Sahara - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sahara Reviews

Page 1 of 9
April 18, 2009
For an adventure movie based on chase scenes in exotic locations "Sahara" never takes hold because director Breck Eisner and his team of screenwriters can't agree on what the story's about or what tone should resonate against it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 18, 2007
The whole movie is a kick, actually.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 11, 2007
A pretty offensive comedy about Africans who range from primitive to demonic that, sorry, is just not funny.
October 2, 2006
Vapid, lengthy, and mostly lifeless -- kind of like the desert it's named for.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 7, 2006
Sahara rather resembles National Treasure, another film with a strained story line and deadening lack of visual richness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 18, 2005
For "Sahara," the problem is that we have the Indiana Jones movies to compare it to, and I'm afraid there's no comparison. It's never more than a likable poseur.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 11, 2005
It tried to be National Treasure and it failed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2005
The plotting is too complex for a generally stupid picture, but that didn't stop me from getting sucked in by director Breck Eisner's nicely paced action sequences.
| Original Score: B-
July 11, 2005
Like the African desert that lends the film its name, this so-called adventure is coarse, dry, and overheated.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 11, 2005
Sahara's biggest problem is twofold: the film's subtle ideological bent is alarming, and, in the lead, McConaughey is only just barely tolerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 7, 2005
With this strong of a cast this film should have been much better.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 3, 2005
I can't figure out just what I didn't like about this film, but I know I didn't really enjoy it.
Full Review| Original Score: D
May 2, 2005
...like having a swimsuit full of sand.
Full Review
April 30, 2005
...nobody could've expected the unbelievable sense of dullness that's permeating every aspect of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
April 23, 2005
Pity, because McConaughey is born to play Pitt. Whether his shirt is on or off (personally I prefer the later) the actor cuts a dashing figure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 23, 2005
A really, really dumb film, but it's lots and lots of fun and entirely lacking in malice.
Full Review | Original Score: 75/100
April 23, 2005
Just don't go expecting complex moral and ethical quandaries and you'll likely never think of Ishtar even once.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 21, 2005
A hot-buttered popcorn flick that's deserted by its writers in the last act.
April 21, 2005
Sahara is a movie with Indiana Jones aspirations that plays more like a low-rent 007 clone.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
April 18, 2005
In one spit-take-inducing moment, our heroes convert a wrecked prop plane into a desert sailboat, which they race across the sand to the strains of 'Magic Carpet Ride.'
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 9