuration that lends the film a steadily increasing romantic gravitas.
September 1, 2017
I say this all to say that folks have been fallen all over themselves for the Chinese drama, THE ASSASSIN, which is indeed a solid film but nothing I haven't see before
August 16, 2017
I was NOT prepared for was just how beautiful the visuals Hou [Hsia-Hsein] gives us would be - beautiful to the point that I ultimately didn't care at all whether I understood what The Assassin was trying to say.
August 14, 2017
The film tried my patience even as I marveled at its aesthetic: pretty things just aren't enough.
February 24, 2017
The Assassin feels like a stereotype of a movie that will be beloved by critics but reviled by audiences, even within art house and genre film circles.
January 2, 2017
Hou puts the art in martial arts with this ravishing but strangely authentic actioner. Some will baulk at the pacing and plotting, but this needs to be seen.
October 18, 2016
A film of an absolute poetic and radical aura with dramatic and aesthetic virtues. [Full review in Spanish]
October 13, 2016
A film where everything could be solved in 20 minutes. In a few words: a total waste of time. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 7