The Curious Case of Benjamin Button - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Reviews

Page 1 of 2237
½ May 9, 2018
Production quality and acting we all good, and the story has an interesting hook which sucked me in. But at almost 3 hours, this movie was rather plodding, and felt less like a story than a series of vignettes (the sea captain, girfriend, old folks home) - it felt a bit like Forrest Gump without the theme of America-changing-against-backdrop-of-history. There was a bit of history, but it felt more tacked on. There were 2 consistent stories - one with his momma (Queenie) and one with the girlfriend, but the mom story never developed and I would feel more for the girlfriend story if they weren't both such a couple of gross horndogs. I never felt any emotional impact from any particular plot point, because it quickly moved on to the next point.
The hook - he ages backwards. It was interesting to see HOW he actually aged backwards, but beyond that, so what? Like Blanchette said, 'we all end up in diapers'. Sure it is sad that things end and people die, but that would have all happened if he had aged normally.
There were some thematic elements i didn't follow, like the storms and how he always said 'good night, ms ', things never last, and the lightning guy. I am sure it meant something, but for the life of me I couldn't figure out what.
And oh my gosh - old dying hospital Cate Blanchett - I know she is sick, but could you mumble any MORE unintelligible stuff?? And apparently she had never read the journal.... WHY? And the daughter must have been dumb as a stump growing up not to catch any of that stuff before the big reveal at the end.
½ May 7, 2018
Stick this one out until the end. It's worth it.
½ February 16, 2018
Long film, too long. However it was interesting and an unusual story to follow which was well told.
February 14, 2018
very interesting and fascinating film
½ February 12, 2018
Time, which is the very first theme of Fincher's movie, is also its major problem, since it is painfully overlong, and Fitzgerald's original choice to make a short story certainly meant something and should not have been adaptated into a 2-1/2-hour film. 'The Curious Case of Benjamin Button' is a classic exemple of these ambitious movies which try to give themselves dimensions that they don't have, at the expense of becoming misfires.
February 10, 2018
Assim como o sol que brilha no céu dá lugar à lua durante a noite, nós, seres humanos, estamos destinados a nascer e a morrer. É um ciclo sem escapatória, cuja sequência de eventos está muito bem definida. Mas este não é o caso para Benjamon Button (Brad Pitt), um homem que nasceu velho e está destinado a rejuvenescer, até cumprir o seu ciclo.

Adaptado do conto de F. Scott Fitzgerlad, escrito em 1921, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button é mais uma conquista na ambiciosa filmografia do realizador David Fincher, que neste caso sai fora do seu registo usual. Os seus filmes costumam abordar temas controversos e obscuros, mas Benjamin Button é mais uma história na veia de Forrest Gump (1994), com Brad Pitt no lugar de Tom Hanks, um rapaz simples que caminha pela vida e tenta ultrapassar os seus obstáculos muito particulares. (As semelhanças começam no argumentista, Eric Roth, que escreveu ambos os guiões dos filmes).

O filme começa com uma mulher (Julia Ormond) sentada ao lado da sua mãe moribunda, que está numa cama de hospital em New Orleans a ler-lhe o diário de um antigo amante - Benjamin Button. A história entre Benjamin e a sua mãe é o foco da narrativa, enquanto breves passagens decorrem no quarto do hospital. Lá fora, o furacão Katrina começa a aproximar-se impiedosamente do estado americano de Luisiana.

Benjamin nasceu em New Orleans, no primeiro dia após o término da Primeira Guerra Mundial, em 1918. Como nasceu velho, o pequeno é uma criatura muito estranha, e em pânico, o seu pai, Thomas (Jason Flemyng), abandona-o nas escadas de um lar, onde é adotado pela calorosa Queenie (Taraji P. Henson), que lá trabalha.

Novo de espírito mas velho de corpo, Benjamin sente-se acolhido no lar, onde desde muito cedo se habitua a ver as pessoas partir. Certo dia, conhece a neta de uma das senhoras do lar, Daisy (interpretada quando for mais velha por Cate Blanchett), que vai entrando e saindo da sua confusa vida.

O que desde cedo é admirável em The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, tendo em conta que acompanhamos os diferentes estágios da vida de Benjamin, é o facto de ser sempre Pitt no ecrã. Mesmo quando está num corpo mais velho e de cadeira de rodas, a tecnologia digital, aliada a um meticuloso trabalho de maquilhagem, permitem que seja sempre a sua cara que está por trás das rugas e marcas da idade.

Como Fincher já nos tem habituado, tecnicamente e em termos atmosféricos, o filme é brilhante. Existe um equilíbrio entre a imagem e a narrativa, em certas sequências o destaque está no conteúdo da imagem, noutras, a imagem parte para segundo plano, deixando a narrativa fluir de forma hipnotizante.

O argumento de Roth tem um desenvolvimento muito lento, o que faz com que a primeira hora, do total de duas horas e quarenta e seis minutos de filme, seja algo aborrecida, mesmo que a premissa suscite curiosidade imediata. Depois da primeira hora, a aventura de Benjamin começa a tomar forma e algum entusiasmo.

As secções de Pitt e Blanchett são encantadoras e ambas as performances são mais que competentes. A sua história de amor é tão bela quanto trágica, fruto da natureza das personagens.

Em termos de impacto emocional, Benjamin Button satisfaz plenamente. É um filme apaixonante sobre o tempo, o nosso propósito, a vida e as nossas limitações enquanto seres. Mas por vezes limita-se a tocar nos assuntos e não os examina de forma minuciosa, um pecado menor quando há tanto por dizer e contemplar.

8/10
January 19, 2018
Melodramatic generally, but after all the sadness when we take a look at what this movie really is, it's more pointless and calculated than flowing (etc.?). The duration definitely isn't warranted and overall just a tear-jerker, I suppose.
January 15, 2018
Great fantastic phenomenal sad movie starring brad Pitt who deserves an oscar for his performance in this movie and cate blancett who also deserves an oscar. This movie has a ton of emotion and will be hard to rewatch this movie and go through what I went through. The story is phenomenal as well as the dialogue. I have no complaints with this movie. Brad Pitt is amazing.
January 12, 2018
I liked the story because it showcased an unusual life. I liked how his disadvantaged childhood was overcompensated with a magical adulthood. But with magic also comes a curse - and so he had to pay the price of such a wonderful life later in "old age."
January 1, 2018
honestly I dont know what the point is in here by showing somebody reverse aging....
½ December 23, 2017
F

8.2

[David Fincher]
December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original: 8.5

Tan original y profunda, que se convierte en una de mis favoritas de todos los tiempos.
December 12, 2017
First of all, I don't think the realist elements have done good to this movie. I mean, if the protagonist is meant to be fantastic why is it necessary for us to know when he was born, where is he going, what (real) wars he fought? Superman is like this movie's protagonist, he defies natural laws, like gravity for example. Benjamin Button is doing the same thing with biological laws when he rejuvenates, but despite the realistic context where he is placed, no-one seems to be so affected by his unusual nature (and that makes realistic characters behave artificially). Just pay some attention to the title: The curious case..., why case? "Cases" exist only in reality. If the movie would have dwelled in the fantastic, fictional, or whatever you call it domain of the narrative it certainly had been better. Secondly, and more important, my opinion is that this movie doesn't eventually say much. During the almost three hours length I questioned myself about Benjamin's nature and what philosophical facts should it reveal. But as I tried and tried to build-up my logic I couldn't reach any destination. In fact, Benjamin looked like a simple, ordinary men that lives his life from start to end. He's different from us only because his appearance evolves from old men to infant child. But he is born a child and mentally he's just like us (as he admits). All my respect to everyone in the production crew because they made a very well-done job, from special effects to acting performances. The story is the major problem here.
½ December 6, 2017
A very interesting tale with some amazing effects you don't even notice. Another good movie from Fincher, but not as good as the other ones. The characters and ideas of the film were fifty shades of bland but I liked the pacing, the movie really felt like watching the whole life of Benjamin Button.
November 25, 2017
Taken from F. Scott Fitzgerald's short-story, "Benjamin Button" is a romantic fantasy tale about a man living in reverse through the 20th Century. The film runs along a beautiful narrative, splendid performances, and sharp direction by David Fincher that will keep viewers entertained through its nearly three-hour running time.
November 5, 2017
A brilliantly acted and well-written film.
October 23, 2017
Made it through an hour. Booooooooring. I really think I'm not a Brad Pitt fan. Like, Tree of Life was the worst, most boring, painfully pretentious piece of crap I've ever sat through in a theater. I only stayed b/c I was on a date. (Actually that guy turned out to be a pretentious piece of crap as well - no wonder he'd suggested it! lol) The only entertaining part was seeing a covered in crust Brad head attached to a little body at the beginning.
September 28, 2017
I liked it and I think it was special in its own way and makes you really understands the true love numbers don't matter. You will find true love when you least expect.
September 16, 2017
That is 3 hours of my life I cannot get back. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
September 12, 2017
This film deserves being categorized as an "epic" by virtue of its scope in story, theme and filmmaking ambition. It's obviously necessary to accept the fanciful aspects of the tale, following a man who is born old and ages in reverse, but it's also a melancholy romance that's very moving. Love and loss, the inevitability of change, the richness of a life lived fully, and the preciousness of that life-all are within the film's sweeping embrace. Brad Pitt does an excellent job as Benjamin, with good support from Cate Blanchett and Taraji Henson, and an exceptional Tilda Swinton. The movie is a bit long at almost three hours, and I think it would have benefited from some editing in places, but maybe it needs the length to take us on such an epic journey--an eventful lifetime for Benjamin and his life-long love, Daisy. The cinematography is lush, artistic and melancholy in mood to support the tone of the entire film. I also applaud the direction of David Fincher, and the music that is mostly subtle and very much in keeping with the mood of many scenes. It seems like those who are middle age or older might be the most appreciative, but this film is worth viewing by anyone who is an adult with a bit of life experience.
Page 1 of 2237