The Great Waldo Pepper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great Waldo Pepper Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 26, 2016
A great movie that makes a really good point.
March 20, 2015
Those flying sequences look so real because they are!
July 21, 2014
Sort of a precursor to 'Princess Bride', 'Waldo Pepper' offers a smiliar deconstruction by Bill Goldman, this time of war heroism. Combined with Hill's ambitious direction, especially the real time flight sequences, it's a real treat.
½ May 27, 2014
quite dull without a hero to root for
½ January 26, 2014
good bio-pic of sorts
September 3, 2013
This was a great movie, Robert Redford showing why he was one of the best in Hollywood. And the airplane stunts in here are fantastic. It also has a lot of humor in it as all.
March 23, 2013
There's nothing GREAT about it!
½ December 9, 2012
Have not seen this one since I was a kid. Some awesome biplane stunts and footage.
Another good collaboration between George Roy Hill and Redford.
October 28, 2012
Robert Redford is superb in one of his life's major roles. An entertaining adventure with amazing stunt scenes, breathtaking. Many lovely oneliners to laugh at. Yes, there are two Swedish actors, but as so often in Hollywood, they have to play Germans - like here Bo Brundin in the role as German pilot Ernst Kessler. (The role is based probably on Ernst Udeth, German war hero who after the first World War made his living as a stuntman, particularly in Hollywood)
September 24, 2012
A film set in the golden age of flying.
July 8, 2012
This is a great movie! A true guys movie, they just dont have the guts to make moveis like this anymore. If you love the days of the "stick and rutter" flying and the birth of aviation, you'll love it! I did! Saw this movie when I was 8 with my dad! It haunted me for years. Just wached it again last night. It still holds up and is so refreshing to see auctual flying scenes, not CGI. See it!
January 12, 2012
Redford's fun work with a great character in Robert Duvall
½ October 14, 2011
While Robert Redford is wonderful in his role, the story itself is uninteresting and depressing.
September 5, 2011
A forgotten gem, sometimes similar to Butch Cassidy in tone but other times far darker. It provides an intriguing insight into the barnstorming days of the 1920s and the fearless aviators that too often perished for their love of the air. Redford is great as the title character but in many ways the film is stolen by the supporting cast: Bo Brundins ex WW1 German Ace Ernst Kessler (closely modelled on the real ace Ernst Udel) and Edward Herrimann's tragic inventor. Plus the flying scenes are exceptional and all real using replicas of WW1 fighters.
January 27, 2011
L'histoire d'un jeune aviateur qui relate un exploit auquel il n'a pas participer, mais auquel il aurait tant aimer vivre. Le cin (C)ma, par le hasard des choses, va lui permettre de vivre cet (C)v (C)nement de la Première Guerre mondiale en affrontant Ernst Kessler, bas (C) sur l'histoire vraie de Ernst Uder, fameux pilote de chasse allemand. Hill en fait finalement un film assez sympathique où l'humour est souvent pr (C)sent au d (C)but. Il revient quelque part sur ses tous premiers pilotes, dont les exploits d'antan paraissent bien d (C)risoires aujourd'hui. Je dirais que l'oeuvre souffre d'un manque de rythme en seconde partie et surtout s'essouffle au fur et à mesure. Le casting est correct (je ne fais pas partie des grands fans de Redford, somme toute correct à mon goût), ça ne casse pas des briques, mais ça reste un bon divertissement agr (C)ment (C) par moments par des très grandes s (C)quences dans le ciel.
Super Reviewer
½ January 3, 2011
The airplane stunts in this movie are exciting, and the drama in the movie is pretty good, and it's kind of sad too. I hated the end, though. This movie was good, but it could have been better.
September 5, 2010
so-so tale of a man who chases the fame of being a stunt pilot after missing out flying in WW1

worth seeing for Robert Redford but all together pretty forgettable.
July 1, 2010
A sad, sometimes thrilling glimpse into the high flying, death defying (not always) early days of flight, The Great Waldo Pepper is pretty good, but hamstrung by its leading man. I know there are a lot of Robert Redford fans out there, but I'm not one. He's exactly the same in everything he does: boring. Still, there is a LOT of beautiful airplane footage and a few unexpected twists. Though rated PG, this was from a time when that still meant plenty of strong language and some pretty grim content, so it's probably not very good for young kids. If you're interested in early flight, or stunt flying, check this movie out.
June 1, 2010
I read the screenplay first and then had to wait until Netflix offered it in their streaming library (the DVD is hard to find). It was an excellent movie. A lot of Goldman's charm from the screenplay comes through and it's an interesting look at a piece of history that is overlooked. It's hard to say why it flopped and why it hasn't gained more popularity over the years. Especially when you consider the stunt work. The stunt workers, as well as the actors, do some amazing things on the planes. And since it's 1975 and digital effects weren't ever used, it's all happening on screen and it is impressive. Watch it just for that!
½ May 4, 2010
If you're a fan of Sarandon you should know that she doesn't have a huge role in this movie. If you love Redford, you are in luck. But if you love airplanes, you must see this movie! This movie is both exciting and sad, and I didn't like the ending, it's confusing. Still, the film kept me engaged with all the crazy stunts.
Page 1 of 3