Sahara - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sahara Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Cole Smithey
April 18, 2009
For an adventure movie based on chase scenes in exotic locations "Sahara" never takes hold because director Breck Eisner and his team of screenwriters can't agree on what the story's about or what tone should resonate against it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Rob Gonsalves
August 18, 2007
The whole movie is a kick, actually.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
May 11, 2007
A pretty offensive comedy about Africans who range from primitive to demonic that, sorry, is just not funny.
Russ Breimeier
Christianity Today
October 2, 2006
Vapid, lengthy, and mostly lifeless -- kind of like the desert it's named for.
| Original Score: 2/4
February 7, 2006
Sahara rather resembles National Treasure, another film with a strained story line and deadening lack of visual richness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
November 18, 2005
For "Sahara," the problem is that we have the Indiana Jones movies to compare it to, and I'm afraid there's no comparison. It's never more than a likable poseur.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
November 11, 2005
It tried to be National Treasure and it failed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Forrest Hartman
Reno Gazette-Journal
October 7, 2005
The plotting is too complex for a generally stupid picture, but that didn't stop me from getting sucked in by director Breck Eisner's nicely paced action sequences.
| Original Score: B-
Michael Dequina
July 11, 2005
Like the African desert that lends the film its name, this so-called adventure is coarse, dry, and overheated.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
June 11, 2005
Sahara's biggest problem is twofold: the film's subtle ideological bent is alarming, and, in the lead, McConaughey is only just barely tolerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
June 7, 2005
With this strong of a cast this film should have been much better.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Tony Toscano
Talking Pictures (U.S.)
May 3, 2005
I can't figure out just what I didn't like about this film, but I know I didn't really enjoy it.
Full Review| Original Score: D
Dan Marcucci and Nancy Serougi
Broomfield Enterprise
May 2, 2005 having a swimsuit full of sand.
Full Review
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
April 30, 2005
...nobody could've expected the unbelievable sense of dullness that's permeating every aspect of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Scott Andrews
April 23, 2005
A really, really dumb film, but it's lots and lots of fun and entirely lacking in malice.
Full Review | Original Score: 75/100
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
April 23, 2005
Just don't go expecting complex moral and ethical quandaries and you'll likely never think of Ishtar even once.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
April 21, 2005
A hot-buttered popcorn flick that's deserted by its writers in the last act.
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
April 21, 2005
Sahara is a movie with Indiana Jones aspirations that plays more like a low-rent 007 clone.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
April 18, 2005
In one spit-take-inducing moment, our heroes convert a wrecked prop plane into a desert sailboat, which they race across the sand to the strains of 'Magic Carpet Ride.'
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
April 17, 2005
Cussler's attempt to make his concept of an ironclad ship making its way from Richmond to the African desert is no more credible on film than on the written page.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 9