Hill Street Blues (1981 - 1987)

Hill Street Blues

Avg Tomatometer


Avg Audience Score

Series Info

Steven Bochco's landmark ensemble crime drama was an often electrifying mix of realism and humor within continuing storylines (in an unnamed big city), paving the way for gritty successors like `NYPD Blue' and `Homicide: Life on the Street.' `Hill Street Blues' copped more than two dozen Emmys, eight in its rookie season. With its gripping stories and complex characters, along with Mike Post's stirring theme music, this was television drama of a high order.

Hill Street Blues Photos


Critics Consensus: No consensus yet.

1986, NBC, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1985, NBC, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1984, NBC, 23 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1983, NBC, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1982, NBC, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1981, NBC, 18 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1981, NBC, 17 episodes


Daniel J. Travanti
as Capt. Frank Furillo
Michael Conrad
as Sgt. Phil Esterhaus
Bruce Weitz
as Det. Mick Belker
Mike Warren
as Officer Bobby Hill
Michael Warren
as Off. Bobby Hill
Veronica Hamel
as Joyce Davenport
Charles Haid
as Off. Andy Renko
René Enríquez
as Lt. Ray Calletano
Kiel Martin
as Det. Johnny `J.D.' LaRue
James B. Sikking
as Lt. Howard Hunter
Joe Spano
as Sgt./Lt. Henry Goldblume
Taurean Blacque
as Det. Neal Washington
Betty Thomas
as Off./Sgt. Lucy Bates
Ed Marinaro
as Off. Joe Coffey
Barbara Bosson
as Fay Furillo
Barbara Babcock
as Grace Gardner
Robert Hirschfeld
as Off. Leo Schnitz
Jon Cypher
as Chief Fletcher Daniels
George Wyner
as ADA Irwin Bernstein
Lisa Sutton
as Off. Robin Tataglia
Ken Olin
as Det. Harry Garibaldi
Mimi Kuzyk
as Det. Patsy Mayo
Robert Prosky
as Sgt. Stan Jablonski
Debi Richter
as Daryl Ann Renko
Dennis Franz
as Det. Sal Benedetto/Lt. Norman Buntz
Peter Jurasik
as Sid Thurston
Robert Clohessy
as Off. Pat Flaherty
Megan Gallagher
as Off. Tina Russo
J.A. Preston
as Mayor Ozzie Cleveland
Trinidad Silva
as Jesus Martinez
Jeffrey Tambor
as Judge Watchel
Dan Hedaya
as Macafee
Van Nessa Clarke
as Shirret Anders
Terry Kiser
as Vic Hitler
Dolph Sweet
as Emil Schneider
Jennifer Tilly
as Gina Sgrignoli
Guy Boyd
as Shields
Anne Curry
as Dot Walker
Gerry Black
as Alf Chesley
Keith Amos
as Williams
Gela Jacobson
as Debbie Kaplan
Kathleen Lloyd
as Nurse Wolfowitz
Jeff Seymour
as Santini
Elayne Heilveil
as Christina Beck
Bruce Kirby
as Donleavy
Robert Sampson
as Hal Massey
Myrna White
as Lynn Croydon
Dian Gallup
as Babette
Allan Kolman
as Tcherchenko
Sandy Ward
as Steger
Jerome Thor
as Delgado
Forest Whitaker
as Floyd Green
Jeff Doucette
as Chick Turner
Al Ruscio
as John Petruzzi
Penny Santon
as Anna Furillo
James Keane
as Sanders
Richard Bull
as Mr. Furillo
Phill Lewis
as Parker Jones
Dwight Schultz
as Carmichael
Peter Donat
as Schuster
Joey Aresco
as Donatelli
David Wohl
as Robin Mars
Gracie Harrison
as Lori Tuttle
Beverly Todd
as Mrs. Milton
Nathan Cook
as Virgil Brooks
Jake Dengel
as Max Emily
Walter Bobbie
as Councilman Wade
Jack Rader
as Kampstein
Juney Smith
as Celestine
Ketty Lester
as Mrs. Tatum
Bernie White
as Carmelo
George Dickerson
as Commander Swanson
Ron Parady
as Asst. Police Chief Mahoney
Ron Feinberg
as Kermit Trench
Art Evans
as William Teacher
Kene Holliday
as Vernon Lee
Gary Miller
as Ballantine
Jorge Gil
as Rivera
Francine Lembi
as Cheryl Bradford
Greg Mullavey
as McDonague
Mark Arnott
as Kidnapper
Lou Joffred
as Dicostanzo
Leo Rossi
as Genaro
Show More Cast

Series Details

TV Network: NBC
Premiere Date: Jan 15, 1981
Genre: Drama
Executive Producers: Steven Bochco, Michael Kozoll
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews