Doctor Who: Season 11 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Doctor Who: Season 11 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Debbie Lawrie
Film Inquiry
April 1, 2019

Leaving us with loose ends in this way, the episode either has a bad ending as a result of lazy writing, or could have deeper implications, perhaps lacking closure in the same way we lack a resolution for real damage to our ecosystem.

David Hogan
hoganreviews.co.uk
January 27, 2019

Rosa wasn't subtle, but it was sometimes beautifully told. This was so heavy-handed that it came off as preachy, and didn't even give us anything good to go along with it...

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ciaran Kerr
Film Bunker
January 14, 2019

'Arachnids in the UK' was an average episode of Doctor Who.However, the final moments of this episode were incredibly sweet, and we are now fully set up in regards to the dynamics of the show from this point on.

Emily Asher-Perrin
Tor.com
January 8, 2019

For the first time since the Davies era of Who, the companions' families are getting some extra attention.

J.R. Southall
Starburst
November 26, 2018

Jodie Whittaker's quite a joy to watch too, and not because she's nailing being the Doctor yet. She's still getting there, and there's neither a reason to doubt that she will nor any question that she's right for the part.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Kaitlin Thomas
TV Guide
November 5, 2018

There's still so much excitement surrounding Doctor Who this season, and I've enjoyed so much of what Whittaker has brought to the role of the Doctor. Is it simply too much to ask that her co-stars be given the same opportunities to shine?

Hannah Sole
Pajiba
October 30, 2018

Seriously, Doctor Who, this one was just plain mean. Mean, I tell you! Can't we have some genocidal aliens again?

James Whitbrook
io9.com
October 30, 2018

Returning to the greatest hits of the classic show's past in order to re-cement Doctor Who as a more grounded sci-fi saga. Well, as grounded as giant spiders hiding out in toxic-sludge coal mines can be.

Carol Midgley
Times (UK)
Top Critic
October 29, 2018

This entire episode was camply amusing, Jodie Whittaker getting better all the time. I'm still waiting to be scared, though.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Courtney Enlow
Syfy Wire
October 29, 2018

Apart from so many spiders, this episode gave us a lot of wonderful things. Finally, FINALLY, we get a Yaz episode.

Christopher Stevens
Daily Mail (UK)
October 29, 2018

The series returned to its roots too with some educational asides.

Matt Brennan
Paste Magazine
October 29, 2018

Maybe the best thing I can say about Doctor Who so far is that I can't imagine the Doctor traveling alone. I think that means it's working its magic.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Lacy Baugher
Culturess
October 29, 2018

A generally creepy but largely disappointing episode about giant spiders on the loose in Sheffield.

Riley Silverman
Nerdist
October 29, 2018

With Halloween around the corner, it's the perfect time for this new Who crew to do their best attempt to scare us. And what better way than bringing us a story all about one of the most utterly terrifying things in the world: family.

Caroline Siede
AV Club
Top Critic
October 29, 2018

A scary, funny, unexpectedly moving episode that solidifies our thrown-together TARDIS crew into an official TARDIS Team.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Ed Power
Independent (UK)
October 29, 2018

A rip-roaring bug hunt sure to induce a cold sweat in anyone with a creepy crawly phobia.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Lauren Busser
Tell-Tale TV
October 29, 2018

When all is said and done, it feels like there isn't an ending to this episode. It never reaches a strong climax and is just left to flounder as everyone makes their way back to the Tardis.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.8/5
Hoai-Tran Bui
Slashfilm
October 29, 2018

"Arachnids in the U.K." sees the Doctor and her companions return to Earth in an episode that recalls the classic show and gives us a creepy crawler that - in true Doctor Who fashion - made me feel more emotions than just fear.

Mandi Bierly
TV Line
October 29, 2018

The only decent thing Robertson did the entire episode was immediately tell the Doctor about his arachnid encounter when she flashed her psychic paper as an alleged crisis investigator.

Diana Keng
TV Fanatic
October 29, 2018

It's a lovely progression of letting go that is brilliant in its simplicity.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2