Parks and Recreation: A Parks and Recreation Special Reviews

May 5, 2020
A warm reunion with its characters to raise spirits in difficult times. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 4, 2020
An entertaining, sharply written episode about our times.
May 1, 2020
A fresh episode set during the age of social distancing provides welcome updates on Leslie, Ron and many, many other old friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 1, 2020
The cast of "Parks and Rec" reunited for a coronavirus charity special. It was so good, and an undertaking that only this show could have pulled off. We pray no one else tries.
May 1, 2020
Nine times out of 10 -- really, 99 out of 100 -- TV revivals are a bad idea even under optimal production conditions. ... This was an exception to the rule
May 1, 2020
No one knows how to take lemons and make lemonade like Leslie Knope, and that's definitely what A Parks and Recreation Special feels like -- an unexpected silver lining to a dark cloud. Was it necessary? No. Was it enjoyable? Heck yeah.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
May 1, 2020
Parks and Recreation returned to make us smile, and the special definitely hit us in the heart. We salute you, Leslie Knope, and your extended friend family, and we thank you for your help in this troubling situation.
May 1, 2020
Parks and Rec delivered to its fans what the show is famous for: Hope, sweetness, enthusiasm, and light comedy.
May 1, 2020
The entire event was a love letter to the series, and its closing moments were heartfelt enough to get any Parks and Rec fan in their feelings.
May 1, 2020
Watching the reunion special, I found I could still enjoy its bighearted comedy, albeit less as optimistic realism and more as utopian science fiction.
May 1, 2020
Parks and Recreation managed to raft a reunion special that, while satisfying on a base level, also speaks directly to the challenges we're facing today.
May 1, 2020
There are no new resolutions needed. Instead, It's meant to exemplify the very core of Leslie and the show itself: doing good.
May 1, 2020
Rather than pure escapism or cringe-worthy seriousness, the Parks and Rec writers created something that feels urgent without being self-important, and sweet without being saccharine.
May 1, 2020
It was impossible to dislike - even if it was inescapably melancholy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 1, 2020
Groundbreaking or not, we need that warmth and that hope now more than ever and, with a characteristically good cause, "A Parks and Recreation Special" more than delivered.
May 1, 2020
"A Parks and Recreation Special" doesn't need my charitable pass because it's a delight. Given the technical limitations and difficult circumstances, the Parks team is able to create something that feels like a satisfying reunion.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 1, 2020
It was everything fans of the sweet, hopeful and hilarious series could have hoped for in this time of great need.
May 1, 2020
Well, I cried, of course. But it was the nice kind of crying. Maybe I even needed it. And hey, sometimes that's all you can ask for from a visit with old friends.
May 1, 2020
It's fun. I loved it. Spending 30 minutes visiting these fake characters who I haven't seen in five years ranked right up there with many of my Zoom calls to friends and family who I haven't seen in what feels like five years.
May 1, 2020
Against all odds, though, A Parks and Recreation Special is a genuine return from one of the best TV series ever made. In a strange way, the sitcom's faux-documentary structure lends itself well to the videoconferencing conceit.