Eden Lake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eden Lake Reviews

Page 1 of 116
January 16, 2017
Brutal depictions of torture, an emotionally devastating ending and a disturbingly realistic take on gang violence makes Eden Lake hard to watch but definitely worth the experience.
January 4, 2017
Highly intense, engaging, restrained, and effective thriller with an emotional punch. Impressively shot and acted with a moody score by David Julyan. Director James Watkins takes his time to build characters and tension, then throws you into an impossible situation to escape from. There are brilliant moments and smart jumps. The violence isn't gratuitous but it is still shocking and brutal. The director is a clever manipulator, causing you to root for the couple and hate the kids.

Although it's somewhat derivative and coincidental and the ending isn't as gratifying as I wanted it to be, even though it's haunting and (mostly) makes sense.

If you like dark horror films that are ordeals that cause you to cringe and yell at the characters, it doesn't get much better than this.

8.5/10.
December 28, 2016
A strong 4 stars. I only bumped it down because of the unbelievable nature of the story. I mean for most of the movie I was just shaking my head. Hey, I know it's only entertainment, but still. Besides that the movie was great! Wow! If you want to see a thrilling & suspenseful movie that's perfect in length, see this one.
December 26, 2016
Mesmerising and terrifying. One of the bleakest and best horror movies of recent times.
December 20, 2016
A very good thriller that has a couple trapped in the woods being hunted by kids who are jerks. As always, Michael Fassbender is great along with Kelly Reilly. Jack O'Connell also delivers a fantastic and sadistic performance. This movie is pretty straight forward and it is executed perfectly. The twist ending also stands out and makes this film even more shocking. Definitely a great watch!
½ November 27, 2016
2008's "Eden Lake" strives to be a nasty little thriller but proves to be just nasty - in store is not a roller coaster of adrenaline pumping but a sluggish ninety minute taunter characterized by its general lacking of humanity and its deterministic unpleasantness. A survival "thriller" that resembles a less fun, more fatalistic version of "The Most Dangerous Game" (1932), the film stars the breathlessly committed Kelly Reilly and Michael Fassbender as a young couple terrorized by ruthless hoodies during what's supposed to be a relaxing romantic getaway.
And that's all the setup one needs if actually willing to sit through this downer of a horror show - for most of "Eden Lake's" length do we find the duo in a battle of wits with savage adolescents led by a murderous teenager (Jack O'Connell) who brings an entirely new, and entirely frightening, dimension to the dangers of the mob mentality. None of the film's fun, though: when your primary antagonists are angsty juveniles more or less acting villainous as a way to please an intimidating peer, we tend to feel for them rather than actively despise them.
What sort of film writer/director James Watkins wants "Eden Lake" to be is unclear. Does he desire to bring us callous quasi slasher a la "High Tension" (2003), a frenetic survival of the fittest chiller akin to "The Descent" (2005), or an unfiltered exercise in barbarousness serving as a more watered down variant of "Wolf Creek" (2005)? An answer isn't much necessary: point is is that nothing about "Eden Lake" is remotely appealing - never does a thrill overcome us, a scare crawl under our skin. Only experienced is disconcertion lined in fatigue. Even its gut punch of an ending doesn't rile up the terror Watkins is so obviously trying to evoke. In a movie wherein the sun never shines and where there's no such thing as a right turn or a glimmer of hope, how could we expect less than disgusting misanthropy?
Kudos, then, to Reilly and Fassbender for portraying people in peril so effectively that we go through periods in which we decide that maybe the film's worth suffering for as means to witness their exceptional performances. Likewise for O'Connell, the then-eighteen-year-old hellcat scarier than any Hitchcock villain if only because he's easier to set off than a sensitive hand grenade. But even uniformly good work by a game ensemble can't much stir me to say "Eden Lake's" worth anything. Sure Watkins is adept at bringing alarm to the screen with dirt-covered grit. That doesn't mean I have to like the cinematic dish set out in front of me.
October 22, 2016
This is one hell of a survival flick. Jack O' Connell is a sick fucking bastard and it contains two scenes which are extremely disturbing. The finale is brutal.
October 14, 2016
Chaves run amok. Extremely distrubing in places and tense throughout. Jack O'Connell is fantastic as the psychotic sadistic lead chav
October 2, 2016
31 Days of Horror 2016 #2
½ September 17, 2016
One of the best and most effective british horror films. More Disturbing than scary, but remains a solid watch.
½ September 12, 2016
A pretty solid hoodie-horror set in the woods around a lake (not cliched at all) haha, but it's pretty tightly done, good pace, good acting and gripping.
August 17, 2016
A brutal but effective thriller that holds a steady pace and keeps things interesting all the way to the very end. There were a few things throughout the movie that didn't make much sense plot wise, and I believe there was a bit too much added "filler" brutality. The ending will not please many, but Eden Lake is still more than the average movie in it's genre.
½ July 19, 2016
This movie was great, after I hit the fast forward button and found the end of the agony!
½ July 6, 2016
Very disturbing and gory film that is actually worth watching. Clever script and decent acting from this crazy cast that has you feeling sorry for the antagonists at multiple points. The worst part of the film is that it is a little predictable but even when you know whats going to happen you still ask yourself why?
½ July 5, 2016
Fucking hated this piece of fucking garbage. Micheal Fassbender was the one bright spot in an otherwise utterly worthless film. His performance was quite good, but everything else was shit. Everything that could've gone wrong went wrong. The bad guy had the most irrational motive I've ever seen. If I had watched this on DVD, you can bet your ass that I would have broken the disc and burnt it in my backyard. This movie was so painful and disturbing to watch. The writer must be a heartless orc who only lives to hurt people, because that is the only purpose this movie serves. They make you feel attached to characters only to put those characters through the worst, most upsetting conditions someone can go through. I feel like I need a new set of eyes now.
½ June 1, 2016
happy children's day
May 27, 2016
Decent enough acting but nothing more than pointless gratuitous violence - torture porn. If you're a sick sadist and get off on watching people suffer then this is for you.
½ May 9, 2016
are u fucking kidding me
May 2, 2016
Didn't really know much about this, but I saw it had Kelly Reilly and Michael Fassbender and was from the director of Woman in Black so figured it couldn't be that bad, ugh was I wrong, i mean kelly and michael are good actors, and they arent bad in this, but it's an ugly vile movie, often just being repulsive for its own sake, the whole set up of just some punk teenagers being mad at this couple was stupid, and then it just goes all downhill, dont waste your time with this
April 18, 2016
Gratuitous violence i.e. torture porn is not entertainment. This film is gutwrenchingly bleak. The sense of forboding dread in the first 30 minutes is difficult to bear. You just know something really awful is going to happen and in that sense it doesn't disappoint. Once it did happen I found myself realising that life is too violent and horrible as it is. Why watch a reenactment of it in all its grisly glory?? If it were a true story like SnowTown for example then I could see the point but because it isn't it just comes across as very tawdry and sordid and I felt like I needed a shower after. The 3 stars Im giving it are for production quality and acting only.
Page 1 of 116