Antichrist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Antichrist Reviews

Page 1 of 191
½ January 16, 2017
Very well shot and acted, and also moves at a pretty big pace. But be warned it gets incredibly disturbing
½ January 14, 2017
"Art" can be really gross forcing you to turn away. I can do Tarantino-type stuff most of the time, but I just don't get this.
January 12, 2017
Probably one of the best films that you'll never recommend to anyone.
½ December 4, 2016
Though very difficult to take, this film was compelling and extremely ambitious. Lars Von Trier crafted a well-rounded, brilliant psychodrama.

This is the kind of film where I can tell that the director has a lot to say. Lars Von Trier has a way of communicating themes that's very unconventional. He uses graphic and explicit content in a way that immerses the audience, but doesn't sacrifice the integrity of the narrative. This film also has a visual grace about it that's oddly beautiful even though what he's showing us is horrific and disturbing. The prologue for this film is one of the most impressively shot sequences I've ever seen.

Another very impressive aspect of the film was the performances. There's only two to speak of, but they totally blew me away. Wilem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg are acting titans. They took so many risks and were so vulnerable, especially Gainsbourg. She put herself out there in a way I haven't seen in a long time, and I think that helped me to track with her when she went to those dark places in the last act.

This film was disturbing, ambitious, nasty, chaotic, compelling, dark, nightmarish, and, overall, extremely brilliant. One of the most haunting and original films I've ever seen!
December 3, 2016
One of the most disgusting films I've seen
½ November 12, 2016
A few weeks ago, my English professor told me that if you see nature from far away, it's beautiful, but if you look closely, it is hideous. I didn't understand then but, after this movie, I think I do.
½ November 10, 2016
A film to admire, not to enjoy. It is certainly striking and powerful, but I didn't feel convinced in the end that the gratuitous gore was worthwhile.
½ October 26, 2016
"This controversial Lars von Trier film is basically pornography for sadists. There is good acting, beautiful cinematography, and an interesting plot twist, but none of that can save it. This movie is twisted and has absolutely no redeemable qualities. I highly recommend that you leave this film on the store shelves and keep it off your Netflix queue."

That was one of the first reviews I have ever written on Rotten Tomatoes. I rated it a 0.5/5 stars. When I typed that review, I was fairly new to the world of art house cinema, scrolling through Netflix's selection of films I had never heard of to find something new and different. After viewing "Antichrist," I felt sick. I just couldn't understand why the film needed to be so gruesome. Upon reexamining the film recently (several years and a greater knowledge regarding artistic cinema later), I realized that I didn't fully understand the film the first time. Having seen it with fresh eyes, Lars von Trier's "Antichrist" is a flawless work of artistic brilliance. It's rich in symbolism, features a disturbing performance from Charlotte Gainsbourg, and the cinematography is stunning. It may be hard to stomach, but "Antichrist" is a masterpiece and I hate it.
½ October 19, 2016
One of the more accessible von Trier films. He stated it was his attempt at horror, and there are certainly many elements of horror in it, as well as staggeringly brutal visuals (not all gruesome, but most arresting). It's really just the two lead actors in a very intimate work of dealing with grief, death and guilt.
October 16, 2016
A nice psychological thriller/horror. The art-house scenes kind of threw me out of the movie, which is why I only give this four stars. But the four stars it deserves (in my opinion). The action and suspense is great, which is why I enjoyed this movie so much.
½ October 15, 2016
Love it or hate it, it is a work of a unique mind.
October 4, 2016
Pointless Von Trier nonsense
½ September 26, 2016
Though shocking, this film's purpose is not mere shock value. It is a film about the cruelty of nature, humans and all. The brutal imagery and eerie atmosphere brought me in to the film, feeling every agonizing experience the characters felt, more than any other I have ever seen. Many people will not like this film, as many will be too blinded (or perhaps offended) by the brutality to connect to it.
½ September 21, 2016
beautifully shot and acted. should it exist? idfk ask someone else.
I would never recommend this film to anybody.
½ September 9, 2016
The average moviegoer will probably be turned off by the graphic violence, explicit sex(penetration shown), or even by the title of this misunderstood masterpiece but the visuals are stunning, the acting top notch and the story philosophically moving even when the movie gets to the peak of its insanity. Not a horror movie, but rather a film about humans and their inherently evil nature; many will leave antichrist having hated it but no one who watches it will ever forget it.
August 14, 2016
Well that was weird. Don't know what to think. The visuals were impressive.
August 8, 2016
"Chaos Reigns"

Oh

My

God

Sorry...God is not evident to be here...clearly...

Antichrist is directed by Lars Von Trier, and tells the tale of a couple, He (played by Willem Dafoe) and She (played by Charlotte Gainsbourg) who retreat to the woods in order to fix...something.

And that's all I'm going to really say plot-wise.

The good? Ok, Antichrist has no actual observable good in it, but it is an impeccable film. And by 'good' I mean things that made me smile and created joyous feelings. No. Pack that up and leave it at the door, because Antichrist is a very, very hard watch. Let's get all the technicalities out of the way first so I can talk more about the themes.
Acting? On point
Cinematography? On point
Story? On-fucking-point
Seriously, Antichrist has a glorious base to build a kingdom on, and it builds a civilization. How the bloody hell did you do it Lars??? I am outstandingly impressed. The nature (hehe) of Antichrist is that it is the Devil's toybox. What I interpreted, is this being the story of Adam and Eve turned around on its head. A sub-concious mockery of the obscurity and ambiguity of religion with the messages of Hell and Anguish found amongst a sea of sugar-scrubbed lies. A seed of grief is planted in this film, and it physically and metaphorically grows into a woodland in which Satan can display his powers. How interest, sex, depression and torture are used as teddy bears for a live studio audience, 'the three beggars', who watch on this sickly game show take place and cameo in the performance whilst jeering the participants with gleeful ambition.

'Chaos Reigns' so the film speaks, I could hear audible laughter from the cackles of the supernatural as 'He' figured out the circumstances of his stay. It is hilarious for an unknown reason in the back of your mind, something tells you that someone finds this funny and jovial. What's really happening is simply humans being humans. Playing with their flesh, genitals and man-made tools to appease Satan, but it is simply not layered and scientific to be taken seriously. When 'He' reaches the climax of the film, it is rewarding to see a flock of people congratulate him in reaching the polar opposite of enlightenment.

The Bad? This film balances a lot of themes at the same time, and it could be perceived as messy, and even pretentious .However, what it does perfectly is organising the mess for a purpose made evident in the third act. This is not a film in which there is something human to base it on, this is a movie created by a creature and Lars Von Trier has been 'blessed' with the honour of making it visually accessible.

Where has this been all my life? This is a perfect horror movie, or just simply a perfect movie...which I wont be watching again any time soon. This will not become one of my re-watchable favourites due to graphic content (obviously not one to watch with well...literally anyone without being embarrassed) , but it will be preserved as one of the only two perfect films I have ever watched, in my life.

Wow. Oh My Satan.

A+

100/100
August 7, 2016
"Antichrist" is a film that surprises, full of symbols, dramas, very strong scenes and anguish, the controversial director Lars Von Trier in delivering a great drama movie / thriller / horror / romance, good, a film that makes a flete with several the seventh art branches. The photograph of the film is great at times gets to be transcendental, the soundtrack odds with the traditional genre films, but it is good and tight fitting, the performances are great, especially the Charlotte Gainsbourg (award-winning songs) the script has rhythm problems, some dialogues are very extended, but the film's plot is very good, full of surprises and mysteries that despite the lack of pace, let the glaze viewer in the film.
I do not want to go into the various symbologies that the film back to because it varies the interpretation of each person, but it is worth mentioning some points, our protagonists unnamed go to a forest known as Eden, our protagonist blames himself for the death of the child, if guilt because they have sinned like Eve in paradise, the three beggars (as it is called the fourth chapter of the film) is a reference to the three kings, sacrifice is a way to pay for the sins of humanity to which the interpretation of it, women are the blame for sin, remember the final scene where several women without faces different bodies and ethnicities go toward the cabin, also to expunge their sins, that's some details of a very elaborate plot, the scenes of violence are heavy, especially the scene of genital mutilation was one of the most challenging scenes I've ever seen in a movie (and I've already seen a lot of movie junk stuck to Snuff), and explicit sex scenes too surprising, it is rare in a film, which leaves the performances of the actors in these dramatic moments, "Antichrist" really is not a movie for everyone, and many people will see it as a compelling thriller, others will be dazzled, others shocked, others will find an amazing movie and other will turn off the TV with 5min film is left you find out which group belongs.

Forgive my English by google translator.
August 6, 2016
Great film. I never ever ever want to watch it again.
½ July 14, 2016
Okay..... That was.... I never want to watch that movie again. But in a way, I'm glad I did watch it? It definitely wasn't the worst movie I ever watched, but it was one of the more fucked up. I feel like Lars Von Trier really doesn't understand women in his movies, which is weird because usually his main characters ARE women. He's a stunning film maker though. His movies are always beautiful to look at (when someone isn't performing genital mutilation) and his use of slow motion actually works well.
Oddly enough, this was probably my favorite Von Trier movie that I've seen. That's probably due to the fact that Willem Dafoe's character was actually a normal dude and not some overly sexed up/sincere scholar who had his head up his ass (though, if the character was played by anyone else, that's probably exactly what he would have been like. *Cough Stellan Skarsgard in Nymphomaniac Cough*) I might give Dogtown a try after watching this movie. That being said, I cannot recommend this movie to everyone, due to its graphic and depressing themes. 2.5/5 stars.
Page 1 of 191