Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 7 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 11, 2019

A Man Without Honor was another excellent episode, a dialogue-heavy series of scenes that once again showed why this show is one of the best on television when it comes to drama and characters that you will inevitably love.

Carol Pinchefsky
Syfy Wire
March 21, 2019

Despite what I feel was a certain amount of padding, there was a lot to like about this episode.

Amy Ratcliffe
The Mary Sue
March 21, 2019

Overall, I enjoyed the episode as long as I don't obsess over the book too much. It's a wonderful TV series, but it's wavering a teensy bit on the adaptation.

Ed Cumming
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 21, 2019

[It] was terrific: intelligent, moving, neatly plotted.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 21, 2019

Nearly every storyline in "A Man Without Honor"-maybe the season's most thrilling and horrifying Game of Thrones episode yet-involved prisoners or captives and their imprisoners.

Jesse Carp
CinemaBlend
March 21, 2019

A Man Without Honor felt much more organic with all its seeds long planted and set a new standard for excellence in the second season and entire series.

Chris Swanson
What Culture
March 21, 2019

Even though this episode lacked action and excitement in certain ways, it is, thus far, my favorite episode of the series. Wonderful scenes with wonderful actors doing what they do best.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Rowan Kaiser
indieWire
Top Critic
March 21, 2019

I would not have expected to say that arguably the show's best episode would have only one major event combined with a series of dialogues.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 21, 2019

The show goes on to illustrate how, in their own unique way, the title of 'A Man Without Honor' can and does apply to most men in the series.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 21, 2019

Characters who were once at the center (Ned, Jaime) have been moved aside, while other characters who were once on the margins (Theon, Stannis) are now driving much of the action.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 21, 2019

Game of Thrones is a show that relies heavily on its writing and actors. This week, penned by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, was beautifully sharp on the dialogue front.

Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
March 20, 2019

Plotting was put on the back burner but for real effect this week, the character's loyalties are ever changing and it is beginning to get serious.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 11, 2018

A fairly transitional episode for Game of Thrones, obviously meant to gear us up for the actual coming battles.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

Even with this focus on the family, "A Man Without Honor" was a strange and digressive episode of Game of Thrones. It featured as many wonderful character... But the pacing felt stiff and uncomfortable.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

Whoa. Did Theon Greyjoy really just kill Bran and Rickon Stark?! Moreover: Why is this show so insanely cruel to its only honorable family?

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

I enjoy these scenes between Arya and Papa L. -- probably not least for frisson of fear that runs through them.

Tobias J. McGuffin
TV Equals
March 23, 2016

This was one of those episodes the book adherents will probably love. I certainly did. I will be curious to see how much the general audience enjoyed it.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

We're treated to another excellent scene between Tywin and Arya. All those who mourn changes from George R.R. Martin's novels, I can't imagine there's many of you who don't love this pairing.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode, quite possibly because Littlefinger didn't randomly pop up to dispense honeyed advice at any point. I still miss Varys, however. Even a little scene of him whispering cryptically would bring me some cheer.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

Power and import change rapidly in this world, and on this show, and while that can be exciting to watch... it also means that more and more people will wind up in a position other than the one they're best-suited to fill.

Page 1 of 2