Marry Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 15, 2014
It's damn hard to recommend this show either now or in the coming weeks.
October 15, 2014
This show is meant to be endearing, but it's often excruciating.
October 15, 2014
There's fine-tuning to be done here, but Marry Me has the potential to fill the Happy Endings-sized hole in all of our hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 15, 2014
Overall, the joke rate was impressively Happy Endings-paced, which means you don't dwell too long on the clunkers before a good one comes around.
October 15, 2014
Marry Me is much more focused on its problematic core couple, but it's got a deep bench of supporting talent.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 14, 2014
Unlike many romantic comedies, Marry Me leaves you with two main characters who could carry stories that do not revolve around the progress of their relationship, which gives it room to grow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 14, 2014
At its best the show's language is inventively and diversely funny, drawing laughs in two or three or four different ways within the space of seconds.
Top Critic
October 14, 2014
I tend to gravitate toward it because it has both good jokes and lots of jokes, because I love the cast, and because I've followed Caspe into Weirdsville before and never, ever been sorry.
October 14, 2014
There's no mystery that Annie and Jake are meant to be with each other. They're going to get married. The series will just need to draw that inevitability out as long as it can with a whole lot of, well, comedy.
October 14, 2014
I may not be fully ready to commit to Marry Me, but this is definitely promise ring material.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 14, 2014
Wilson needs to dial back the screeching hysteria to give the audience a chance to believe that a catch like Jake would keep trying so hard.
October 14, 2014
I'm looking for something different in a sitcom. What do I mean by that? Not as predictable. Not as forced. Not acting like you're the epitome of feather-light charm when everything you do makes me want to trigger a silent alarm.
October 14, 2014
One big danger for any sitcom is forcing its premise. When the creators need to arrange for a ridiculous situation to set up the subsequent comedy and story line, the odds of survival plunge dramatically.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
October 14, 2014
Marry Me is basically just a rom-com that takes the basic conventions of that threadworn genre and turns them inside out. That's been done before, certainly, but this still feels like something original has been added to the mix.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 14, 2014
Fortunately, the jokes are usually good, and the ensemble work is sharp.
October 14, 2014
Unfortunately, the show seems to be slightly less than a sum of its parts.
October 14, 2014
Such easy chemistry early on is a positive sign for the show's future, as is the approach of the supporting cast, which gamely attacks the small amount of material it's given.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 13, 2014
Despite some funny bits and solid supporting players, the writing works a bit too hard at times, like the assertion that the couple is so joined they're like "Paula Deen and the N word."
October 13, 2014
Episode 1 gets off to a terrifically inventive start, with Wilson and Marino teeing things up before further hitting their grooves apart from one another.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 10, 2014
In some ways, the show is a throwback to the days of wacky female sitcom stars with a lot of physical humor. What's lacking is charm and lovability.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 2