True Detective : Season 2 Episode 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

True Detective : Season 2 Episode 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Tony Sokol
Den of Geek
January 13, 2019

By the time we know what the main mystery of the season is going to be, we are fully invested in the characters.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jacob Hall
Esquire Magazine
October 19, 2018

The cast may be new, but that lineup of hard-drinking, soul-searching cops is plenty welcoming.

Britt Hayes
ScreenCrush
June 15, 2018

"The Western Book of the Dead" isn't an incredibly strong episode, but it is a rather solid introduction to the dark and grimy world of Season 2 - and it firmly establishes itself as independent from its predecessor in the process.

Emma Dibdin
Digital Spy
November 18, 2015

I don't want every recap to boil down to "Season one was better", but at the same time I think that the anthology format invites the compare-and-contrast approach. So, fair warning, I'm probably going to be doing a lot more of it in future recaps.

Alexander Nazaryan
Newsweek
Top Critic
October 26, 2015

It is possible, as some have suggested, that TD2 lacks the throat-tightening anxiety that made TD1 the finest show on television last year. But while it may have ceded tone, it has gained scope.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
July 8, 2015

Like the season that came before it, True Detective is more about establishing a mood and getting swept up in an atmosphere than it is in making any sense of its central mystery.

Drew Grant
Observer
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

I feel like we're we're way out of our pseudo-intellectual depths with this one. Or wait, maybe this is just the wading pool for babies and I can't tell because I'm too distracted by that chick floating in a bowl of milk.

Chris Bennion
Independent (UK)
June 22, 2015

Not a thrilling opener but promise galore.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

Why must we accept stories about violence in which its perpetrators are its heroes? Unless and until it answers that question, True Detective risks simply being a one-season wonder.

Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

So far, Season 2 is as deliciously moody as its predecessor, but also seems faster-paced and more deliberate.

Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
June 22, 2015

That I believe the episode largely failed doesn't in any way diminish my belief that Pizzolatto could pull out of this skid as season two progresses.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
June 22, 2015

We couldn't ask for a better cast of actors to embody the characters introduced in "The Western Book of the Dead."

Full Review | Original Score: 4.3/5
Roth Cornet
IGN Movies
June 22, 2015

The debut episode of True Detective's second season is burdened by an overly complex plot and weakened by simplified character sketches. However, in total this is an engaging enough detective series that has the potential to become more so.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
June 22, 2015

This episode on a whole felt a lot more like a lot of other crime shows, albeit with a great cast and Pizzolatto's brand of dialogue.

Gwilym Mumford
Guardian
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

How much you enjoy this opening episode will probably depend on how easily you're able to let go of that first season of True Detective. It's not just the location and characters that have changed, it's the show's genetic makeup.

Jeff Jensen
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

May the season catch fire, or I'll be as sad as Colin Farrell's droopstache.

Troy L. Smith
Cleveland Plain Dealer
June 22, 2015

The brilliant first season of HBO's True Detective began with a murder scene. The show's second season ends with one. But it's how the characters get to that point that sets the tone for potentially compelling things to come.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

I can pay no higher compliment to Farrell than to say his performance is so captivating that it pushes aside all conversation of likability.

Erik Adams
AV Club
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

"The Western Book Of The Dead" excels at setting up a mystery but lacks for satisfying drama, if only because these characters aren't so interesting on their own.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Sonia Saraiya
Salon.com
Top Critic
June 22, 2015

The real hero of the hour is Vince Vaughn, who turns in a performance I forgot he could deliver-the surprisingly sensitive crime lord who loves and respects his wife, a man who can manifest both vulnerability and ruthlessness.

Page 1 of 2