Watchmen: Season 1 Episode 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Watchmen: Season 1 Episode 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Dewey Singleton
AwardsWatch
January 21, 2020

One of those show's greatest strengths is how they've been able to seamlessly connect this universe to the cinematic/graphic novel one.

Eve Sullivan
Film Inquiry
December 27, 2019

Lindelof's mysteries continue to spiral forward, but at least we know we're in safe hands.

Sarah Marrs
Lainey Gossip
November 28, 2019

I thought Watchmen was going to be the Regina King show, but this episode gives us a taste of yet another brilliant Jean Smart performance...

Huw Saunders
Cultured Vultures
November 5, 2019

While 'She Was Killed By Space Junk' hasn't moved the plot much further forward, it has given a better idea of the wider shape of the thing.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Anna Codutti
Tulsa World
November 4, 2019

When a main character from the 1985 series appears, it should be in style. And FBI agent Laurie Blake has one hell of an introduction.

Soraya Nadia McDonald
The Undefeated
November 4, 2019

Episode three has an oddly inspired structure about it, framed by Laurie's calls to Mars, which also double as prayers offered in a futuristic-looking confessional of an interplanetary phone booth.

Daniel Chin
The Ringer
November 4, 2019

Laurie Blake dunked on everyone within arm's reach, with no regard for human life whatsoever.

Allegra Frank
Vox
November 4, 2019

Jeremy Irons as Adrian Veidt is an absolute delight, a very strange, sadistic, and yet elegant old man whom I both fear and love to watch.

Alissa Wilkinson
Vox
November 4, 2019

This episode confirmed for me who some of its big characters are... That history thing is what's interesting to me about "She Was Killed By Space Junk," and gives me something to grab onto going forward.

Emily VanDerWerff
Vox
November 4, 2019

[Jean] Smart and [Regina] King have such an instantly prickly chemistry that putting them onscreen together gives the show a whole new set of tools to work with.

Dustin Rowles
Pajiba
November 4, 2019

It's hard to find an actress formidable enough to face off against Regina King, but in Jean Smart, [Damon] Lindelof has found a suitable match, not that Angela backs down even an inch.

Mark Braxton
Radio Times
November 4, 2019

Frustratingly fitful, Watchmen still has enough neat stylistic tricks and splashes of acid wit to keep interest simmering.

Angelica Jade Bastién
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
November 4, 2019

What's great about Laurie is how she complicates and expands the world of Watchmen, particularly in how she calls attention to the ridiculousness of being a masked vigilante and highlights the ethical quandaries that come with cops wearing masks.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sean T. Collins
Decider
November 4, 2019

Even though "She Was Killed by Space Junk," is so far the only one to make a big deal of its ties to Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons's epochal comic book, it is every bit as weird in its content and jarring in its rhythm as its predecessors.

Martin Carr
Flickering Myth
November 4, 2019

Never has an episode which hinges on one answerphone message been so compelling.

Gavia Baker-Whitelaw
The Daily Dot
November 4, 2019

With her tough attitude and elaborate one-way calls to Mars, Jean Smart is extraordinarily fun to watch, but not quite as interesting to analyze. What you see is what you get.

Christian Holub
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 4, 2019

They may not have shown us Laurie Blake right away, but they sure made her entrance this week worth the wait.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Chancellor Agard
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 4, 2019

Three episodes in, I'm loving Watchmen.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Matt Miller
Esquire Magazine
November 4, 2019

With Laurie's arrival into this narrative it seems that Damon Lindelof's Watchmen is finally giving fans a semblance of the sequel they crave.

Ben Travers
indieWire
Top Critic
November 4, 2019

The third episode of Watchmen, captured the best elements of the series' complex roots and aspirations, delivering a compelling character study and a vehement condemnation of self-indulgent idol worship, all while very much earning its last laugh.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 2