Fame - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fame Reviews

Page 1 of 60
July 14, 2016
Of course this came out right at the beginning of the 1980s. Of course it did. Those drama students dancing in the street to Irene Cara's famous theme song, it's an indelible eighties leg-warmer style image. But there's more to the film than that. There's deprivation, and one man's struggle to learn to read, and a struggle with sexuality, and an attack on a child, and one girl tricked into taking topless photographs, and contemplation of suicide. In the end, though, it is also about that song.
½ July 12, 2016
"Fame" seems to be responsible for the modern era of saccharine and mindless reality "young talent" television and films, which is quite the dubious honor.
½ June 5, 2016
Rapistically creepy.
½ April 17, 2016
Most of the storylines did not get resolved. The beginning was too long and the end was anticlimactic. I enjoyed a lot of the middle and thought that this film had a lot of potential but felt unfinished. But the characters were great as well as some of the dance scenes and songs. I don't really know where that leaves me so i'll just give it a 2.5/5.
½ March 3, 2016
Both energetically upbeat and depressingly gritty. Very compelling but there's perhaps too much going on; leavings some aspects of the story and characters underdeveloped. There are also some sillier elements that really clash with the realism that they seem to be striving for.
December 6, 2015
With all of the fuss lately about schools cutting their arts programs, one has to ask whether arts education is really important in high schools. As an art student myself, I can attest to how unimportant arts education in high school actually is. "Fame" does a marvelous job of portraying this to its audiences. "Fame" shows its audiences exactly what happens when a high school student is granted the opportunity to study their art in school. These students choose to spend their time perfecting their art rather than actually gaining an education, and therefore are not at all prepared for life after high school.
I think it's a great idea for these students to pursue their art form as a career. However, these students need to be prepared for the real world. You can't always plan for everything. What happens if you get injured? What happens if all the training you've put in isn't good enough? What happens if a few stupid decisions prevent you from ever getting a serious job? If you only focused on your art classes in high school, you're screwed. Sadly, most high school students don't think that far in advance when they first enter high school. They are only focused on what's fun and convenient for them in the moment. They lack the perspective and cognitive training to think any other way. By granting teenagers the opportunity to sacrifice their academic classes for arts classes, you are essential giving them a heavily unbalanced set of options to choose from, which, if they make the wrong choice, could make their life a lot more difficult than it needs to be in the long run.
Super Reviewer
November 26, 2015
A delightful, compelling drama with a wonderful soundtrack and a gallery of characters that we really grow to care about, and what is best is to see that it never loses its pacing and is told so fluidly in loosely organized fragments thanks to the great editing.
October 4, 2015
WOW.......WOW......WOW.....JUST SUCH A FANTASTIC MOVIE 2 WATCH........MAN I HAVE JUST SEEN THIS MOVIE 4 THE 1ST TIME N THINK THAT THIS IS SUCH A GREAT CLASSICS MOVIE 2 WATCH......ITS GOT A GOOD CAST OF ACTORS/ACTRESSESS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......I THINK THAT Irene cara, barry miller, gene Anthony ray (.R.I.P.), Debbie allen, jim moody, albert hague (.R.I.P.), anne meara (.R.I.P.), play good roles/parts throughout this movie......I think that the director of this drama/musical/performing arts movie had done such a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......I think that this is such a really well written/acted/directed movie 2 watch, I think that this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch........its got such a great soundtrack throughout this movie......I think that this is far superior than the pointless 2009 remake as that movie was just dreadful.......



Fame spawned a television series of the same name with Lee Curreri, Albert Hague, Gene Anthony Ray and Debbie Allen reprising their respective roles, a spin-off TV series, and a musical that opened in 1988 at the Coconut Grove Playhouse in Miami, has played in London's West End since 1995. MGM has since produced a remake of this film, released in 2009. The remake received generally negative reviews in contrast to the original. Debbie Allen appeared in this movie, but this time, she played the school principal, Angela Simms





The original screenplay was titled Hot Lunch and this was the title for the film until part-way through shooting when director Alan Parker noted a pornographic film showing on 42nd Street with the same title. For the rest of the shooting schedule of 14 weeks the script was just labeled "title". David De Silva noted that the porno film starred Al Parker so that confusion might ensue if the original title remained




man this is such a classics movie 2 watch, its got such a fantastic cast throughout this movie.....it is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch with a superb cast throughout this movie it is such a classics 1980s movie 2 watch, WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT SOME SCENES THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE........
April 10, 2015
The story is a bit melodramatic but this still blows out any Glee episode ever made.
April 5, 2015
A coming of age film about students of the art college. Each student fails in something but life still goes on.
½ March 5, 2015
The original High School Musical is awesome, more personal, and more original than its remake. Fame has awesome performances, an amazing plot, and unforgettable characters and music. Fame deserves more attention and it is ultimately timeless.
January 17, 2015
Passionate, raw, imperfectly authentic in places, this is a glimpse of the real thing. It also sent many kids, in droves, to ny and it's tough performance schools.
A bit too gritty at times, wallowing in the filth, and rubs your nose in the underside of Gotham, but also shows the hard fought victories that made this an iconic film for those souls who decided to fight for their dream.
½ January 5, 2015
As Fame begins to unspool and you realize that the movie's a lot more endearingly grimy and profane than you recall...just blame it on that stupid TV knockoff.
November 18, 2014
I all most feal a sleep watching this movie
November 9, 2014
***Due to the recent RT changes that have basically ruined my past reviews, I mostly only giving a rating rather than a full review.***
½ May 26, 2014
A very fun movie with great musical numbers and a great script. My biggest probably was this movie was way too long. A good hour of this movie was useless and could have been cut. But it is a very fun movie with a great ensemble
May 5, 2014
A disjointed, pretentious mess hitting all the cliches and with many a feeling-filled speech signifying nothing.
April 27, 2014
It's one of those musicals that isn't really "a musical", but as a teen drama with deep adult themes and narrative, Fame takes many risks to remember its name, just like the characters in the movie.
Super Reviewer
½ April 20, 2014
I've always liked the song Fame. It took me 28 years to see the movie. I enjoyed the music and dancing. As a film I thought it was mediocre - too many draggy scenes.
February 23, 2014
QUE MUSICA QUE HISTORIA QUE CANCIONES MAGNIFICA
Page 1 of 60