Evilspeak - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evilspeak Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 21, 2016
an impressive performance from a young Clint Howard
sort-of along the lines of 'Carrie' with a bit of black magic involved
Coopersmith has a very high IQ but all that does is get him bullied by everyone at the military academy from his rival classmates to his coach to the principal
he finds solace in a strange book filled with evil incantations unaware that when he translates the passages into his computer that actually work
murders happen from killer pigs to twisting people's heads around
there's even a particularly heartbreaking animal scene that goes one step to far for him
so what does someone like Coopersmith do when all is against him? summon the forces of Satan to be precise
it's really nothing original but the gore is a-plenty and Howard is very convincing as the social pariah of a refined institute
½ October 19, 2016
It's not quite as polished as it could be and depending on your tastes, it could be considered cheesy but fans of gory 80's horror, there's a lot of fun to be had. Really dark tone and atmosphere with some great visuals.
Super Reviewer
½ June 18, 2016
It's essentially a male Carrie, and worth a watch.
April 29, 2016
Brilliant "vid nasty" fom the eighties...
February 1, 2016
This is rated one of the top 10, for the cheesiest horror flicks of the 80s - yet, it's golden for being hilarious. I am not sure how a nerdy outcast can summon the devil through an old-school computer (when Wi-Fi didn't exist). Anyway, he needed a technological Devil to enter his soul, so he could seek revenge on the bullies. Weird green satanic demons flashed on his face (which was obviously a cheap projector, with dull light bulbs). He started flying through the air with a sword, when all of a sudden.... "oink!" That's right, man eating pigs appeared underneath him. There's nothing scarier than snorting hog's running after the bad guys! lol
January 31, 2016
Nothing like a good horror/revenge movie.
October 28, 2015
Clint Howards best film ever consists mostly of a bully revenge story where the school nerd gets picked on by the school jock. This is a common theme in film during the 80s. But once you get to the finale, hold on to your bacon! Gore, FX, magic, Satan, flying, craziness galore!
It's worth the trod through the first 3/4 of the film to get to the payoff.
August 27, 2015
Evilspeak is essentially Carrie meets WarGames, although WarGames came along a year after this one. The film has aged and is fairly slow to get going there are more enjoyable films that made the Video Nasties list (I'm not sure this deserved it's place even uncut its relatively mild) but this one is watchable and has it's moments.
½ July 31, 2015
Clint Howard (Ice Cream Man, Arrested Development) has hair and is an orphaned cadet at a military academy who is routinely bullied. After discovering a Satanic tome, he uses it, along with his computer knowledge, to hold a Black Mass in order to get revenge on the more likeable students. The graphics are run-of-the-mill for the time period and story is average fair (akin to Carrie). The Satanic stuff is fun of course, but it's rather slow for the first half.
½ March 7, 2015
A truly strange horror film that is really dull for almost it's whole runtime, but yet you still keep watching, because maybe something will happen...it dose, the last ten minutes are absolutely batshit insane and almost make-up for the preceding hour and twenty odd minutes, fire, satanic pigs and decapitation all feature and it leaves you thankful for your patience in a big satisfying way. Worth watching, even if you want to just skip to the end.
November 17, 2014
Evilspeak is one of the most boring Horror movies i've ever seen! when i heard that the movie was about a tormented youngster who uses a computer and spells from the occult to take revenge on his bullies i was hoping on allot of creative death scenes, a kick ass finally and an all around well paste movie...what i got was ron howard being bullied for an hour and ten minutes, a view badly edited, uncreative death scenes and a weak ending...this movie sucks eggs
Super Reviewer
October 31, 2014
Hell hath no fury like a nerd seeking revenge. This is not a run-of-the-mill geek-empowerment flick as the preface of a cult being excommunicated from Spain indicates. Sadly the various mannequin beheadings look very tawdry which is befitting of the minuscule budget. Orphaned and marooned at a military school (the regimented setting is a breeding ground for horror-movie mayhem), Coopersmith (Clint Howard) is continuously chastised by his peers for his poor soccer skills and social awkwardness. 'Evilspeak' is a crisp, if belatedly madcap starring vehicle for Howard who is typecast as maladjusted, gap-toothed introverts. Most of the runtime is a tautening groundswell until Coopersmith reaches his boiling point and the film is frontloaded with cruelty from Coopersmith's classmates who physically abuse him and casually insult him. Normally the on-screen act of someone furiously typing on a keyboard quickly devolves in ennui but translating Latin texts of pentagram Satanism captivates the helter-skelter allure. A black mass is on the cusp and the viewers anxiously anticipate Coopersmith assembling the incomplete ingredient of a consecrated host. A convulsive head snap and gluttonous pigs are just appetizers to the unspeakable anarchy ahead. 'Evilspeak' delivers the viscera in a church bloodbath and it is a sacrilegious joy to behold.
½ October 5, 2014
The devil is in the details in this inconsistently filmed, choppily edited, yet surprisingly coherent horror film with only few scares, but not entirely devoid of entertainment overall.
½ September 21, 2014
Satanic pigs, a killer Jesus statue, school boy decapitations, impressive effects, strong imagery and a demonic computer. Evilspeak is wildly inventive and has its tongue firmly in cheek. More than just a Carrie rip off, this revenge of the dork tale has a very sympathetic pro/antagonist and isn't ashamed to throw in some kooky idiosyncrasies to set itself apart.
Will leave you desperate for a desktop wallpaper reading "HUMAN BLOOD, I WILL RETURN".
½ July 18, 2014
When I first heard this movie, it was hard to believe you could make something like this, so I was expecting a rather interesting movie. After seeing this movie, I can honestly say that you can count on this movie to deliver what it promises...eventually anyway. Apart from the initial introduction of the character Lorenzo Estaban and a somewhat standard "satanic" ritual, the movie is extremely slow in pace. For well over half the movie, which amounts a whole hour or maybe more than that out of the whole 97 minutes of the movie, all that happens is you get acquainted with the main character and his sufferings, and about the only interesting things that happen involve the mysterious book he acquires (which, by the way, for a "satanic" book features an upward pointing pentagram, not downward) and the protagonist playing with his computer (which does some amazing things in this movie) and dog (an unexpected element of cuteness in the movie). Throughout this it kinda feels like some parts of the movie differ in the way they are filmed from the rest of the movie. However, the characters actually do evoke reaction in the meantime, and you can actually feel for the oppressed geek main character, and everyone but him gets to you as horrid enough that you actually want them to suffer the fate that awaits them. And need I mention, a diabolical army of pigs! You can't really put that down entirely, though they are a source of much of the horror, including one of the more unsettling moments. As I got closer to the end, I was actually expecting a rather formulaic ending, but then our protagonist shows up, possessed with a sword and with the army of pigs and tear up the church that all his tormentors are in. In that respect, the ending actually defied my expectations and proved very entertaining (although there's something about the epilogue that doesn't make sense). In conclusion, this film is very slow in pace, but it does horrify, is somewhat interesting, and the climax is worth it. I wouldn't recommend it for everyone, and I wouldn't say it's one of the best movies I've seen, but it does deliver. Though as I said, it delivers eventually, and you may have to be patient for it.
½ July 18, 2014
I honestly find it hard to believe that this movie even exists, but I think I understand how this film could have been outrageous for some people. For me, it's just a slow horror movie that seems more like a test of your patience than a horror movie. The film itself looks very much like a low-budget horror, and if you look closely, the quality of the video footage seems to change often, almost as though certain scenes were shot with different cameras. None of the characters are really likeable, and though Clint Howard makes a convincing geek, his face often looks as though he was on drugs. Though the film is only 97 minutes long, it's incredibly slow, and most of the story seems like it was added just for the sake of length padding, but if you have the patience, you'll be rewarded with scenes that actually qualify as horror, and an ending that doesn't disappoint. It's still something of a daft horror movie, but I wouldn't dismiss it entirely, not when there's an army of demonic pigs to look forward to. If you're a fan of horror movies, I'd check it out. Otherwise, stay away from Evilspeak.
June 29, 2014
Takes a while to get going, but man oh man, what an ending! Gore, man-eating pigs, decapitations, it's awesome! Clint Howard is also the ugliest man alive, sorry to say.
½ June 23, 2014
Some excellent gore but this movie is mostly boring. The last 10 minutes are fairly insane. Of course Clint Howard is perfect for the main character.
½ June 1, 2014
The worm turns; it is one of the more common plot devices in horror fiction. Clint Howard in the first of many weirdo roles in genre pictures plays a put-upon military school welfare case who suffers abuse from his classmates and instructors. After finding occult tomes in a secret chamber beneath the academy's chapel, Howard uses his state-of-the-art Apple computer to translate the tomes and discovers the secrets of a Satan-worshiping Father Esteban who fled the Inquisition to the New World (California). Esteban is played by Richard Moll; before Night Court Moll played tall, daunting villains in genre films. What can you say, a whacked-out Clint Howard, vintage Apple computer technology from 1982, Satanic pig attacks (don't ask), What's Happening's Heywood Nelson as Howard's only friend and the only Black guy named "Kowalawski." If you like 1980s horror flicks, its worth a look and is available on Blu-Ray thanks to the Shout Factory's Scream Factory.
Page 1 of 4