Stumptown: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 21, 2020
It doesn't revolutionise the trusty crime drama format but it's redeemed by engaging actors and a lot of spirit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 6, 2020
This is a very special show, that will quickly become one of your favourites, and you need to jump on the Stumptown train before it leaves town.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 5, 2019
Actress Colbie Smulders elevates this well-made procedural private eye drama.
December 5, 2019
The show carries an obscure vibe to it from its dark-colored aesthetics to its topics of mental health and life's woes, but still maintains enough wry and satirical humor to carry a balance within the show's tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 19, 2019
The supporting cast, which includes Jake Johnson and Michael Ealy, is also delightful. The characters genuinely like one another, and many times that makes for a more pleasurable watch than tense police dramas.
November 19, 2019
Stumptown is good, period, without the "for a network show" qualification. It's got a strong cast and fun storylines... It's smart and fast and formulaic in the right ways only so far.
October 7, 2019
Fun crime solving drama with a strong, flawed female lead.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2019
Stumptown is a series to be enjoyed. It's pure prime-time entertainment that has a shot at being the next beloved network procedural.
October 7, 2019
[Tantoo] Cardinal's work always elevates a project.
October 3, 2019
After the premiere, I'm confident I can live another week without Stumptown. I'm not worried about stumbling across any spoilers, and I definitely won't be losing sleep over this story.
September 30, 2019
If you're looking for something that has the unique blend of familiarity and innovation that a really good network pilot can offer, that balancing of the restrictions of the form with a show that wants to try something new, check out Stumptown.
September 30, 2019
[Cobie] Smulders is so charismatic as my all-time favorite dirtbag private investigator, I just genuinely enjoyed watching her story unfold on-screen.
September 26, 2019
I want so much for Stumptown to be the show I know it can be, but after "Dex Education" I'm prepared to be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 26, 2019
There's a lot to introduce in a pilot, so I will forgive the simple case at the center of the episode. Mostly, however, I love the noir-ish look and feel of Stumptown, set in the parts of Portland, Oregon that aren't regularly featured in Portlandia.
September 26, 2019
Creator Jason Richman gives us a salty and surprising joyride featuring a mighty main character who, to be honest, isn't the best at anything... And that makes her an enticing, exciting tour guide through Portland's crime-y, craft beer underbelly.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.3/10
September 26, 2019
In a show filled with stand out characters, the most surprising one was the music. Stumptown is going to become the Guardians of the Galaxy of the TV world if they keep us this incredible soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5.0
September 26, 2019
Cobie Smulders is amazing in Stumptown and with plenty of awesome action and a lead it's easy to root for, the series has all the makings of must-watch television providing it can up the ante moving forward.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 26, 2019
You can never really go wrong with Cobie Smulders.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2019
A more-than-sturdy foundation for a fresh spin on the network detective series.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 25, 2019
Stumptown is nothing revolutionary, but an appealing cast, including a fine lead performance from Smulders, plus some sharp comedy writing makes the show a light and fun hour.
Page 1 of 2