Gincho wataridori (Wandering Ginza Butterfly) (Wandering Silver Butterfly) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gincho wataridori (Wandering Ginza Butterfly) (Wandering Silver Butterfly) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ June 27, 2013
"Wandering Ginza Butterfly" is a stylish and unique Japanese crime film. Meiko Kaji gives a more human performance than in the "Lady Snowblood" or "Scorpion" series, often smiling and laughing, along with being enraged. The movie doesn't really have a plot, just a few subplots and minor story lines, no overarching conflict to hold it all together. The tone is also inconsistent. I'm not sure whether the producers wanted to make a straight crime drama, or more of an exploitation film.
½ March 21, 2011
Another great movie starring the fantastic Meiko Kaji. In this one Kaji is Nami who's released from jail after murdering a Yakuza boss and starts a job as a hostess in a club in Ginza. It's not too long, however, that the Owada clan start making moves on the hostess club by squeezing some pressure on the female owner to sell up. One thing leads to another and the result is one of Nami's male friends being gunned down in cold blood. With her fury at boiling point, Nami and the murdered man's brother head to the Owada clan's hideout to unleash hell on them!

Don't expect anything along the lines of the Scorpio or Lady Snowblood movies in this one. There's a slow steady build-up that something is about to kick-off but the violence is kept to a minimum until the climax. It doesn't matter to me, I just enjoy seeing Meiko Kaji kick some ass (something she does very well I might add!). I expect those expecting tons of blood being sprayed from the onset will become bored quickly. Kaji as always delivers a magnificent performance. For fans of Meiko Kaji like myself, this is brilliant and worth checking out.
½ March 21, 2011
Another great movie starring the fantastic Meiko Kaji. In this one Kaji is Nami who's released from jail after murdering a Yakuza boss and starts a job as a hostess in a club in Ginza. It's not too long, however, that the Owada clan start making moves on the hostess club by squeezing some pressure on the female owner to sell up. One thing leads to another and the result is one of Nami's male friends being gunned down in cold blood. With her fury at boiling point, Nami and the murdered man's brother head to the Owada clan's hideout to unleash hell on them!

Don't expect anything along the lines of the Scorpio or Lady Snowblood movies in this one. There's a slow steady build-up that something is about to kick-off but the violence is kept to a minimum until the climax. It doesn't matter to me, I just enjoy seeing Meiko Kaji kick some ass (something she does very well I might add!). I expect those expecting tons of blood being sprayed from the onset will become bored quickly. Kaji as always delivers a magnificent performance. For fans of Meiko Kaji like myself, this is brilliant and worth checking out.
February 11, 2011
Since watching the Sasori series, I have watched every Meiko Kaji film I can find and this is the weakest one yet, not all that bad though.
August 2, 2010
C'est de loin le moins bon des film avec Meiko Kaji que j'ai pu voir, et c'était d'autant plus flagrant que le sujet se rapproche beaucoup trop d'un film que j'ai vu très récemment "Delinquent Girl Boss : Blossoming Night Dreams". Alors du coup j'ai même pas besoin de résumer ce film puisque je l'ai pratiquement déjà fait ! En tout cas, j'aurais mis beaucoup moins s'il n'y avait pas Meiko Kaji qui justifie presque la vision de ce film mineur à elle toute seule, et aussi pour cette très bonne séquence de duel au billard qui donne l'occasion de voir de jolis coups et c'est l'une des rares séquences où on accroche vraiment au film ! A part ça, même formule, fille sortie de prison, embauchée dans un club qui doit de l'argent à des yakuza etc etc, même si ici, le ton est bien plus sérieux et un p'tit peu plus violent ! Ca reste quand même un film moyen dont les quelques scènes plutôt intéressante le sort de justesse de la médiocrité !!!
DragonEyeMorrison
Super Reviewer
June 4, 2009
Ahh yes, now this should put me back in a better mood.
May 29, 2009
The always lovely Meiko Kaji plays ex-con Nami ( not the same one from Scorpion). She's a cool chick, who's really good at pool and gets herself a hostessing job at local club in Ginza aftering making friends with the owner. Soon, however, she finds out that the owner is being forced to sell the club to a mob boss exploiting her debt. Nami won't stand for this which ultimately leads us to the beautifully bloody conclusion.

Overall this film isn't nearly as good as some of Kaji's other work like the Scorpion films and Lady Snowblood, but it's still pretty damn entertaining and the end is quite satisfying indeed.
½ October 31, 2007
Not a bad film. Meiko Kaji plays her role well, even if it is very dated now.
Page 1 of 1