Fudoh: The New Generation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fudoh: The New Generation Reviews

Page 1 of 8
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ April 27, 2009
Takashi Miike is a mixed bag of a director. There are some films that come across as brilliant and others that are just so-so. Fudoh: The New Generation is one that falls into the latter category.There isn't much depth to the story, as it is basically assassination after assassination in a Yakuza themed film. Of course Miike tends to spice it up with the usual unique characters, bloody violence, nudity, sex, and strong language. This will come across as entertaining, however there are times when it is just unnecessary. It is almost like overbuilding certain aspects of the film.The violence is a plenty and bloody. I mean, there are young kids and school girls performing kills in this picture. Seems like the typical gangster thugs aren't enough.The nudity and sex is a bit much at times. One of Fudoh's right hand gals shoots darts from her lower lips. Yeah, that's right. There are also times where it seems that this is on the verge of wanting to turn into a soft core porn.The acting is over the top and it matches with Miike's characters. Shosuke Tanihara is a little disappointing as Fudoh, but the beautiful schoolgirls in Tamaki Kenmochi and Miho Nomoto are there to take your eyes off of him. Riki Takeuchi is good, even though his character suffers from too little airtime, and Kenji Takano looks like he doesn't belong.Fudoh: The New Generation will excite some and freak out others. Feel free to take a chance on this one.
DragonEyeMorrison
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2007
Miike has done way better, aside from some fun scenes it doesn't go too far. Even something like City of Lost Souls is more solid. Also, the ending of this is just a damn slap in the face. Rikki Takeuchi should have been used more.
Super Reviewer
December 21, 2007
The first Miike film I saw and boy was my ass kicked. This and Battle Royale are what got me in to Japanese films when I started getting tired of North American flicks. An incredible yakuza/exploitation classic.
June 28, 2010
After listening to a podcast from IFC about shock cinema, my interest in seeing Fudoh: The New Generation was sparked. As far as violent and gory movies go Japan has a pretty strong hold on the market. And one of the most notable film-makers whose films contain a lot of over the top, or boundary pushing violence would be Takashi Miike. Now, compared to some of his later films Fudoh: The New Generation isn't as shocking, but it contains a lot of aspects to it that might raise some eyebrows. But leave it up to Miike to make the film strangely enjoyable, even with some rather unusual content.

Fudoh: The New Generation pits father against son, after Riki Fudoh's (Shosuke Tanihara) brother is killed by their father to appease a rival yakuza boss. Starting his own criminal organization at his high school, Riki employs an assortment of unusual bodyguards and assassins. There are a couple of pint-sized kids who tote massive fire power, and even a stripper who uses a blowgun; but doesn't use her mouth to shoot the darts at her victims. I won't say where she does put it, but you should be able to guess that one easily.

Like a lot of Japanese shock cinema, there is a lot of blood in Fudoh. And it is done in that fashion where people have endless gallons of blood that emit out of them whenever they are cut, stabbed or shot. Also, people seem to be able to take massive amounts of damage before they finally die. There is a shootout in a bathroom, where a man is hit dozens of times with power guns but keeps on moving. It's this sort of disregard to both logic and seriousness that made this film so enjoyable to watch.

Fudoh: The New Generation has a nice steady pace to it, bizarre characters and situations as well as an endless supply of fun and memorable eye candy. Gangster movies have a tendency of being too serious, especially with their violent content. Which is why I think I like the perverse twist that Fudoh uses on standard gangster movies, which really helps the film stand out from the majority of the other films of the genre. It may not be as great as other notable gangster films, but it is one that you won't soon forget after seeing.
April 15, 2010
few films are as equivalently awesome and over the top like this. the gore is goofy and the idea is great, and this film is definitely worth seeing (unless of course you're into plotheavy films that are entirely coherent all the way through). i'd give examples of its awesomeness, but there's not one example i can think of that isn't memorable and unexpectedly brilliant - meaning, see it for yourself and be surprised.
½ October 12, 2009
Almost like a live action anime... or not. But anyway, it was a violent, odd, and devious good time. Not classic Miike though.
December 21, 2008
Fudoh is by no means a brilliant film, but it is a wild, crazy, and entertaining ride that marks a watershed moment in Miike's career. Poised somewhere between Miike's early Yakuza films (The Black Society Trilogy, THe Dead or Alive films, etc. ) and his later, more eccentric and original work (Gozu, Ichi, etc.), Fudoh incorporates the best of both these Miike filmscapes into a delighfully crazy two hours that features constant surprises, inventive camerawork and direction, and comedy that keeps you in stiches. Well worth watching for Miike fans.
½ November 28, 2008
Takashi Miike at his best. Great movie! It has everything you want in a japanese flick from blood and guts to sex appeal.
March 2, 2008
Brilliant takashi miike movie has a great opening and possibly the craziest twist that i've ever seen in a movie.
December 5, 2007
This was a pretty strange film. In some ways it was kind of crappy but it was entertaining none the less.
October 6, 2007
Featuring female villains who shoot poison darts from their lips. And I don't mean their mouth. Insane.
½ August 21, 2007
The first 20 minutes of this over-the-top yakuza story may be impossible for some to follow. It involves 8-year old schoolboy assassins taking down mob bosses. That's not even starting to get into the insane genius of this tale of a high school mob versus the real Mob. Head-banging soundtrack and bizarre humor make this into a mini-masterpiece.
May 28, 2007
A deliciously perverse tale of a group of youngsters challenging the reign of older Yakuza bosses. Miike is actually a tad restrained here in comparision to some of his other work, but this is a really fun ride.

Recommended
½ February 18, 2007
One of the few linear plot Miike movies. This movie is great in every aspect. Plenty of violence, decent story, and some great dark comedy. Be sure to watch for the blow gun scenes and the disrobing of one of Fudoh's clique. Great movie overall.
½ July 17, 2006
not really all that great. miike is capable of much more, but then i got the feeling this was an early work, too. see it if your bored and there isn't anything else in the foreign language section at blockbuster, but don't go out of your way. just kinda dumb.
½ December 5, 2005
[b]Fudoh: The New Generation[/b] - Now this is Miike that I can dig! I wish he would stick to films like this and Deadly Outlaw Rekka.

[b]Step Into Liquid[/b] - Enjoyable documentary/surf video, though not as captivating as Riding Giants. Rent that instead.

[b]First Decent[/b] - Enjoyable documentary/snowboard film, even if a tad slow. Might want to skip if you're not a snowboarder.

[b]Aeon Flux[/b] - Rock solid science fiction! It's like a living breathing episode of the animated show, perfect casting, and homage's paid to its source.

[b]Aeon Flux: The Complete Animated Series[/b] - I really dig this show, in case you hadn't noticed.
August 29, 2013
Kid as assassins, lady bodyguards, and an assassin using her genitalia as her weapon, these are some of the few weird characters Miike has to offer. And oh he never fails to bring a lot of bloodshed. It's a good flick really but the story is too lame.
½ February 6, 2013
Lo mejor, la chava que lanza dardos mortales con propulsión vaginal!... no me pregunten a mi...
Page 1 of 8