Born in Flames - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Born in Flames Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ June 30, 2016
Another odd one from Lizzie Borden.
April 16, 2015
Not a great film, but has some great ideas and moments. Honestly it's mostly just edited poorly, this could easily be recut and come out more coherent. That theme song is hillaaaaaarious though.
½ November 16, 2013
A feminist filmmaker celebrates and ridicules the concept of feminism simultaneously.
November 13, 2013
Um governo machista é combatido por feministas que usam a mídia para se organizar, fazendo protestos e protegendo mulheres contra o estupro. É interessante a forma como o movimento feminista se organiza descentralizadamente e a pluralidade de opiniões que se preserva durante todo o filme.
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
½ November 21, 2011
set in a future nyc, tho it sure looks like the 80s, the film posits a post-revolutionary socialist society that isn't the great success the government claims. the poor and minorities have seen little change in their situations and feminists, tired of waiting for their turn, get organized. this is the most radical feminist film i've ever seen, with women's groups plotting full-blown terrorist activities, and in fact i'm still a bit blown away that this thing even exists, but i'm so glad it does. it's inspiring to know we once dreamed this big. this is a great example of ultra low budget guerilla filmmaking, admittedly rough but with some really good acting, effective satire and a whole lot of passion. and it's the tea party's worst nightmare
August 23, 2009
Really badass in every possible way. The premise, style, soundtrack: fantastic. The fact that this was made in 1983 makes it even moreso.
½ June 9, 2009
It seems like good fun, but is actually unfocused, and quite contrived,and silly.

Good for a laugh, nonetheless.
April 25, 2009
scared me straight ;) hahahaha all power to them. The plot was interesting but as a movie it wasn't very good.
January 21, 2009
There's a lot of ideas rattling around in Born in Flames but little precious plot to tack them to. This aggressively feminist, aggressively independent film isn't much of a "movie" it's a bunch of different scenes of women either fighting against some sort of revolution and protesting to keep their jobs and the death of one their leaders is shoddily covered up to look like a suicide leading them to resort to violence to get what they want. But that takes up about 15 minutes of the movie. My favorite aka the worst scenes of the movie are montages of women working at their various jobs while the god-awful titular song drones on in the background- if only this was entertaining enough to be campy.
½ August 25, 2008
1: opened at Film Forum in 1983 and distributed by First Run Features

2: Borden took the film where ever she had been invited, training her in frugality [coach air fares, no limo, low per diem]

3: infamous MONTAGE of "traditional" women's jobs demonstrates Borden's film-style: giving a bottle to a baby, filing work, wrapping chicken in a factory, putting a condom on a penis, washing dishes, preparing surgical instruments, cutting hair, and handing out political fliers

4: What is American Independent Cinema? [futuristic] dystopian social-political-feminist narrative
August 12, 2008
Revolutionary! And lots of kufiyaspottings (see Hawgblawg).
June 26, 2008
I just saw this the other day. It still has the power to blow my mind, 25 years later.
½ April 25, 2008
Medium Cool meets Mad Max meets apocalyptic feminist badassery.
December 27, 2007
Fabulous. It says it all.
½ November 30, 2007
Has all the advantages and the disadvantages of a home movie. It is impertinent, audacious, abounding in fresh ideas, considerably untraditional ideas. On the other hand, it is disjointed, with no real characters, preachy, the script unsufficiently developed and the acting often amateurish.
November 29, 2007
Rebel girl you are the queen of my world.
November 27, 2007
Annoying as all fuck.
October 22, 2007
Cinematic discussion of how systems of oppression (sexism, capitalism, racism) must be dealt with comprehensively. They must be seen as what they are: resistant, interconnected, invisible and reinforcing of one another. "The womens army seems to be dominated by lesbians and blacks"
October 21, 2007
One of the worst movie I've ever seen. All message, no art and if the message is rather dubious you ain't left with much else.
September 21, 2007
good insight, learned a few things
Page 1 of 2