Arrow: Season 3 Episode 9 Reviews

Chancellor Agard
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
August 7, 2018

"The Climb" delivered one of the show's best fight scenes as well a lot of other great character moments. There was something in this episode for everyone to love.

Alasdair Wilkins
AV Club
Top Critic
August 2, 2018

I'd call it the ultimate cliffhanger, but I believe cliff-dropper would be the more accurate term.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kyle Anderson
Nerdist
August 8, 2018

The truth about a lot of things came to the surface and I don't think anybody saw that ending coming the way it did. But, like any good climb, we have to start at the bottom to work our way to the top.

Jesse Schedeen
IGN Movies
August 8, 2018

Arrow never disappoints when it comes to finales (mid-season or otherwise). This episode offered a steady stream of tension and emotional drama as Ollie learned the truth about his sister and chose to confront his own death.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.6/10
Esther Inglis-Arkell
io9.com
August 7, 2018

On this week's episode of Arrow a number of characters did complete about-faces, and it was fantastic.

Morgan Jeffery
Digital Spy
August 7, 2018

Either way, 'The Climb' spectacularly shifts focus back onto Oliver's sister - she's the episode's driving force and she's everything that our hero is fighting for.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
August 7, 2018

That Oliver/Ra's fight -- and the literal cliffhanger that followed? That was pretty sweet, and a good note to go into the break on.

Matt Webb Mitovich
TV Line
August 6, 2018

What followed was a compelling, twisty melange of sleuthing, discovery, uncanny fan speculation and... well, those final few minutes.

Mike Cecchini
Den of Geek
August 6, 2018

I honestly can't believe the maturity of Arrow and it's little brother show, The Flash.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
August 6, 2018

I'm anxious to hear how all of the Malcolm Merlyn fans defend his actions. He has a soul so black there is no way to redeem him.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dave Trumbore
Collider
August 4, 2018

While the former ended with at least a brief flare of hope for a better tomorrow, the latter ended on a literal cliffhanger. And I don't know if I've seen a braver (or bolder) conclusion to an episode than this one tonight.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Marc Buxton
CBR
August 3, 2018

This Ra's is every inch the megalomaniacal assassin comic fans enjoyed for so long.

Nick Setchfield
SFX Magazine
August 3, 2018

Blimey. What an ending.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Mark Rozeman
Paste Magazine
August 3, 2018

There's no question that the show has benefited from Laurel's reduced role for the past two episodes. This time around, however, the subplot gets some good mileage out of Dinah's presence.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10