Antichrist - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Antichrist Reviews

Page 1 of 192
April 26, 2017
One of Lars von Trier's more polarizing films, Antichrist is brilliantly filmed, well-acted and above all terrifying. It is definitely not for the weak of stomach or the faint or heart.
½ April 23, 2017
Dice el Yino, que no entendió...
April 21, 2017
I Going To Make Feature-Length Movies When I Grow Up Which Only Will Be R-Rated.
April 20, 2017
The unusually mundane universe of von Trier possesses a discursive force so enigmatic that it describes in an arduous poetic way the impact of the most painful events that in an intense, hysterical and destructive way drown with torture a person and its huge mistakes, entering the nightmarish dream of an emotional hurricane about the darkest instincts of the human being. One of the most controversial films in the current history of cinema. 83/100
March 23, 2017
So intense and harrowing, I felt the very rare sensation of genuine dread. A bleak and satanic masterpiece.
½ March 12, 2017
Honestly, I'm not really sure what to say. I will have to put this in the "fucked up" category with Visitor Q.
February 8, 2017
I'll admit it. I didn't 'get it' but I was intrigued from start to finish. It was confusing but visually interesting. It was horrific in places but always symbolic. On further reading after the credits rolled, I feel that the discussion on it's actual meaning is open to interpretation and picking one is your choice.
½ January 16, 2017
Very well shot and acted, and also moves at a pretty big pace. But be warned it gets incredibly disturbing
½ January 14, 2017
"Art" can be really gross forcing you to turn away. I can do Tarantino-type stuff most of the time, but I just don't get this.
January 12, 2017
Probably one of the best films that you'll never recommend to anyone.
½ December 4, 2016
Though very difficult to take, this film was compelling and extremely ambitious. Lars Von Trier crafted a well-rounded, brilliant psychodrama.

This is the kind of film where I can tell that the director has a lot to say. Lars Von Trier has a way of communicating themes that's very unconventional. He uses graphic and explicit content in a way that immerses the audience, but doesn't sacrifice the integrity of the narrative. This film also has a visual grace about it that's oddly beautiful even though what he's showing us is horrific and disturbing. The prologue for this film is one of the most impressively shot sequences I've ever seen.

Another very impressive aspect of the film was the performances. There's only two to speak of, but they totally blew me away. Wilem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg are acting titans. They took so many risks and were so vulnerable, especially Gainsbourg. She put herself out there in a way I haven't seen in a long time, and I think that helped me to track with her when she went to those dark places in the last act.

This film was disturbing, ambitious, nasty, chaotic, compelling, dark, nightmarish, and, overall, extremely brilliant. One of the most haunting and original films I've ever seen!
December 3, 2016
One of the most disgusting films I've seen
½ November 12, 2016
A few weeks ago, my English professor told me that if you see nature from far away, it's beautiful, but if you look closely, it is hideous. I didn't understand then but, after this movie, I think I do.
½ November 10, 2016
A film to admire, not to enjoy. It is certainly striking and powerful, but I didn't feel convinced in the end that the gratuitous gore was worthwhile.
½ October 26, 2016
"This controversial Lars von Trier film is basically pornography for sadists. There is good acting, beautiful cinematography, and an interesting plot twist, but none of that can save it. This movie is twisted and has absolutely no redeemable qualities. I highly recommend that you leave this film on the store shelves and keep it off your Netflix queue."

That was one of the first reviews I have ever written on Rotten Tomatoes. I rated it a 0.5/5 stars. When I typed that review, I was fairly new to the world of art house cinema, scrolling through Netflix's selection of films I had never heard of to find something new and different. After viewing "Antichrist," I felt sick. I just couldn't understand why the film needed to be so gruesome. Upon reexamining the film recently (several years and a greater knowledge regarding artistic cinema later), I realized that I didn't fully understand the film the first time. Having seen it with fresh eyes, Lars von Trier's "Antichrist" is a flawless work of artistic brilliance. It's rich in symbolism, features a disturbing performance from Charlotte Gainsbourg, and the cinematography is stunning. It may be hard to stomach, but "Antichrist" is a masterpiece and I hate it.
½ October 19, 2016
One of the more accessible von Trier films. He stated it was his attempt at horror, and there are certainly many elements of horror in it, as well as staggeringly brutal visuals (not all gruesome, but most arresting). It's really just the two lead actors in a very intimate work of dealing with grief, death and guilt.
October 16, 2016
A nice psychological thriller/horror. The art-house scenes kind of threw me out of the movie, which is why I only give this four stars. But the four stars it deserves (in my opinion). The action and suspense is great, which is why I enjoyed this movie so much.
½ October 15, 2016
Love it or hate it, it is a work of a unique mind.
October 4, 2016
Pointless Von Trier nonsense
½ September 26, 2016
Though shocking, this film's purpose is not mere shock value. It is a film about the cruelty of nature, humans and all. The brutal imagery and eerie atmosphere brought me in to the film, feeling every agonizing experience the characters felt, more than any other I have ever seen. Many people will not like this film, as many will be too blinded (or perhaps offended) by the brutality to connect to it.
Page 1 of 192