The Big Lebowski Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 5, 2021
You can't not enjoy watching Jeff Bridges drawl and ramble around...
May 12, 2021
...at once the most fun and the least fun of the Coen brothers' films.
March 24, 2021
I do like the clever story telling. It keeps you guessing throughout. The script is tightly structured and there are some very memorable lines.
February 4, 2021
What a great, silly movie.
February 3, 2021
The dude abides. Jeff Bridges and John Goodman standout in the stoner comedy film to rule them all. [Full review in Spanish]
September 10, 2020
The dialogue is riddled with moody, witty cursing and unequalled wordplay - and all sorts of sarcastic nonsense.
July 15, 2020
A frantic mish-mash of comedy, mystery, and cinematic trickery that, while it can be overwhelming at first glance, is one of the most unique and entertaining films in a generation.
July 15, 2020
I could tell you how much I love this movie but that's just, like, my opinion, man.
May 24, 2020
If The Dude is the representative figure of early 1990s America - a lazy white guy constantly breaking the law with impunity - it's no wonder his story remains relevant even now that the film is old enough to order its own White Russian.
May 19, 2020
The comedy largely centers itself on Bridges, whose blissfully nonplussed reaction shots always provide a grounding effect for the rest of the movie.
March 6, 2020
For those of you who forgot how good Bridges was in The Fisher King, here is a reminder. As the gung-ho Nam veteran, Goodman's tenacious, tightly coiled demeanor is smartly explosive and very funny.
October 30, 2019
What made Fargo work, aside from the regional kitsch, was a solid story and believable characters worth caring about. The Big Lebowski has neither.
September 28, 2019
The Big Lebowski (1998) is a dark, idiosyncratic and quirky comedy/crime caper-thriller involving an intriguing complex case of mistaken identity, deception, double-crosses, and a mysterious kidnapping. It came from the inventive, cultish...
April 25, 2019
"The Big Lebowski" is easy to love and rewarding to obsess over, but for me, it's more than just a fun movie to quote; it's a comforting memory generator, and when I watch it, if I squint, I can kind of see my dad again.
April 18, 2019
Already a pessimistic take on the American Dream and the ideal of the self-made man, the model of the film-noir detective is ridiculed in The Big Lebowski.
September 20, 2018
Lebowski's virtuosity serves a sense of modesty.
September 20, 2018
One of a kind.
August 6, 2018
If one were to examine the entire cinematic resume of the Coen Brothers, The Big Lebowskiwould assuredly rest within the top five spots.
April 2, 2018
I'll just say this: The Big Lebowksi is an excellent movie - and damn funny.
March 10, 2018
A return to form... where large men scream very loudly and jokes are pounded into the ground with vigor and brio. Goodman's Walter is a bullet-headed, barely contained titan of rage, running on the fumes of cracked beliefs and fierce garble-gabble.
Page 1 of 6