The Magicians: Season 5 Reviews

April 9, 2020
The Magicians is crass and corny; sometimes, it's horrific... Still, it successfully balances the silliness with these mortal stakes because it's filled with characters complex enough to keep viewers invested in the whole, quirky thing.
April 2, 2020
I'm so grateful to the cast, crew, and creators for giving us a world full of such fun, weirdness, and pain that ultimately showed us that there is a better world possible, if we take our pain and make it something more.
April 2, 2020
It wasn't all sunshine and rainbows and tough times lie ahead for our favorite characters, but it was without a doubt a satisfying conclusion to an amazing five-year series.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 27, 2020
Based on the evidence, the show is still charming enough, tongue-in-cheek enough, and the cast game enough that I'm willing to stick around to find out.
January 21, 2020
It feels at once like it's moving on from the loss of its central character, but also still feels like the same show I came to love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 17, 2020
I think the premiere is fabulous and does its job of setting the tone for the entire season while tying things together from last season.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 16, 2020
Despite its dour start, The Magicians is a joy to watch moment to moment, and the canvas feels wide open in a way it hasn't since the show's stellar third season.
January 16, 2020
Does what this show has consistently done well for years: introduce several different threads at once and somehow make it flow.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 13, 2020
If it can find a way to tie together these various mourning, screwed-up heroes, and have them keep battling their way toward the best versions of themselves, there's probably always going to be a good reason to watch The Magicians.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 13, 2020
Just like grief, Season 5 of The Magicians makes it feel like he could turn up at any moment-in golems, shrouds, and dreams. And, just like grief, it's painful when he doesn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10