Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 26, 2018
Sound too bleak? For some, perhaps. But in McDonagh's careful hands, it's a Cirque du Soleil-like tightrope walk, gracefully balancing the harrowing with the humorous.
January 12, 2018
Three Billboards is great.
January 12, 2018
Watching it is like having your funny bone struck repeatedly, expertly and very much too hard by a karate super-black-belt capable of bringing a rhino to its knees with a single punch behind the ear.
January 9, 2018
Give all the awards to McDormand, and then invent a bunch of new ones for her too.
December 4, 2017
But while that is a rage that's exhilarating to witness, it's a rage that's not available to everyone. Just as not everyone in Ebbing can claim the protection of being considering "good," we still don't live in a world where everyone gets to be angry.
November 30, 2017
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri tells the story of a woman emulating God's vengeance when she might profit more by emulating his forgiveness, especially toward herself.
November 25, 2017
McDonagh works way too hard to inject nearly every scene with his patented solution of acid wit and dark-roast comedy... It's jarringly effective until it starts to feel like shtick, at which point it works only as a numbing agent.
November 23, 2017
Despite McDonagh's cinematic hyperbole, it's the strength of the performances from McDormand, Harrelson and Rockwell that keeps "Three Billboards" sturdily anchored in a compellingly rendered reality.
November 22, 2017
Takes the viewer on a dizzying ride through dark comedy, wrenching tragedy, shocking moments, karmic twists, and redemption.
November 22, 2017
"Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" is entertaining in a way that's practically unheard of these days.
November 21, 2017
In fact, we think we know Mildred as a classic American movie type - a deeply wronged person on a relentless quest for justice. Because she is righteous, and because she is Frances McDormand, we are reflexively with her in this.
November 21, 2017
A barn burner, a bracing shot of whiskey downed while spoiling for a fight, a cathartic wail against the zeitgeist of rape culture and state brutality. It's a rallying cry, a right hook to the jaw, and wow, does it ever hurt so good.
November 19, 2017
Even for fans of McDonagh-and I am certainly one-Three Billboards is a revelation, and among the very best films of 2017.
Top Critic
November 17, 2017
One of the most invigorating black comedies Hollywood's come up with in years.
November 17, 2017
"Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" is a powder keg of rage and raw emotion that deftly dances on the line between dark comedy and wrenching drama.
November 16, 2017
McDonagh knows how to get good characters into a story but not always how to get them out of it. This time he's considerably more focused, letting McDormand's ferocious mother-bear of a performance, her best since Fargo, drive the narrative.
November 16, 2017
This is the best movie I've seen this year.
November 16, 2017
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a character study, even though the parts never stop moving -- it's wildly violent, brilliantly funny and deeply moving. And so smart.
November 16, 2017
"Three Billboards" raises the stakes as it goes.
Top Critic
November 16, 2017
I didn't like Three Billboards, but I respect McDonagh for taking his lewd, vulgar screwballs in directions without a compass and leaving viewers wondering where in the world the film will go next.
Page 1 of 3