Samson and Delilah - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Samson and Delilah Reviews

Page 1 of 15
½ June 16, 2017
AACTA
Classic Australian film
½ May 3, 2017
I enjoyed this film. Thornton allows the audience to engage and relate with the characters Samson and Delilah and provides us with a visual masterpiece. The way that the non voco-centric scenes allow the aesthetic elements to stand out shows that Thornton has a talent and does this like no other director. It provides the audience with a close-quarters, fearlessly told story between two young and naive Indigenous children. The story is sad, happy and all things unique. Do yourself a favour and watch this film.
½ February 11, 2016
Well, the film may make some points but they are not at the advantage of the natives. The story is just plain stupid. The two main characters are simply much too stupid to even exist even amongst the native population. Or, let me phrase it another way, they are too stupid to do some of the intelligent stuff later and vice versa. The whole thing is an ode to the english, for which the natives should be grateful of the invasion. Without englishes, natives are nothing but fainéants, lazy bones. And then they dare in the extras, pretend they are on the side of the natives. Shame on them. Even if the director had native blood. Shame. Beautiful place and actors though. Lots of potential, if we could eliminate the englishes...
½ February 11, 2016
Well, the film may make some points but they are not at the advantage of the natives. The story is just plain stupid. The two main characters are simply much too stupid to even exist even amongst the native population. Or, let me phrase it another way, they are too stupid to do some of the intelligent stuff later and vice versa. The whole thing is an ode to the english, for which the natives should be grateful of the invasion. Without englishes, natives are nothing but fainéants, lazy bones. And then they dare in the extras, pretend they are on the side of the natives. Shame on them. Even if the director had native blood. Shame. Beautiful place and actors though. Lots of potential, if we could eliminate the englishes...
Super Reviewer
November 3, 2015
A beautiful and delicate portrait of a brutal reality that is so little known to non-Australians, reaching us through an Aboriginal love story that relies on two amazing performances and smoothly moving from tender to heartbreaking moments.
August 23, 2015
It's like Groundhog day but without the message.
December 1, 2014
What can I say about Samson and Delilah? It's bleak, depressing, gritty, tender, sweet and funny. With barely a word of dialogue spoken throughout you'd be forgiven for thinking it would struggle to pack any heavy emotional punches. Similarly, after reading the synopsis, it would be easy to dismiss it as "poverty porn". Happily, both these assumptions are wrong.

Samson and Delilah could so easily have been another piece of vacuous avant-garde cinema were it not for the talent of its two leads. Rowan McNamara and Marissa Gibson say more with their faces than other actors do with a thousand words and their naturalness, coupled with the realism of the film, often make this feel like a documentary. Theirs is an unforgiving world of loneliness and social isolation. Yet buried within the poverty, exploitation, boredom, violence and drug abuse are flashes of humour and moments of real tenderness between the two that keep the film from over-indulging in the squalor and decay of Aboriginal culture. If all that sounds a bit schmaltzy rest assured that director Warwick Thornton doesn't go the other way either, and often the happiness experienced by Samson, Delilah and viewer is bitter-sweet. Don't miss this beautifully shot gem of a film.
May 7, 2014
The level of realism is amazing. Easily the best movie I've ever seen in a long time.
½ March 27, 2014
The kind of harrowing topical drama that makes you wish someone had just written a news article instead.
January 25, 2014
A confronting & beautifully shot love story
½ September 23, 2013
Very slow and uninspirational
½ July 9, 2013
A beautiful film with very little dialogue, but a powerful, intense and thought provoking impact. An aboriginal love story which is bought to life by 2 amazing performances. This is "TRUTH ON FILM".
April 30, 2013
A straightforward and realistic portrayal of the key characters coming from a aboriginal settlement. Touching on issues facing the aborigines and their culture and issues surrounding glue sniffing. Not too many dialogues but keeps you intrigued and interested. A very good watch.
½ March 6, 2013
A pretty accurate look at the life of two young aboriginals. Not sure why Samson didnt speak throughout the whole film, made things difficult.
½ February 6, 2013
One week after seeing this and still the word that comes to mind is wow - what a turning point for Australian cinema. This film really pushes the boundaries of what mainstream Aussie cinema-goers expect to see when the lights go down. It's raw, gritty and dirty and may make you feel uncomfortable for 90% of the run time as you watch the plight of these young Aboriginals - but at the same time it's a beautiful and touching film and one every Australian should see. What also sets this apart as an incredible film is the lack of dialogue - the ability to portray the emotions and story to the audience with minimal dialogue works so effectively as you pay attention to every character's facial expressions and movements, truly remarkable.
½ January 2, 2013
I've heard about this movie but was totally disappointed as it has no dialogue. What a very boring movie. I hope Aboriginal Australians don't live like this. The Australian government should be looking after these people before the boat people.
December 4, 2012
A race betrayed and victimized in more ways than one.
June 10, 2012
The one thing I can really subtract from this movie is that 'when people don't take care of themselves or bother to make an effort, they end up in hell.' It's a fact of life.

I cared little for the cinematography despite how good it was and I cared little for the romance. I had to watch this slow one-hour fourty-one minutes of another two kids' gutwrenching life, all the while thinking to myself, 'what is the point of this?'

Normally I don't mind low-budget films, but nowadays I've been noticing a very distinctive trend with them: they are ALL dramas.

I can't stand dramas or dark themes in films like this. I'm very particular about my films. I use the cinema as a portal to escape from the grim aspects of everday life because, be honest, it's all around us. Civil disobedience, everday tragedies, deaths in the family, wars, everyday working life, people struggling to find work, drug addicts, homelessness... I don't need to have a spotlight shining on all of this crap.

Life is hard. Sure. The biggest problem was that this film pretty much shoved it down my throat.

People will enjoy it. People will find it compelling. People will be immersed in the story. But really, is a regular, movie-going audience really going to do something about the problem being shown in the flm? The society outside of Samson and Delilah couldn't give a damn about the situation in the movie, and I doubt that ordinary people watching this movie would do anything either when faced with a similar scene. It's just terrible awkwardness.

They're essentially street urchins, a part of a backwater society that refuses to develop, refuses to change, and are unable to or want to do anything to fix the problems in their society. Though the contrast between the two worlds is interesting, it's just another terrible truth I don't want to be a part of and want nothing to do with it.

I'll give it five stars for all the technical gimmicks, but as a well-rounded movie with a story I can get into, it's not enjoyable. They call it a comedy drama... it was just another drama for me.
June 1, 2012
A beautiful film that challenges traditional narrative conventions, and gives a voice to a group of people on the marginalized by society. I only wish it were easy to find in North America...
Page 1 of 15