Eden Lake - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Eden Lake Reviews

Page 1 of 116
½ October 4, 2013
happy children's day
May 27, 2016
Decent enough acting but nothing more than pointless gratuitous violence - torture porn. If you're a sick sadist and get off on watching people suffer then this is for you.
½ May 9, 2016
are u fucking kidding me
May 2, 2016
Didn't really know much about this, but I saw it had Kelly Reilly and Michael Fassbender and was from the director of Woman in Black so figured it couldn't be that bad, ugh was I wrong, i mean kelly and michael are good actors, and they arent bad in this, but it's an ugly vile movie, often just being repulsive for its own sake, the whole set up of just some punk teenagers being mad at this couple was stupid, and then it just goes all downhill, dont waste your time with this
April 18, 2016
Gratuitous violence i.e. torture porn is not entertainment. This film is gutwrenchingly bleak. The sense of forboding dread in the first 30 minutes is difficult to bear. You just know something really awful is going to happen and in that sense it doesn't disappoint. Once it did happen I found myself realising that life is too violent and horrible as it is. Why watch a reenactment of it in all its grisly glory?? If it were a true story like SnowTown for example then I could see the point but because it isn't it just comes across as very tawdry and sordid and I felt like I needed a shower after. The 3 stars Im giving it are for production quality and acting only.
April 16, 2016
Annoying, dumb main character and incredibly lame plot
½ April 9, 2016
Excellent film other than the lead female role, she was totally pathetic and could have save both their lives about 10 times! Very annoying
½ April 3, 2016
Eden Lake try to mimic #TheDescent (same music, similar structure) but failed to makes us caring about characters. We just want to kill them all.
It's a sick cruel upsetting bad joke about stupids kids torturing people who dies at the end.
Some maybe think that's "a way to do" cinema. Yes, I can cut the head of your mom and slap you with it and I say: "Hey did you like it?"
It's not cinema, it's an adolescent ego screaming at our face and feeling happy that he initiate strong reaction by the audience. I think Watkins need more slaps to learn that throwing horrors at our face is not that hard, any moron can do that.
December 8, 2015
are u fucking kidding me
½ December 17, 2011
Eden Lake: pursuit, persecution, violent death. i love it!
February 12, 2016
A very effective and gruesome thriller, especially for a British movie.
February 2, 2016
I liked the fact that the children are the killers, they have no pity for this couple and that's amazing
½ January 27, 2016
A very good British-thriller with amazing acting, but Eden Lake sort of gets dragged down at the end of the movie. I think there could have been a better ending.
½ December 7, 2012
I usually never comment but this is fucked up
January 1, 2016
I made the grave mistake of watching Excision, Inside (French film), and this one back to back to back. I have now lost all hope in the human race.

I need to watch a comedy next, in hope to stay sain.
November 25, 2015
I wasn't aware of the genre Hoodie Horror before but I am led to believe that this is one of the best of those films. It was quite enjoyable but the ending wasn't. I thought the ending was chilling and definitely not a happy one.
December 18, 2015
You will be traumatised, thrilled, appalled and disgusted. The ending is not acceptable, sorry no, give us a sequel with an explanation.
½ December 4, 2015
This is a well made, but relentlessly dark film. It stars Kelly Reilly("TrueDetective S.2"), Jack O'Connell("Unbroken") and Michael Fassbender. It's a horror-thriller about a group of young teenagers terrorizing a happy couple. It's done in a fairly realistic manner and is quite violent. It definitely stays with you after the film ends. For genre or Fassbender fans only.
December 2, 2015
What a refreshing watch. I never expected this movie to be any good when it started up but its so nevering and such an uncomfortable watch. Its got a matter of realism too it in what is an excellent British horror movie. There were some excellent performances by Reilly, Fassbender and O'Connell which only enhanced this movies cringeworthiness. Its an intense movie which is bound to be one of the best horrors I have seen in recent years.
November 22, 2015
Tomatometer is really full of shit. They gave this 83% when by it's a laugh trip as two bumbling idiots, largely on account of the Boyfriend, make mistakes after mistakes that you celebrate and delight when they get punished. First big mistake was when BF goes inside a house. Everybody knows you don't trespass. It's against the law. Still we gave them another one last chance. But a few scenes later, he made the mistake of driving fast with his car even AFTER he's cleared off danger. By that time, we are already celebrating when he crashes the car.
Page 1 of 116