Fifty Shades of Grey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fifty Shades of Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 234
½ September 10, 2018
i dont know it just seemed boring
like, i expected a movie about a dom/sub relationship to be so much more erotic and exciting.
also i dont think they cast Anastaisa well
i get what they were going for with the way they cast her
i just dont think it worked overall
August 31, 2018
This was awful. Not even one of the shades of grey was any good. Jamie Dornan was totally miscast. Here is this boyish, preppy, exceedingly gay-looking, sort of background "extra" type, yet portrayed as a warped, psycho, woman-and-self-loathing monster, more like Barney Fife on steroids. All you real masochists and sadists - out there in movie land - you should have your money refunded and receive a sincere apology for having to watch such a pathetic, watery and Disneyland rendition of your black arts played out - to what ultimately came down to an ice cube and a fly swatter. I have seen more violence on Pee Wee's Playhouse. Yes, the backstory is that this suave, urban wacko had his ass whipped when he was a kid. Now, to set things right in his mind, he must redden the tushies of 15 young ladies. Here is a pseudo-story with no substance, no plot, no meaning, no subtext, and nothing of any literary content. Granted, Mr. Jamie Bondage is a snappy dresser, but as an American Business Tycoon, he is no Donald Trump. Who is running his vast business empire, while he is fumbling with the toys in his mock-Gothic Play Room? He would be more believable playing Parker Bros. Monopoly than anything else.
½ August 25, 2018
Do we really need another movie about sex? there's a site called Pornhub for that.
August 16, 2018
beautiful movie loved it so much my boyfriend and i had sex throughout the entire trilogy not only a spectacular film but it really gets you goin if you know what i mean
½ August 2, 2018
One of my favorite novels has finally came on the big screen!
Well, it really was better than the novel in something:
First, it was faster and non-boring like the novel.
Second, it was absolutely more erotic.
But it wasn't an amazing movie, 'cause it had the most dumb thing in the novel:
The ending was definitely bad, I know that it was from the novel, but I didn't like it in the novel too!
Well, the cast was sometimes ridiculous!
So, Fifty Shades of Grey is such a good movie.
The things I liked as a movie was:
The cast (not beside the novel) was good, and the couple was really talented, but as a novel fan, I expected more.
The sex scenes was really erotic and romantic!
The story was lovely and fast.
That's all the things I loved and hated about this movie, and I think that the reviews was really unfair and hard on it!
½ July 31, 2018
Lame Porn. They wanted to say it;s not porn, but it is, and not very good.
½ July 23, 2018
Got to be the worst film. Nothing like I imagined from the book. A different Actress could have saved this maybe.
½ July 12, 2018
A medias y Con muy poca fuerza, Un film con el que no logras sentir ningún tipo de vinculo narrativo, nunca cuenta nada no muestra nada que logra ser parte de una Historia, al parecer esta cinta se prepara para crear campo con sus próximas entregas pero olvida que debe ser funcional por si sola, apesar de eso la cinta no tiene nada interesante aparte de su soundtrack,un Increíble trabajo logra construir pisas sonoras que son funcionales de manera increíble con las imagenes, lastimosamente lo unico interesante de la película no tuvo nada que ver con el proceso de producción de ella .
June 20, 2018
It's like a boring thriller and an un-sexy romance in one. *blech*
June 19, 2018
Well, I finally watched it. I'd read the book and it was just disturbing. No, not because of the content, which is just normal erotica, but by the horrendous writing. EL James is a talentless hack. The popularity of this book is just sad on many levels. Ladies, there is much better erotica out there. In fact, I'm quite sure I could write my own better erotica. In any case, while the first 15-20 minutes stuck to the book, that's what made me almost turn off the ridiculous thing. Seriously stupid dialogue with absolutely no character generation at all. Just straight into it. However, I'd like to at least point out the positives. One, I'm so glad they used an actual writer for the screenplay. Kelly Marcel changed up quite a bit, especially toward the end, that made the movie pseudo tolerable. While Jamie Dornan had the arrogance down, I expected a taller, blonder, more Nordic look to Christian. And, while Dakota played the timid girl-turned-submissive quite well, I honestly expected someone more attractive. Yet, given the crappy content, they both made it work as best it could. I admit, I liked the ending much better than the book as it leaves anyone enjoying the film, yearning for the follow-up, which was really the intent all along.
½ May 23, 2018
BEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM US ADULTS TO THE WHOLE FILM CREW,LOVED IT... DAKOTA JOHNSON JUST totally EARNED THE SHOW,Great work..BEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM US ADULTS TO THE WHOLE FILM CREW,LOVED IT... DAKOTA JOHNSON JUST totally EARNED THE SHOW,Great work(a lot of respect for DAKOTA JOHNSON MA'AM)....
May 19, 2018
Contrary to popular opinion, I loved this movie and yes there were cringe-worthy moments but it was entertaining to watch.
May 13, 2018
For context, my husband and I decided to watch Fifty Shades of Grey as an outlet for our playoff frustrations. It seemed exactly the sort of movie that would appeal to our need to poke fun at something. Surprisingly, it wasn't quite as stupidly constructed as we had hoped. While the storyline is silly and the script painfully simple, the scenes moved, the romance developed and the ending gave us just enough of a 'cliff hanger' to convince us to watch the next film.
May 11, 2018
I enjoyed this film. You have to remember that it is a fantasy. Everyone brings up that it is not realistic. Its not supposed to be LOL!!!
May 10, 2018
As far as cringe inducing dialogue and energy-less performances go, I've seen worse, but what makes "Fifty Shades" so numbing is its roadmap to nowhere of a plot.
May 6, 2018
decent so bad its good material
April 23, 2018
50 Shades of Grey - 1 out of 5- Wow this movie was bad horrible lines I had more fun mocking the film then watching it. There is nothing overly offensive or sexual about this film just typical stuff you see in movie. I thought the Wolf of Wallstreet was more sexual and had more nudity than this film. My recommendation is skip this film all together even if you read the book you'll be left disappointed the only reason to watch it would to be able to mock the horrible directing and acting.
April 15, 2018
Provocative Performance From The Submissive..Grey Was As Bland, Boring & Colourless As His Namesake Suggests. Yep...NeeXXXt!!! Ugh...hand me the bucket.
April 11, 2018
I watched the trailer and automatically knew I would never watch this movie.
April 6, 2018
Of the three movies, this is the best. That's not to say it's great, it isn't. The characters of Christian & Anastasia are close to what I'd expect having read the books. The dialogue between them works and there's definite chemistry- not sure I'm buying a uncomfortable-looking Jamie Dornan as a dominant Mr Grey though.
Kind of feels like they had a list of plot points to cover & checked them off without much thought.
Page 1 of 234