Casino Royale - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Casino Royale Reviews

Page 1 of 2971
August 15, 2017
Maintains a lot of what is expected in Bond films, but takes away the cheesiness and outrageousness. It should be the new archetype of remakes/reboots.
August 15, 2017
The James Bond reboots kick off here with Casino Royale. I'm not going to lie when I say this is one of the best Bond films ever made, probably on the top three podium. Casino Royale is not only good as a Bond film, but as an independent spy film in its own right; it's a delightfully dark twist on the Brosnan age gimmicks, grounding this new Bond in reality, with Daniel Craig assisting in a striking performance of the 00 agent. The film takes a riveting pace, with captivating action sequences around every corner and a script so quick if you blink you won't know what's going on. The supporting cast is also largely good as well, with Eva Green Bond-girling wonderfully as Vesper, providing more depth and sincerity than one might expect and Judi Dench continuing to play M with delightful coldness. Bond's adversary Le Chiffre, played by Mads Mikkelsen leaves a lot to the imagination, settling as a sub-standard villain in an above-standard film. The film also suffers from being overlong, with a slightly lengthy build-up, that results in, despite effective writing and direction, a lingering pace issue towards the end of the film. Far too long was spent in that sanatorium that's my point. Largely, however, Casino Royale is a fantastic thriller, devoid of that irritating glamour so captured by previous Bonds, and grounding the character in a scarily familiar reality, that provides for surely one of the best Bond films of all time.
August 11, 2017
Despite the film's faithfulness to its pompousness and chauvinistic heritage, Casino Royale is exactly what James Bond should be.
August 9, 2017
Not only my favourite bond film of all time, it's my favourite film of all time. I love this film!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
August 9, 2017
James Bond needed a reboot after most of the older entries got so silly it wasn't even fun anymore and the plot never changed, But this stunning film is brilliantly done by Daniel Craig who plays Bond perfectly, Some very good action scenes, And the best opening scene in a Bond film ever, It was nice to see that the gadgets are all but gone which made other Bond films silly, Bond doesn't have silly one liners he's just a heartless killer with a don't give a shit attitude just what Bond should be, It has to be the perfect Bond film, Very clever and the plot was very good if you can keep up with all the twists and turns, I hope Daniel Craig plays Bond for a long long time.
August 6, 2017
I thought that the movie was great we watched it at camp and all I wanted to do is watch the rest
July 31, 2017
The best James Bond film.
½ July 31, 2017
One of and probably the second best Bond film, Casino Royale is also one of the best movie origin stories ever told. Brought down only by its 2.5-hour run time, the film successfully introduces Daniel Craig's Bond, and Craig delivers one of his best performances. The supporting cast are all at the top of their game, and Mads Mikkelson is perfect as the villainous Le Chiffre. The script is very well-written, the action is fun and intense, the opening credits sequence is very underrated, and the film as a whole is simply fantastic.
July 30, 2017
D. Craig des his own stunts which i think is cool.
½ July 14, 2017
A fresh new take on Bond that still retains the same fun tone of the best in the series, Casino Royales presents the best Bond since Sean Connery, a classic villain, and incredible scenes of tension and action on and off the poker table, making this one of the very best that the series has to offer.
½ July 13, 2017
This is to the first part to the Jame bound reboot series. It a great movie. Quantum of solace is better. This movie has a great story line. And great acting. It also has great special effects.
July 2, 2017
Ditching the cheesy script and action from earlier entries, Casino Royale shows us the darker side of 007.
½ June 26, 2017
Daniel Craig is terrific as Bond. This movie has excellent action scenes, a great plot, great villain and bond girl.

9.4/10
June 25, 2017
The only good bond film Daniel Craig managed to do well! Although the plot was so well written that Ben Afleck could have pulled it off. This film is by no means a success because of Daniel Craig though. The rest of Daniel Craig's so call Bond appearances are all CRAP!!!!
June 25, 2017
Best reboot for a film series ever. Starring a blonde Bond Daniel Craig it is more gritty then ever. Containing Strong Violence, Sex references and Language and a Cringy scene containing bond being tortured. this should be rated a 15

Cast

James Bond/007: Daniel Craig
Vesper Lynnd: Eva Green
Le Chiffre: Mads Micklestone
Felix Lieter: Jeffrey Wight
M: Judi Dench
Rene Mathis:Giancarlo Gianninia
Mr White: Jesper Christian
June 24, 2017
The best 007 movie since Sean Connery.
June 20, 2017
So much pleasure around it's hard to fatham they are fighting!
June 18, 2017
Dark and realistic, Casino Royale excellently embodies a more mature tone. With none of the goofy gadget elements, Daniel Craig's portrayal is more rustic and authentic, showing a Bond who is more human than any other.
June 16, 2017
Casino Royale - Filme dirigido pelo Martin Campbell, direção muito boa sem CGI, apenas efeitos práticos. Roteiro, melhor parte, tudo se encaixa no final, com direito a plot twist. A ação e drama são muito bem divididas, e as duas funcionam perfeitamente, dentro da historia. Elenco fantastico, destaque para a Eva Green como Vesper Lynd. Trilha sonora muito boa também, com a musica original "You Know My Name".
Nota: 9.2
June 12, 2017
Casino Royale is a movie filled with strong performances especially Eva Green's who makes Vesper Lyynd possibly the best bond girl to grace the 007 franchise along with a menacingly good turn from Mads Mikkelsen as Le Chiffre and a dark and gritty but powerful performance from Daniel Craig this includes an elegant and cleverly written screenplay plus a hauntingly beautiful take on storytelling making Casino Royale the best bond film yet
Page 1 of 2971