The Law of Non-Contradiction



Critic Consensus: "The Law of Non-Contradiction" impressively navigates a single storyline and a drastic change in location and tone, with compellingly unconventional results.

Episode Info

Gloria revisits her stepfather's past to try and find some answers.


Carrie Coon
as Gloria Burgle
David Thewlis
as V.M. Vargas
Ewan McGregor
as Emmit Stussy; Ray Stussy
Jim Gaffigan
as Donny Mashman
Mark Forward
as Donny Mashman
Scoot McNairy
as Maurice LeFay
Shea Whigham
as Moe Dammick
Karan Soni
as Dr. Homer Gilruth
Fred Melamed
as Howard Zimmerman
Thomas Mann
as Thaddeus Mobley
Hamish Linklater
as Larue Dollars
Olivia Sandoval
as Winnie Lopez
Goran Bogdan
as Yuri Gurka
Graham Verchere
as Nathan Burgle
Andy Yu
as Meemo
Mary McDonnell
as Ruby Goldfarb
Ray Wise
as Paul Marrane
Show More Cast

The Law of Non-Contradiction Videos

The Law of Non-Contradiction Photos

Critic Reviews for The Law of Non-Contradiction

We stuck with it for an entire hour because it is a story, a "true" one, and Fargo is playing with the idea that there is no such thing as an unimportant story, only the moments between collisions when we're not truly living.

May 5, 2017 | Full Review…

Just when you thought Fargo was playing it safe in Season 3, in comes a big swing. Episode 3 had a lot of originality to it, breaking the pattern set by Seasons 1 and 2 while elevating one character to telling heights.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: A- | Full Review…

This is easily the most distinctly singular episode from any of its three seasons so far, entirely ditching the Stussys' shenanigans for a one-off bottle episode following Gloria's investigation of her step-father's death.

Aug 30, 2018 | Full Review…

Carrie Coon plus a severe change of location plus animated interludes about a wandering robot plus flashbacks to a Hollywood con gone wrong made for one of the most unconventional and rewarding Fargo episodes to date.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: 9.5/10 | Full Review…

"The Law of Non-Contradiction" is the first episode of the season that brings its own unique hook to the story.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: 8.6/10 | Full Review…

This week's episode of Fargo, titled "The Law of Non-Contradiction" is brilliant - no two ways about it.

May 5, 2017 | Full Review…

All of the pieces are here for a season of Fargo, but there's no heart. The show still looks like our friend, but there's no life in its eyes.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: C | Full Review…

This is maybe my favorite episode of the show to date.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: A | Full Review…
Top Critic

It also takes impressive swagger for the show to spend an entire episode chasing a red herring, especially so early in the season... But the gamble pays off tremendously.

May 5, 2017 | Full Review…

Given what Noah Hawley crafted in the first two seasons, one has to believe that the flashback-heavy "Law of Non-Contradiction" will play into the season thematically, but it feels almost purposefully diversionary when it comes to plot.

May 5, 2017 | Rating: 4/5 | Full Review…

News & Interviews for The Law of Non-Contradiction