The Walking Dead: Season 1, Episode 1 Reviews

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
May 28, 2015

I really liked Frank Darabont's pilot for The Walking Dead.

Dan Owen
What Culture
May 4, 2015

Hopefully The Walking Dead will surprise us... by embracing the one thing zombie movies rarely have enough time to do: develop multi-faceted characters you really care for, to feel genuine distress when some inevitably get bitten.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ciara Monya
TV Equals
May 1, 2015

The visuals were amazing, especially the desolate Atlanta and, of course, the zombies themselves. There was no hint of the show getting bogged down with CGI.

Simon Gallagher
What Culture
May 1, 2015

So, there we have it: a near perfect debut to one of the most hotly anticipated TV shows to ever grace trans-Atlantic screens.

Morgan Jeffery
Digital Spy
May 1, 2015

How does this show about the world being overrun by zombies manage to be what so many other similar offering from the horror sub-genre cannot? By keeping a fine-tuned human drama at the center of all the monster madness.

Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
May 1, 2015

The pilot opens doors for some more fascinating character drama and more hardcore zombie violence. It's very well written and Kirkman is very on-board with the project.

Leonard Pierce
AV Club
May 1, 2015

I'll tell you up front that the debut episode-written and directed by Darabont-definitely makes me think AMC, a network that's produced high-quality original shows almost without exception, is onto another winner.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Michelle Kung
Wall Street Journal
May 1, 2015

There's something about the combination of zombies and apocalyptic times that brings out the worst in human beings, which is where the true horror - and good drama - lies.

Eric Goldman
IGN Movies
May 1, 2015

What we're seeing here is truly sad to behold and promises that there is plenty of pathos to be found in The Walking Dead, among the more straight up (and satisfying) horror sequences that also go with this zombie story.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Jeff Jensen
Entertainment Weekly
May 1, 2015

Man alive, did [Darabont] direct the hell out of this pilot.

Logan Hill
New York Magazine/Vulture
May 1, 2015

It's a bit hard to tell if The Walking Dead is a bit of everything ... or not much of anything. But the hope is that this could be the first zombie story in a long while with both serious brains and "Braiiiiinns!"

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
May 1, 2015

What I like so much about the pilot is the stillness and simplicity of it.