Strike Back: Project Dawn Reviews

March 1, 2019
The action is breathless, fast and glossy, with more than a nod to Die Hard. Amanda Mealing is the buttoned-up Section 20 boss, with Eva Birthistle the tech expert. Who'll succumb to Scott's rugged charms first?
March 1, 2019
Strike Back struck me as gung-ho nonsense.
March 1, 2019
In almost every respect, a terrible piece of television drama. By turns predictable and far-fetched, it has the emotional nuance of a shoot 'em up computer game... And yet, I'm ashamed to say, an unknowable part of my brain sort of enjoyed it.
March 1, 2019
What I want to know is who kidnapped Jed Mercurio and where are the ruthless bastards keeping him?
March 1, 2019
It's still hard to forget that when we meet him, he's a crooked underground fighter in Kuala Lumpur. Which almost sounds like a parody of an old action movie when you say it out loud. The rest of this show is fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 1, 2019
In a TV landscape dominated by procedurals set in sterile rooms with banks of super-computers, it's good to see a show that heads out into the field, where people get their hands bloody.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 4, 2018
So fast-paced it makes 24 look sluggish, and with a brighter, livelier tone that embraces both multi-cultural inclusiveness and macho backslapping, the Sky/Cinemax, UK/US co-production Strike Back is first rate pulp TV.
December 4, 2018
It doesn't have the intelligence or complexity of an ambitious HBO drama, but it's clever enough and delivers plenty of well-executed action sequences with a gritty style.
August 30, 2013
The show is well-plotted, tightly paced and crisply edited.
August 12, 2011
It offers no obviously considered commentary on today's wars or geopolitical conditions. It's more a videogame, where war occurs because that's simply how things are.
August 12, 2011
Strip away the counterterrorism lingo and this is really just a mismatched buddy copshow.
August 12, 2011
Gratuitous elements aside, Strike Back is a decent enough cops 'n' terrorists drama.
August 12, 2011
If something has been missing from your TV screen since 24 went off the air, like an unapologetic, fist-pumping, nonstop action thriller, Strike Back needs to be your appointment television for the next 10 weeks.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 12, 2011
Fans of 24 still ask me how to fill that void. They want just enough intelligence-agency hooey to make the unbelievable seem somewhat real. Until Strike Back, I didn't have a good answer. Now I do.
August 12, 2011
There is nothing really new here, but that doesn't mean the series doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2011
Strike Back isn't brilliant television, but it's plenty entertaining, and by fitting the action of 24 with the grit of The Unit, it fills a .22 caliber hole in American television.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 12, 2011
Strike Back unfolds quickly and confidently with brilliantly choreographed fight sequences and the exotic locales. But nothing trumps the friendship of the two male leads.
August 12, 2011
Strike Back is a stylish, addictive action thriller that fills a definite void in the macho spy drama genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 12, 2011
Strike Back won't make anyone forget 24 or MI-5 or even The Unit, but it has its pleasures for the aficionado of guns and flesh in exotic locales.
August 12, 2011
Notwithstanding the show's lurches into unintended farce-there'lll be more than enough raw-nerve action, bullets to the head and near catastrophes to keep viewers happy to the end.