The Place Beyond The Pines - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Place Beyond The Pines Reviews

Page 1 of 209
July 27, 2016
***
Bradley Cooper is the real star of this movie. Don't get me wrong, Gosling is good, but Cooper is brilliant. Real emotion and some great unexpected twists makes The Place Beyond the Pines more than just your usual drama.
July 16, 2016
With the unique visual style of Derek Cianfrance and the stellar performances of both Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper, The Place Beyond The Pines is an ambitious stylistic film which rejuvenates cinematic story telling while still keeping its themes of family and fate emotionally impactful.
June 21, 2016
Smart, thought-provoking and powerfully acted.
June 21, 2016
"The Place Beyond the Pines" lays three acts side by side, accomplishing an icy, rough around the edges drama with great performances and and an always present overlaying theme.
June 21, 2016
The first hour of this film I really liked, Ryan Gosling did a great job, and the plot was fast and still engaging. However after his characters departure, the movie still kept on going, and it slowed to a crawl. There were still good scenes in the last hour and a half, and it was still well acted, I just felt like this film suffered a lot in scenes without Gosling. There are better things to watch than Place Beyond the Pines, but it is still enjoyable enough to keep you entertained.
June 16, 2016
A whole lot of story for a single film. It makes you feel everything you should!
May 31, 2016
The scope of the film can get lost in muddled story and it's stylistically inconsistent which is a little distracting, however, the majority of it is a beautifully told story. By the time you're on the third act, you really feel like Ryan Gosling's story was a lifetime ago and I think Derek Cianfrance has made original material here, killing characters off in order to tell a very long, linear legacy story is unique and his style is also very authentic and fun to watch. And all the performances are amazing.
½ May 17, 2016
It's a long ride, but the film reaches its destination on dealing with fathers, sons, and consequences. Great acting, cinematography, and soundtrack. A bit too long on getting the point across, but a little less depressing than the director's "Blue Valentine". Rating: 7 / 10
May 11, 2016
Watchable but not special in my view
May 8, 2016
The Place Beyond the Pines stars Ryan Gosling, Bradley Cooper, Eva Mendes, Ray Liotta, Ben Mendelssohn, and Dane Dehaan and is written and directed by Derek Cianfrance. I refuse to give major plot details away but I will say it has to do with bank robberies, father and son relationships, doing the right thing, and corruption. and I kinda loved this movie. it's a slow burn for sure, in the style of Cianfrance, but it is never boring. the acting by Gosling and company is perfect. every note is in tune and every mark is hit in the bullseye. flawless performances around. the writing is also very good as many things are learned about characters in clever and nontraditional ways. but the directing is really masterful. very very good camera work and some of it is unlike anything I had ever seen before. Where this movie falters is in the way it is structured. although it is unique and wholly original, which I do appreciate and admire, it feels slightly pretentious and full of itself in a small portion during the middle of the film. but once the story begins to pick back up it becomes fantastic once again. never predictable and always engaging, The Place Beyond the Pines is a fantastic film that really requires multiple viewings to grasp everything 100%. I cannot wait to see it again.

8.6/10
May 8, 2016
Haunting...this movie stays with you for a long time afterwards.
May 7, 2016
14 shores super glued together. Ok, maybe not 14, but bland stories none the less. Ryan Gosling got out with his standard less then 100 lines of dialog. Nothing really holding this movie together. Father is a bank robber, Cop shoots father, cop locks up bad cops, cop son == bad cops, band robber son become bad kid.
April 27, 2016
Well acted. Great storyline. Very different style of shooting / great camerawork.
April 25, 2016
It's like three completely different stories connect and make one great movie.
April 12, 2016
An absolute masterpiece. Derek has woven together a seamless three act structure with themes of family and legacy. Masterfully shot by Sean Bobbitt with exceptional performances particularly from Ben Mendelsohn.
April 12, 2016
Ballsy, ambitious, thought-provoking and emotive; The Place Beyond The Pines is a fine watch that is hindered at times with its need for size and scale but is ultimately excellent because of that ambition and striking verisimilitude. Special mention should go to the soundtrack; the backdrop of Snow Angel, performed by Mike Patton, is simply stunning.
April 1, 2016
Enjoyed the way the film flowed through the characters building them up and also destroying them. Some parts were predictable, but not entirely...Solid ending for a complicated mess.
March 26, 2016
A brilliant and gripping way to tell the story of two fathers and two sons tied to each other through the most unpleasant of circumstances.
March 13, 2016
Multi-story movie. You think the plot revolves around Ryan Gosling's troubled life and his relationship with Eva Mendes and their son... and then everything changes. So you think the new part is about Bradley Cooper and his struggle against corrupted police officers... and then everything changes again! The idea is nice, but the overall feeling of the movie is nothing that shocks you or leave any remark in your memory. In the end it's just a nice movie, that's all.
Page 1 of 209