Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 13 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 13 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Huw Saunders
Cultured Vultures
October 7, 2019

The show's decisively got its hook for the next episode.

Swapna Krishna
Syfy Wire
July 9, 2018

I'm ready to see what happens, and yet I am in no way prepared to say goodbye to this show for months (possibly a year) until the second season.

Katharine Trendacosta
io9.com
May 11, 2018

This episode moves at a nice clip, with some great fights and acting. It's whenever anyone starts pontificating, reminding us that a lot of what's happening doesn't match up to the rest of the season, that it falls apart.

Monique Jones
Slashfilm
March 14, 2018

Isaacs is such a brilliant actor and it was such a treat to see him make Lorca unlikable in the truly, well, likable Isaacs fashion.

Andrew Lowry
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
January 30, 2018

Much of this episode is straight-up action, with two surprisingly well-choreographed battles between Lorca and Georgiou's forces - indeed, good fights have become an unlikely signature of STD.

Andrew Todd
Birth.Movies.Death.
January 30, 2018

With two episodes remaining in Discovery's first season, the show's various plot threads are starting to wrap up or converge.

Lauren O'Callaghan
SFX Magazine
January 29, 2018

While far too much happens in this show, everything which takes place is still fantastic and the series continues to improve week-on-week.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mick Joest
CinemaBlend
January 29, 2018

Star Trek: Discovery has surprisingly killed off several major characters in its still-young run, but none were more surprising than last night's big death.

Kaila Hale-Stern
The Mary Sue
January 29, 2018

I'm not sure how they pull it off, but Discovery somehow manages to simultaneously be both mind-numbingly predictable and shockingly out-of-left-field.

Diana Keng
TV Fanatic
January 29, 2018

So, although it was exciting and somewhat satisfying, this script tapped Game of Thrones, Star Wars...and kind of forgets to be Star Trek.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sopan Deb
New York Times
Top Critic
January 29, 2018

"Discovery" has great action. But in both, the characters make such astoundingly odd decisions that it makes it difficult to get invested in the action. The plots exist simply as transportation vehicles.

Mallory Ortberg
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
January 29, 2018

The Lorca stuff is a mess from start to finish, but there's still plenty to enjoy here.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Darren Franich
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
January 28, 2018

If you're going to be the most violent Star Trek show ever, you might as well be a fun violent Star Trek show.

Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
January 28, 2018

You would be forgiven for thinking that tonight's episode of Star Trek: Discovery was the season finale. It had all the marking of a season-ender: high stakes, much-anticipated showdowns, the tying up of many loose ends, and tons of action.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Liz Shannon Miller
indieWire
Top Critic
January 28, 2018

Could we be looking at parallel universes and time travel in the first season of Discovery? If we weren't having such fun, we'd be getting whiplash.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
January 28, 2018

This is a well-directed episode. I keep praising the show's pacing because it's one of the few things I feel like I can praise, but even while the overall narrative construction and sense of coherent world aren't great, the pacing here is good.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Scott Collura
IGN Movies
January 28, 2018

Everything seems to be coming together for Star Trek: Discovery plot-wise as we head into the final two episodes of the season.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.9/10
George M. Thomas
Akron Beacon Journal
January 28, 2018

For those taking notes, the latest episode of Star Trek: Discovery and its title showcased serious tributes to its predecessors. Not just one, but several.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 1