Fifty Shades of Grey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades of Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 231
½ May 23, 2017
KYS

I HAVEN'T SEEN THE MOVIE AND I NEVER WILL
May 17, 2017
Sadly, it was as disappointing as I expected. I'm probably the last hold out. I agree. If he was trailer trash, it would be stalking and criminal. He needs therapy not $$$ toys.
May 16, 2017
My god. I've never experienced so many emotions while watching a movie. The first act had me bored, the second act had me laughing when I really shouldn't have been, and the last act had me horrified. What will Hollywood think of next?

0/10.

(Yes, I have seen the movie, I'm just using "Not Interested" as my 0/10 rating. Come on, Rotten Tomatoes, add a zero rating!)
Super Reviewer
May 11, 2017
Look, this isn't going to be a review that raves about how good this film is, because it truly is trash. I feel as though this film is a genius picture on many levels, due to its manipulative styles and ways of getting people into the theatre. Looking back on Fifty Shades of Grey, it really was just a marketing tactic for a certain demographic. Sure, fans of the book watched it and may have got some enjoyment out of it, but the story, accompanied by the god-awful dialogue, really does make this film a treat to watch, even if you can admit how bad it is. I have no idea how seriously the books are to be taken, nor do I ever intend on finding that out, but this film is an absolute blast to watch, because the dialogue is completely ridiculous. Here is why you should check out Fifty Shades of Grey, even though it's terrible.

Following Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey as they meet through a business meeting, she quickly becomes infatuated with him, only to realize that there is a lot more to him behind the scenes. Tormented by the fact that he likes to inflict pain onto women who enjoy it, he is very heavy into BDSM. Accepting her as his girlfriend and trying to get her to sign a non-disclosure agreement to participate in these events that would pleasure him, their relationship grows in very strange ways. Filled with horribly written dialogue and a plot that really doesn't go anywhere, this first instalment doesn't do to get fans to return, although I'm sure the readers will be there on day one of all three films.

While the story of this film is obviously not to be taken too seriously, the performances in both Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan definitely lifts the film from the ashes in my opinion. There chemistry may not be perfect, but they do give these roles their all, especially Johnson. These are some of the most irrelevant and dumb characters I have seen on-screen in quite some time, but their performances are what make them bearable. There are times when the dialogue coming out of their mouths is so terrible that I can do nothing but chuckle, but Anastasia could be completely in tears. There was clear effort in making this film better than it

The main reason people flocked out to see this film, was clearly due to the shock value. People who hadn't read the books were curious, people who knew it was going to be a poor film wanted a good laugh, and fans of the book were hoping to be satisfied. But were the scenes memorable in any way? Memorable in the sense that they are solely done for shock value, yes, but they really aren't that shocking, especially when they are limited even with an R rating. I did not go into this film hoping these scenes would be great though. I was hoping for great chemistry and compelling characters, which was a mistake from the very beginning. Having said all of this, these sequences should please fans of the book. In that way, I guess the film does its job.

In the end, Fifty Shades of Grey sets out to please the fans and draw in interested people. That is exactly what it accomplished and absolutely nothing more. With wooden characters and a plot that centres solely around the fact that a woman is unsure if she should be trusting this man, there really isn't much substance to be had. Overall, as I said, it does its core job for fans, but newcomers will either roll their eyes, find it funny, or walk out. Released on Valentine's Day, as are the sequels, it's the perfect spot for a film like this, especially if they are in the mood for some cash returns. Fifty Shades of Grey is a very, very bad film, but undeniably accomplished its goal. For that, I give it a few props.
May 10, 2017
I did enjoy Fifty Shades of Grey. There. I said it. I also enjoyed the books a lot merely because of how horrible the prose was. This is an enjoyably silly, schmaltzy love story to start the year off with that fans of the book will love but non-fans will HATE. The love scenes are pretty sexy and Dakota Johnson is TERRIFIC as Anastasia Steele. Jamie Dornan is a tad stiff, but that's only because the script has nothing for him to do but stand around and brood with his shirt off.

Then again, it's a VERY silly movie, so silly that I can't quite recommend you pay to see it in theaters. There's practically no plot. The entire movie is about Anastasia deciding if she should become Christian Grey's submissive or not. Every scene is him asking her "Have you made a decision yet?" and her responding "No, but soon..." Come on! Give us a better story! There's also the fact that the supporting actors, all very good (especially Eloise Mumford, as Anastasia's roommate), are COMPLETELY underwritten.

Let's just hope that Fifty Shades Darker (which does have a better plot) is a better movie.
May 9, 2017
Overly long and boring. Diffently not as nasty as rumored to be. I found this movie quite dull and slow moving, would have been better if it were only about 90 minutes. Watch 9 1/2 Weeks instead.
May 8, 2017
I thought it was decent, would've liked more of a back story though.
½ May 6, 2017
Two hours of Anastasia biting her lips. Some great takes but not more than that.
½ May 2, 2017
In this era where pornography is easily accessible, a shallow, commercial picture about BDSM can only be a big tease. Dakota Johnson is the naive, virginal undergrad who interviews a billionaire (Jamie Dornan) then, obsequiously, becomes a submissive to his sadomasochistic desires. The writing is banal; the dialogue is atrocious; the acting is flat; and it's visually drab. The sex scenes are shockingly tame - impersonal and without eroticism. (It is no more provocative than one of those late night, made-for-Cinemax movies with Shannon Tweed.) It could've been a camp exploitation classic, like "Showgirls," if everyone involved hadn't taken the material so seriously. For a more honest depiction of BDSM watch "Secretary" instead. Based on the critically derided, but phenomenally popular book (unread by me) by EL James. Written by Kelly Marcel and Directed by Sam Taylor-Johnson, which only proves that women can make movies about sex just as ineptly as men. A hit at the box office, though the audience I saw it with groaned at the unresolved ending.
½ April 23, 2017
The book moves along not disclosing whether Grey is talking about his fantasies or experiences. Many men have extreme fantasies. From the opening scenes, the movie is graphic and unappealing... pure garbage.
½ April 21, 2017
i want 2 give this zero stars, but the app won't let me.
April 13, 2017
I was expecting something better..I'm really desapointed
½ April 10, 2017
This was a far better movie than given credit by some. I sometimes think there are a few moralists out there that think they gain points with St. Peter by slamming movies of this genre. This movie was well written with strong character portrayal.
April 2, 2017
No story, failed to depict the darkness and the journey through the darkness to the world of pleasure. I havent read the books, but the movie seems have thrown it without all away quite pointlessly, may be expecting everyone will come to see the movie anyway, based on the popularity of the book ?
March 27, 2017
Puke. Not entirely but generally.
March 27, 2017
Most of the stars here are for Dakota Johnson :)
I enjoyed the one review quote ; " if movie is 20 minutes of sex then rest of 40 minutes Johnson biting her lip and 20 minutes with pencil in mouth " :)
March 24, 2017
Entertainingly Terrible, should be filed under rom/com.

First off, let me make it known that this film was utterly terrible. However, a bad review i feel would be harsh on the actors, director and everyone who made the movie, as everything about it was as good as it could possibly be, except the story. The story was the one element that was completely out of their hands, there is only so well that you can polish faecal matter.

It was actually entertaining in it's ridiculous dialogue at times, to the point of actual laugh out loud comedy.

The best way I could find to describe this film is a hormonal girl's mind with a multi-million dollar budget.
March 23, 2017
This movie catches you by surprise like it did to me considering I read all the books. Both stars were perfect in every way.
½ March 21, 2017
Worst movie ever the actress should kill herself
March 19, 2017
They stayed pretty true to the book, it's definitely not a movie I would have gone to theatres to see, but overall I thought they portrayed it well.
Page 1 of 231