The Day After Tomorrow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Day After Tomorrow Reviews

Page 1 of 25400
September 14, 2018
An engaging and quick paced disaster movie.

Roland Emmerich ruins his most popular disaster movie in years with awful shaky camera work and few interesting shots. The poor stereotypical writing gives little plot other than to set up cool frozen setpieces. Little to no characterization leaves the audience forgetting every character's names, let alone their personality.

The thing I found most surprising with The Day After Tomorrow was that almost every scene has CGI layered on with amateur green screen special effects that have aged quite poorly. The whole movie looks like a cheap video game, much less a big budget film. This is why you do not rely on CGI to carry your film. The ice looks good, but the storm, water, and wolves are all pretty heinously executed. I have not often witnessed such ugly CGI.

The saving grace of The Day After Tomorrow other than it's shorter running time and brisk pace is the atmosphere, isolation, and acting. The movie paces itself quickly to get to the next impressive in scope action set piece. From giant ships to falling down icy canyons, The Day After Tomorrow takes you on quite a perilous trip.

Lastly, the acting from Dennis Quaid is pretty nice. He is a likable hero and you want him to live as he is one of the few logical scientists in the film. Jake Gyllenhaal is a neat protagonist. I like his acting even as a young man. He feels approachable and intelligent, making him instantly one of the more likable characters. The only other decent performance is from the lovely Emmy Rossum. She is also very smart and feels like an actual character instead of just a love interest. Too bad they threw in an awkward love triangle in the first half.

Overall, most audiences will be entertained by The Day After Tomorrow. Do not expect a great film, nor a masterclass in cinematography, writing, or effects. But the cold isolation and desperate struggle for survival should distract you for 2 hours.
September 2, 2018
It was a great movie. Climate change and it's effects in this movie make it feel so real. The characters in the story also help immerse you in the movie.

I don't believe it deserves such harsh criticism (it was probably not because of the movie but because of its topic, climate change, which inspired people to discredit the movie.)

I would highly recommend watching the movie.
August 31, 2018
I think is the best of all disaster movie Hollywood has made so far.
August 6, 2018
A surprisingly good film.
½ July 29, 2018
Mother Nature is about to clean house. Big time. Her cleaning equipment of choice is a harsh one: climate change.
Even a decade later this is still a decent watch.
½ June 26, 2018
Despite the obvious propaganda, The Day After Tomorrow is still an enjoyable disaster adventure. The story moves along fairly smoothly, the actors do a good job, there is a good sense of humour, and the special effects are very, very good. It's fun.
½ June 20, 2018
The Day After Tomorrow is illogical and familiar disaster fare. At least the destruction is fun to watch and Jake Gyllenhaal gives a good performance.
May 25, 2018
Good but sad movie at the same time
½ May 19, 2018
The only thing good about this movie was Quaid's acting, which is as solid as ever. No one with more than a 4th grade education could take the plot seriously.
½ March 12, 2018
worst movie ever made!
February 27, 2018
the southern states having to evacuate to Mexico and Mexico closing the border, great irony! that earned this movie an additional 2 stars just for that scene.
½ February 16, 2018
Stale acting, mediocre visuals, and unlikable characters completely tear this movie asunder. The movie relies on overused cliches to hold together its remarkably thin storyline, making one-faced characters that are completely unrealistic. Most of the film just drags on, reaching a few high points dominated by tornadoes or tidal waves, that are so badly executed that they leave very little effect on whoever is watching.
½ February 10, 2018
This movie was terrible! The acting was sup par. The writing even worse. I know it's a movie but just so incredibly unrealistic. I know you can't make an accurate movie about the earth returning to the ice age but this was garbage. 2 hours long too. I do not recommend watching no matter how bored you are.
February 4, 2018
Sure it can be stupid but it's a lot of fun and very entertaining.
½ January 13, 2018
see how it's done..

The Day After Tomorrow

It's high on vfx explosion, drama and survival nature but at the end it is just pointless if these are the only thing that a movie is dependent on.
January 12, 2018
Where will You Be The Day after tomorrow is a fun Action Movie I Enjoyed it
½ December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original: 5.5

Por más entretenida que resulte ser, sus argumentos científicos son totalmente ridículos.
November 18, 2017
increible; ocupar todo el dinero en CGI y actores, y no preocuparse en un guion estable!
½ October 27, 2017
a pretty entertaining movie for the most part, but a lot of things do not work.
½ October 10, 2017
It's visuals are dazzling, but it's script is kind of a hot mess. But, i was dazzled.
Page 1 of 25400